Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed October 2017
    Bernadette Sellars

    Walking in Puglia and Matera

    Our first holiday with Exodus went really well. We were met at the airport by our tour guide Luigina and driven to our first port of call, the Sassi District of Matera. Matera is built on a rocky outcrop, so there were lots and lots of steps. Not a good place for less able bodied people, and we thought some of the cobbled streets were a little slippy, so take a pair of sensible shoes. Our hotel room was a cave built into the rock. Very unusual, but the bathroom was a bit tired and needed a refurbish. Great local restaurants and cafes and very reasonably priced. Our guide Luigina did a great job and had excellent local knowledge. She organised 2 picnic lunches during the week and organised an extra trip on our free day to Lecce. During walks, she pointed out many places of historical interest, but also talked about the local flora. We got to try wild almonds straight off the tree, also wild rocket and strawberry fruit. We were fortunate to be in Italy during the olive harvesting and she asked a local farmer to demonstrate the harvesting method. The final evening’s meal, was at a Massiera (farmhouse). We did have to pay extra for this trip, but it was worth every penny (euro). The food was all locally sourced and Home cooked. It just kept on coming and coming, and I lost count of the number of courses. Wine was free flowing all evening too.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The meal on the final evening at the Massiera

    What did you think of your group leader?

    English not always perfect, but she made herself understood which is all that matters. Good local knowledge and knew many good restaurants and cafes.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take suncream, as even in October the sun was hot.
  • Reviewed September 2017
    Sue Reeves-Jones

    Walking in Puglia and Matera

    Matera was beyond expectations and the whole trip was one amazing sight and experience after another. Guiseppe, our guide, was knowledgeable, enthusiastic and amusing. This was an excellent first group walking trip and I will definitely book to go on others, based on this experience. The day off was excellent and I would highly recommend visiting Polignano al Mare and Monopoli. Guiseppe provided great supporting information for both sites after the initial possible options information.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Matera and it's recent history have left a lasting impression.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    As previously mentioned, he could not have been bettered. Having been brought in at short notice, to cover for our scheduled guide on what should have been his week off, his dedication to the group and our enjoyment of the trip could not be faulted.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    If you feel like too much of a mole (talpa) in your allotted room in Matera, do not hesitate to see if there is something more suitable available. It worked for us!
  • Reviewed September 2017
    Mary Robinson

    Walking in Puglia and Matera

    Marinella was a great guide, knowledgable, patient and very fit! The walks and the restaurants she found us were outstanding for food, wine and price. Thank you

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    A few of the meals! The company

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Outstanding

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Make sure you can walk 15 km in high temperatures in the full sun if you go in summer!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I would choose Exodus again
  • Reviewed September 2017
    Susan Hely

    Great way to discover southern italy

    I recommend this tour of two regions of southern Italy - Basilicata and Puglia and our wonderful guide Guissepe. Relaxing walking off the beaten track together with great local food and wine. Guissepe took care of all the details including organising gluten free food. I was particularly impressed by his plant knowledge as well as history, particularly of ancient Matera. Good amicable and interesting group. Highlights included staying in the Masseria, home cooked feast of food from their garden, swimming at a beautiful sandy beach after a long hot walk followed by a memorable seafood lunch. And dinner at a farmhouse where they kept cows and made all their own cheeses.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Sunset at Matera - really beautiful

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Loved Guissepe. Never had my Coeliac's disease looked after so well. Very helpful. Good knowledge.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Maybe ask for different rooms. Webput up with a very damp and airless room at the sassi hotel - room 610 - and the third night I was really sick with a cough and had to sleep with my daughter who had a lovely room - 502. Should have asked to change!
  • Reviewed July 2017
    Dan Johns

    Great walking in an area where there are few foreign visitors.

    Puglia and Matera are areas that are not well known in Canada. We booked the trip based on the interesting walks amongst olive orchards and vineyards that were advertised. What we didn't realize is all the history in the area. From the cave dwellings of the Sassi to the Trulli houses of Alberobello it is a different world. The hiking routes were quite quiet with few other walkers encountered. It was a nice break from some of the busier areas of Italy. The food and drink in the area is fantastic. Marinella took us to some amazing restaurants (and created fantastic picnics) that only a local would know. All in all it was a fantastic trip. My only regret was that it was only a week. We could have stayed longer.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    For me, the most inspirational moment was the first time you see the Sassi. You are walking through the new town of Matera and all of a sudden you look into this ravine which is filled with buildings stacked on top of each other in a seemingly haphazard way. You then find out that caves are behind these buildings and that people live in them. The flocks of swallows and kestrels flying at all times of the day made the scene all the more impressive.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Marinella was amazing. She knows the region and the people well. She (and Exodus) was very concerned about all of the walkers welfare since the temperatures were very high during the trip.She knew all the best places in town to eat and put together some fantastic picnic lunches. Her knowledge of the history of the region was also excellent. She went above and beyond by touring us on the free day around Lecce.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Watch the temperature. Our trip was mid-June and the temperatures were in the mid 30's. Any hotter and the hiking may not have been enjoyable. Otherwise, come with a good appetite and enjoy the region.
  • Reviewed June 2017
    Hulda Gunnarsdottir

    Great walk in Puglia and Matera

    We were a group of 7 ladies from Iceland and went on the hiking trip to Puglia and Matera from june 3 to june 10. It was an excellent trip with beautiful landscape and the fantastic towns of Matera, Alberobello and Locorotondo. Excellent guide Giuseppe told us all there is about the region and was really nice.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Coming to Matera and visiting the Sassi was something we will never forget. Alberobello and Trulli was fantastic and seeing the caves and hearing the history of the region was great.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Giuseppe was really great and we give him our best recommendation!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    There is no need for trekking boots better to have light shoes like good sport shoes.
  • Reviewed June 2017
    Susan Cameron

    sunshine, culture, scenery, food, wine - what more could you want?

    I had been wanting to visit Puglia for some time and this trip did not disappoint. Very well balanced between culture, history, nature, exploration and of course, food and wine - it offered everything that I look for in both a trip to Italy and an Exodus trip. I thoroughly enjoyed my experience and early May was an ideal time to visit.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Seeing Matera for the first time from my hotel terrace Drinking Primitivo wine and eating tarallini with Italian friends overlooking Matera at sunset Picnics in the countryside with fresh local produce - and learning how to make friselli from Giuseppe! Wildflowers, nature and sunlight as we wandered through the countryside Final meal at Terra Madre in Alberobello - extraordinary food and wine

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Giuseppe was an exceptionally dedicated and passionate group leader and thinking back, his attention to detail in regards to both group and individual needs and what we did throughout the week made a good trip into an amazing one. I would go on another trip with Giuseppe without hesitation - in fact, would prioritise a trip with him as a group leader just on the basis I know it would be well organised and would offer activities and surprises that I would not get with another group leader. Giuseppe's local knowledge of the area and its history, and his ability to navigate its intricacies and occasional difficulties) also made a huge difference. and his restaurant recommendations were always spot on!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    be prepared for the walks to feel longer than they really are due to the heat - the temperatures and lack of shade make a difference. Definitely bring appropriate footwear and a sunhat. Also be prepared for long walks in the country without infrastructure or towns regularly interspersed. Also be aware that meals are not included on this trip, on the whole, aside from breakfast. this wasn't an issue for me but a few people in my group were surprised as meals are often included on other Exodus holidays.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Go on this trip - it's wonderful. I'm still smiling thinking about it.
  • Reviewed May 2017
    Susan Rice

    Walking in Pulia and Matera

    This took us first to Matera- the most amazing town to visit!!! and then on to Alberobello. Beautiful scenery, wonderful flora and fauna, interesting historic towns and villages, wonderful local food and wine...... We were lucky in being with a friendly group AND we had an outstanding guide- Giuseppe!!!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    So many! The views over Matera. The passion and enthusiasm of our guide. The wild flowers. The lovely local produce

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Outstanding! Friendly, helpful, informative, thoughtful, passionate for his homeland

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Although the walks are designated 'leisurely' one or two demand a reasonable fitness level. A stick/ s might be handyZXOMG
  • Reviewed May 2017
    Paul Davies

    Walking in Puglia/Basilicata

    First class planning and organisation

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Meal at farm house

    What did you think of your group leader?

    A1

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be reasonably fit to walk 8 miles in heat.
  • Reviewed May 2017
    Christopher Ing

    Walking in Puglia & Matera, May 13 to 20 2017

    This was an especially interesting and enjoyable trip, thanks to a well-balanced itinerary, accommodation and transport that was well above average, and superb management on the part of our Tour Leader, Giuseppe. It proved also to be an excellent time of year to visit, with the countryside at its most attractive (green & productive) and the climate relatively fresh.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The most spectacular part of the trip involved learning about the history of the city of Matera, and appreciating its geological setting.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    We have completed many trips with Exodus and other companies operating on similar lines. We have learned that the qualities of the Group Leader influence the success or failure of a trip to an enormous extent. Giuseppe proved to be one of the very best Leaders we have known. His concern to explain & illustrate the culture of his native province was quite exceptional, as were the lengths to which he was prepared to go to ensure that we experienced the full breadth of the local cuisine and wines - notably in the middle of the day when he regularly prepared a wonderful lunch for our party of 16 - complete with coffee, mint tea, or - most memorably - a polystyrene cup of Primitivo.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be prepared for climbing a lot of steps in Matera (as it's a very hilly city), and don't imagine that a 10km walk is too short for a good walker (the heat of the sun makes even a short walk quite taxing - even in mid-May).

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    This is a joint review from Christopher and Joan Ing