Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed November 2016
    Joanna Z

    Beautiful walks in a remote part of Bulgaria

    It was a very enjoyable trip in a remote part of the country. I didn't hear about Rodopi mountains before so didn't know what to expect. The scenery is absolutely stunning - mountains, forests, gorges, caves - all so untouched and beautiful! I enjoyed all the walks and we never saw any other walkers - it was amazing to have it all just to ourselves. We also had a chance to see how local people live. It was a nice, relaxing week and the group bonded pretty quickly!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    It is difficult to choose one moment as the whole trip was so beautiful. But I really enjoyed Sveti Ilia hike, the views were breathtaking and we even managed to see some wall creepers!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our leader was great, very informative and knew the area really well. Nothing was too much trouble, she was always willing to help. It was easy to see that she was passionate about what she does and that she really enjoys showing her country to foreign visitors.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    You might want to bring a lunch box with you. And don't forget a sunscreen!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    You will never be hungry - every meal I had in Yagodina was absolutely delicious and the portions were huge. It was good to try local dishes, it was all home-made and very tasty. Alcohol was very cheap, everybody was pleasantly surprised at the end of the stay that our bills were so low!
  • Reviewed September 2016
    Robert Walden

    Bulgaria Rodopi Mtns

    Good walking in the Rodopi hills -Derbyshire on a larger scale (but with a lot more trees).

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The walks were a little "samey" as many of the individual views are masked by the extensive conifer plantations but the viewing platform from St Elijah (Sveti Iliya) Ridge on Day 6 gave an impressive and unique aspect and from where we saw wall creepers on the rocks just below and could watch their red flashes in flight. Later the Yagodina Cave was an impressive side attraction.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Very good. Cheerful and willing - mixed well with the entire group. (Danced really well!)

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Make sure you take a large lunch box. The food is hearty but dull (a lot of cheese with every meal - especially breakfast!) - I would seriously suggest taking a bottle of ketchup or favourite brown sauce plus a supply of your favourite tea bags if you are not an avid coffee drinker. Beer, wine and coffee is very cheap - your bar bill will be a pleasant surprise!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The scenery is potentially stunning - much more dramatic than my favourite Derbyshire. However, some limited management of the trees is required to provide more open vistas and specific viewpoints, especially in and above the steep gorges. Imagine going to the English Lake District and being unable to see the lakes? As a consequence I am unlikely to return .
  • Reviewed August 2016
    Linda and David S

    Rodopi Mountains

    This trip was delightfully different from other European trips that we have enjoyed. The local people were warm and friendly and appeared content to work in the fields or sit with the cows in a high pasture all day. The difference between our fast paced life style and their post communist lives was marked. The scenery was beautiful, very 'vertical', with rare pre-ice age flowers. Even the long drive from and too Sofia was interesting and our driver surely the most competent in Bulgaria.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    This is a difficult one. Was it seeing ancient Soviet agricultural equipment, people working in the fields, the prospect of seeing bears and wolves? Maybe it was meeting local ladies who were chatting and embroidering slippers, or dancing with the folk singers from the village? Probably, it was just the sheer beauty and tranquillity of the area.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Nelly's love and knowledge of Bulgaria shone through at every meadow, mountain and forest. Nothing was too much trouble and her care was always evident. She was an outstanding leader and made this a wonderful and exciting trip for us both.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take an empty plastic sandwich box for packed lunches, and lots of memory for your camera.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Food is local, traditional and good - don't expect to loose weight!
  • Reviewed June 2016
    Ronald Bowater

    Rodopi Mountains

    Excellent trip walking in the mountains and meadows of the Rodopi mountains. Lovely family run hotel with exellent food - very welcoming. We had a very peaceful and relaxing time in Yagodina and the walks were lovely - especially the time spent in the beautiful wildflower meadows.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Walking through the fantastic wild flower meadows with no one else around.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Excellent. Nelli is a superb leader in all respects. Very kind and caring of her group at all times. She made our stay something special to remember. Many thanks.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Just enjoy the scenery and the relaxed atmosphere.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    This trip is very good value for money - would recommend it to anyone who enjoys walking in beautiful scenery.
  • Reviewed May 2016
    Beccy Reese

    A wonderful get away in the mountains

    A good week's walking in a rural location hosted in a great locally run hotel. This week was everything that I expected based on the detailed trip notes, the walks and the hotel were as described and ticked all the boxes for me. I spent a couple of additional days in Sofia which was a good balance.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Meeting the local women for an evening of song & dance was fantastic and the cave trips were a fabulous bonus. Being out in great countryside away from the city was the best part - day after day of lovely tranquil walks

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Svetla had a great sense of humour and was a lovely, calm guide.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    I'd suggest taking a walking pole, although as lots of the walks are through forest a suitable stick can be found en route. Some of the ascents are steep and in wet weather pretty slippery. The group return flight was very early so would advise booking your own. If you stay in Sofia check out the restaurants Made in Home and Made in Blue - although you may need to make a reservation.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Read the trip notes & if it sounds like a holiday for you then I'm sure you'll have a great time.
  • Reviewed August 2015
    Peter Jackson

    Rodopi Mtns

    A very good holiday with good mix of people

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Every day in the mountains was great

    What did you think of your group leader?

    svetoslava was a very cheerful and a caring leader. she ought to have got us to introduce us to each other on first night and to our very good bus driver. Also to have got us to exchange e.mails before we left. We left at different times so was a little difficult.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Just to order a brochure!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    No
  • Reviewed August 2015
    Peter Jackson

    Rodopi mtns

    A very good holiday ,good mix in group. Good hotel food and service.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Every day in mountains

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Good, but could have got us to introduce ourselves, and to our very good bus driver, and arranged an exchange of e.mails as we all left at different flights.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Just to order your brochure!
  • Reviewed August 2015
    Peter Jackson

    Rodopi Mtns

    A very enjoyable holiday with a good mix of people. Good hotel and food ,service was excellent.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Every day in mountains, great scenery.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our leader was good, but could have got us to introduce us to each other, like other trips I have been on, also to the very good bus driver, she ought to have arranged to have us exchanged e.mails, we left at different times for flight back so was a rush.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Just to order your brochure !

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    No
  • Reviewed June 2015
    Judith Orr

    Rodopi Mountains review

    Lovely part of the world with stunning scenery. The wild flowers were at their best when I visited in May. A very different pace of life to home but interestingly even the cow herds on the upper meadows had their smartphones. My son loved the first and last days best with climbing under/over all the fallen trees and fording the fast running river - such a contrast to the ridge walks and alpine meadows. Our guide Neli was very knowledgeable about the area, flowers and birdlife, and very patient with all our questions. It would have been very difficult to find some of the paths on our own. The walking pace was accurately described as leisurely. The accommodation was comfortable, the wifi better than at home, the food excellent and the beer just so cheap!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The visits to the caves were an added bonus and such a contrast after our walks.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Neli was a star throughout.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    You don't need very much currency with you for this trip, but make sure you get it in advance - there is no access to banks, ATMs etc once you are there..
  • Reviewed May 2015
    Boyd & Pam Taylor

    Bulgaria : Rodopi Mountains

    A great week in a lovely unspoiled area. Gorgeous meadows. Lots of spring flowers, including rare orchids. Varied walks which give a good overall feeling for the area. The pace gave plenty of time to enjoy the surroundings & wildlife.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Every day gave something new. The meadows were especially beautiful.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Nelly Radkova was an excellent leader. She was full of enthusiasm and fun. Being Bulgarian her local knowledge was excellent and she was obviously well liked by the local people. She spoke excellent English and was very kind and caring and eager to please at all times. She had a great love for the local environment and its conservation. She made the holiday very enjoyable.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take flip flops for the wet room, and a hair drier if needed. Don't forget your camera and binoculars. The weather can be changeable so waterproofs and an umbrella are advised.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    We travelled out 2 days prior to the group and spent the time looking round the very interesting old city of Sofia before meeting the group. If you have time then consider doing the same as it is worthwhile. We stayed in the Hill hotel, which is the one used by Exodus and found it very good and within 15 - 20 minutes walk of the town centre.
Call us on (0211) 99 49 02