Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed July 2018
    Rachel Stanfield

    Fantastic trip

    Wonderful trip in a beautiful part of Italy. The walking was not challenging, which was a good thing given the heat in mid-June, and covered some stunning and scenic routes. Great food and accommodation in all three locations.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The views from Montescaglioso at the start of our walk

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Vanessa was fantastic - knowledgeable, patient, and full of passion for her native country and region
  • Reviewed June 2018
    Tara Taylor

    Little known gems

    Walking in Matera was an interesting and eye opening experience. I knew nothing of the history of this facinating "heel of Italy' so was extremely surprised and delighted to discover it in the company of 5 other travellers and our wonderful guide Nino.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The history of Matera is so interesting and thought provoking. Wandering around the old town and seeing into the 'caves' was such a privilege. The town is incredibly stark built into a cliff with each place a cave transformed into living histories of people going back thousands of years. Alberobello was another wonderful discovery and so beautiful and unusual.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Nino was our guide, he is knowledgeable and extremely helpful. He ensured the group knew what to expect everyday and was very considerate of people's walking abilities.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Don't expect the walking to be particularly interesting. We had extremely hot weather which made the walking unpleasant for me. The walk was 9 June 2018. The walks overall were the least enjoyable part of the trip. They were not long so we had a lot of opportunity to explore on our own which was great. The villages and history was the surprise for me and made the experience wonderful. The food was disappointing to me as it was fairly plain and was very much localised. While its important to discover new foods i didnt really enjoy it. We did eat at a wonderful fish restaurant and we also got to spend half a day at the beach which was fantastic and really energised the group. One thing despite the guide saying one needs proper walking boots or shoes i think a good pair of trainers would be sufficient as long as they have a hard sole. I swapped mine and immediately felt more comfortable especially in the heat. The whole trip was incredible, it was a small group who got on well together and had many great laughs along the way. Nino was a fantastic guide who made everything wonderful, i would recommend this trip to anyone.
  • Reviewed June 2018
    Nicola O’Rourke

    Walking in Puglia and Matera

    This was a fantastic trip with three very different locations to stay in and experience. The accommodation in each location was original and very comfortable. The walking, itinerary and our guide, Nino, were just excellent.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Enjoying the sights and views of Matera. I’d love to go back.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Nino was excellent. He was very caring and thought everything through thoroughly. He catered for everyone’s needs and tastes.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take non-slip shoes for Matera (no high heels and nothing without a non-slip sole.
  • Reviewed May 2018
    Christine Lewis

    A wonderful week in southern Italy

    I really enjoyed our week in Puglia and Matera and getting to know southern Italy with great company and a fantastic guide.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    I could have spent at least another day in Matera despite a bit of rain and a dramatic thunderstorm. I also liked the peace and quiet at the masseria and walking in the olive groves.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Barbara was a really great tour leader and demonstrated her passion for Italy and for nature with much enthusiasm and knowledge. She supported everyone in the group really well and went out of her way to make sure that every day and every walk was special.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    I was glad to have my walking boot in Matera and used these most days. I should have taken an umbrella as we have a dramatic thunderstorm in Matera and a few showers on other days. An umbrella would have worked better than putting on a waterproof walking jacket because it was quite humid.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Matera will be the European capital of culture in 2019
  • Reviewed May 2018
    Lynn Roulstone

    Gentle strolls and some seriously good vegetarian food

    We spent a lovely week exploring the areas round Matera and parts of the Puglia region. The holiday was a very good mix of walking, guided sight-seeing and free time to do more sight-seeing or just relax with a drink at one of the many cafes, or even better eat one of the amazing ice-creams. Staying in three very different, locations, with very different accommodation means that you get a real feel for the area and the people. The walking is very easy and pretty gentle, though I imagine that in the height of summer when it would be considerable hotter, it might feel a lot tougher. None of the walks was longer than three/four hours, which left plenty of time to do other things. This suited me, but if you are a very keen walker, you might find it a little dull. This is a great region of Italy to visit, as though there are tourists, it is not nearly so packed as the more famous areas, and you get a much better idea about Italy than you maybe would shuffling round Florence or Rome. The other reason to visit is the food. I've never eaten so well on holiday, and as a vegetarian I was spoilt for choice, something that can be rather rare. Thoroughly recommended for anyone who wants to get away and chill out for a while.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The view of the Sassi district of Matera from our hotel room. Watching the lights come one and people wandering about was fascinating. As very little traffic is allowed in the area, you get a real sense of what life would be before cars. The beauty of the flowers and herbs we saw and smelled as we walked. Poppies, orchids, scabious, valerian, wild fennel. The smell of oregano was wonderful.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Guiseppe was a knowledgeable local man, with a real love of his home area that he was eager to impart to us. He was very friendly, helpful and fun to be with.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Although the weather was warmer in England than Italy at the start of our trip, I'd recommend going early in the year. The flowers are very beautiful and the area is very green. Later in the year the Matera region gets very dry and also can be very hot. Seek out the ice-cream shops. There are a lot, selling an interesting mix of flavours, and we didn't come across a bad one.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    If you are a keen walker, looking for challenging walks, this might not be for you. If like me, you enjoy ambling through the countryside, I think you would enjoy thsi holiday.
  • Reviewed May 2018
    Amanda Soper

    Material/puglia

    Fantastic trip and bothe the tour guide and minibus driver were very obliging

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The wonderful scenery along the way

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Excellent

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    No

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    No
  • Reviewed October 2017

    Walking in Puglia and Matera

    Our first holiday with Exodus went really well. We were met at the airport by our tour guide Luigina and driven to our first port of call, the Sassi District of Matera. Matera is built on a rocky outcrop, so there were lots and lots of steps. Not a good place for less able bodied people, and we thought some of the cobbled streets were a little slippy, so take a pair of sensible shoes. Our hotel room was a cave built into the rock. Very unusual, but the bathroom was a bit tired and needed a refurbish. Great local restaurants and cafes and very reasonably priced. Our guide Luigina did a great job and had excellent local knowledge. She organised 2 picnic lunches during the week and organised an extra trip on our free day to Lecce. During walks, she pointed out many places of historical interest, but also talked about the local flora. We got to try wild almonds straight off the tree, also wild rocket and strawberry fruit. We were fortunate to be in Italy during the olive harvesting and she asked a local farmer to demonstrate the harvesting method. The final evening’s meal, was at a Massiera (farmhouse). We did have to pay extra for this trip, but it was worth every penny (euro). The food was all locally sourced and Home cooked. It just kept on coming and coming, and I lost count of the number of courses. Wine was free flowing all evening too.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The meal on the final evening at the Massiera

    What did you think of your group leader?

    English not always perfect, but she made herself understood which is all that matters. Good local knowledge and knew many good restaurants and cafes.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take suncream, as even in October the sun was hot.
  • Reviewed September 2017
    Sue Reeves-Jones

    Walking in Puglia and Matera

    Matera was beyond expectations and the whole trip was one amazing sight and experience after another. Guiseppe, our guide, was knowledgeable, enthusiastic and amusing. This was an excellent first group walking trip and I will definitely book to go on others, based on this experience. The day off was excellent and I would highly recommend visiting Polignano al Mare and Monopoli. Guiseppe provided great supporting information for both sites after the initial possible options information.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Matera and it's recent history have left a lasting impression.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    As previously mentioned, he could not have been bettered. Having been brought in at short notice, to cover for our scheduled guide on what should have been his week off, his dedication to the group and our enjoyment of the trip could not be faulted.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    If you feel like too much of a mole (talpa) in your allotted room in Matera, do not hesitate to see if there is something more suitable available. It worked for us!
  • Reviewed September 2017
    Mary Robinson

    Walking in Puglia and Matera

    Marinella was a great guide, knowledgable, patient and very fit! The walks and the restaurants she found us were outstanding for food, wine and price. Thank you

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    A few of the meals! The company

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Outstanding

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Make sure you can walk 15 km in high temperatures in the full sun if you go in summer!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I would choose Exodus again
  • Reviewed September 2017
    Susan Hely

    Great way to discover southern italy

    I recommend this tour of two regions of southern Italy - Basilicata and Puglia and our wonderful guide Guissepe. Relaxing walking off the beaten track together with great local food and wine. Guissepe took care of all the details including organising gluten free food. I was particularly impressed by his plant knowledge as well as history, particularly of ancient Matera. Good amicable and interesting group. Highlights included staying in the Masseria, home cooked feast of food from their garden, swimming at a beautiful sandy beach after a long hot walk followed by a memorable seafood lunch. And dinner at a farmhouse where they kept cows and made all their own cheeses.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Sunset at Matera - really beautiful

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Loved Guissepe. Never had my Coeliac's disease looked after so well. Very helpful. Good knowledge.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Maybe ask for different rooms. Webput up with a very damp and airless room at the sassi hotel - room 610 - and the third night I was really sick with a cough and had to sleep with my daughter who had a lovely room - 502. Should have asked to change!
Call us on (0211) 99 49 02