Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed October 2018
    William Allan

    Great Trip!

    Excellent trip. A nice combination of historical sites and cycling. Our local guides offered to provide guidance for the evening meals so the culinary experience was also top notch. The two guides were both very passionate about sharing their history and culture. I can’t say enough good things about Dimitris Steriotis and Dimitris Gotsis.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    It is literally hard to pick as there were three categories of highlights: Favourite site: the theatre at Epidarous Cycling: the km downhill stretch into the pistachio orchard Meal: Petite Planette Other fav: swimming in the Aegean Sea

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Both group leader and support driver were excellent. Dimitris and Dimitris were a good team that worked well together.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be open to eating with group. Do some long rides with uphill before you go. Prepare to enjoy yourself.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Excellent trip, thanks very much.
  • Reviewed October 2018
    Tricia Allan

    Awesome trip

    Our guides were great. They shared their passion for Greek History, Greek culture, Greek food and cycling.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    When I was able to ride down switchbacks and think that it was fun, rather than terrifying!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    I found both Dimitris ‘ to be very supportive. I am a relatively new cyclist and they helped me get more comfortable with many aspects of cycling.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Don’t be shy about sharing your meals! The guides picked well, the food was terrific and the cost was reasonable. We got to taste many dishes this way!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I think it would be terrific if Exodus could organize cycling jerseys for sale to participants, that symbolize Greece in some way. That would be s great souvenir for me.
  • Reviewed October 2018
    sally Spencer

    Cycling in Greece

    All accommodations were excellent Bikes were in good condition, two flat tires reported the entire trip. Some group members thought they were to heavy. Snacks and meals were delicious, a good selection of Greek foods. Side excursions good as well

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Personally I loved Poros island, the dinner we had on the seafront, with the sunset, and our toes in the sand❤️

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our guide was great (Niovi), she was always smiling and cheerful, she was able to turn us into a relaxed cohesive group. We had lots of laughs.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be aware of the climate when you are planning to travel. Our trip was mid September and we rode in temperatures in the mid 30C.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Because it was very warm by 10am, it would have been a more pleasant cycle to start earlier in the morning when possible.
  • Reviewed September 2018
    Carol Koehler

    Cycling In Greece

    This was our first trip with Exodus Travels and to Greece. This was an excellent way to really see the countryside of Greece. We went to many local places that your average tour bus trips would not go. We had a larger group of 16 people so we were fortunate to have two fantastic guides (Niovi and Demitrius) as well as a wonderful driver. (Also named Demetrius) This trip is highly recommended if you want to see more of the local culture of Greece. My only suggestion is to definitely upgrade the quality of bikes used on this trip. On our last day of the trip my husband had a small medical emergency. Niovi helped us handle this situation with complete professionalism and ease. She helped us locate a private doctor in Athens (on a Saturday!) stayed with us, and helped with translation with the doctor. We both will be forever grateful for her assistance!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    We loved visiting the ancient Theater of Epidarus as well as being able to visit a local organic vineyard and see the production in action, as well as sample some fantastic wine! Also, just some of the breathtaking views of the ocean from our hotel room.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    As I have mentioned above I cannot say enough good things about our lead guide, Niovi. She went beyond her job duties to help us in a stressful time of need. She was very personable and tried to met all the needs of our group members which is a difficult task with 16 people!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Please make sure you read the travel description of this trip and that you are physically able to ride a bike at least 25-35 miles comfortably and can climb hills. This trip is described as a moderate difficulty level and if you are not as fit as you should be then request an ebike so you can fully participate.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Exceptional trip with many opportunities to learn about the history and culture of Greece.
  • Reviewed September 2018
    Chris Adams

    Brilliant trip in beautiful Greece

    A brilliant trip from start to finish. The cycling is a nice mix of countryside, coastal and a few hills thrown in. You also get to see Greece away from hustle of tourists. The cycling is all on mostly quiet roads and through a couple of towns although you're not on any busy roads for more than a few minutes. The food is also excellent, and you also get some excellent local knowledge on just about everything from Greek mythology to which is the best Olive oil to buy to take home. I highly recommend this trip.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Seeing the Acropolis on the final day is very special, but just cycling around the amazing coastline and hills of the Peloponnese and taking in the colourful Greek history.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    The leaders were outstanding. Dimitris, Dimitris and Niovi. Nothing was too much trouble for them and they worked very well as a team looking after the group. The trip ran smoothly and without a hitch, the food they provided was excellent and they just took care of everything - I could not fault them in any way.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Make sure you take swim wear as most afternoons you'll be able to take a swim in the sea after your day in the saddle.
  • Reviewed June 2018
    Don West

    Cycling in Greece

    Fabulous trip from start to finish. Both guides, Dimitris Steriotis (bike leader), and Dimitris Gotsis (van support), were wonderful. They couldn't do enough to make our trip a special, fun, and very interesting. The culture, historical locations, food, and new friendships were everything I had hoped for. The trip exceeded my expectations. The entire group were wonderful traveling companions, which only enhanced the experience.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Ascending to the entrance of the Acropolis and getting my first views of the Parthenon.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Combined professionalism with a friendly attitude. Both guides were terrific!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Make sure you visit the National Archeological Museum next to hotel. I came in a day early to do this. It's worth it. Also, get in shape for some hill climbs. The ride encounters some fairly challenging hills, but with some moderate conditioning, it's not a bad ride at all.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Go and have an adventure!
  • Reviewed June 2018
    ba\rry leon

    cycle in greece

    have been on quite a few cycle holidays with exodus and exp[;lore and always have given 5 or 4 star ratings, this time only 3 star. This was mainly down to the tour leader Demitreas who is a bit set in his ways. There was an unusual heat wave for that time of year and temps were up to 90degree . by midday. This would of been OK as they have you on the bikes by 8 am most mornings when its cooler. The problem was we would be only riding for a short distance, and then stop to see some really interesting ruin then a massive lunch spread laid on which is very nice.Consequently we would start off after all this food about 2pm. doing fairly difficult climbs and distance in the main heat of the day. I had numerous conversations with Demitreas with regard to changing the itinerary to suit the weather conditions but he was quite an arrogant chappy who was not prepared to compromise. OTHER than that the trip was pretty good with decent accommodation and a friendly group.It will not put me off on booking future trips.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The hotel; stay up in the mountains was fabulous,good food and very chilled

    What did you think of your group leader?

    The group leader was a girl called Naovi who was absolutely lovely.,but as explained above Demitrias was calling all the shots and making all the decisions, I think he was training Naovi.Get rid of him and keep her.
  • Reviewed May 2018
    Tom DeFoor

    Cycling in Greece

    The guides were fabulous , the group fun and the adventure grand.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The antiquities

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Both guides, both Dimitris's were great. They were knowledgeable engaging and did a many things that made the trip more of an adventure and and an experience I will never forget

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Our group chose to share dinners. This allow us to share our day's experience , get to know one another and eat more great food.
  • Reviewed October 2016
    Robert Hubbard

    Cycling in Greece

    This is the Review of Amanda Hubbard. I think this holiday was the 20th trip I have taken with Exodus and most have been extremely good. This trip ranks as excellent, together with recent cycling holidays in Croatia and Romania. Not only did Helios, the Greek God of the Sun, smile on us and give us October days of sun, blue skies and gentle breezes, but we were also blessed with a friendly group of fellow travellers and 2 excellent guides, Yannis and Constantinos (Costos) and their boss, Yiorgos (George) from Head Office in Athens. It was amazing how much activity we crammed into each day and this was not just cycling, but visits to archaeological sites and museums and even a tour of a Nemea Winery. And we also had time to eat the most delicious food, which included picnics prepared by Costos and sumptuous meals at well chosen restaurants. I would recommend this holiday for those, who enjoy not only cycling but also soaking up sun and Greek culture.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The visits to three archaeological sites. Firstly the ancient Theatre at Epidaurus, with such good acoustics that someone at the top of the theatre can hear a coin drop. Secondly Nemea, which was visually very beautiful and where the Hellenic athletic games were held every 2 years. And lastly and surprisingly thanks to our inspirational guide, the Acropolis in Athens, which included the Erechtheion, the Parthenonand the Temple of Athena Nike. All the sites were in well kept grounds and those members of the European Union over 65 pay a reduced rate.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    We had 2 group leaders, Yannis and Constantinos (Cosmos). Yannis was the Group Leader on the bike and for giving us our daily briefings. He was well organised, warning us of all dangers and conscientious and solicitous of our needs. He arranged for return of items left at every hotel - we moved every day and usually left at 9am. I don't know how he managed the puntuality of 16 of us. And his knowledge of Greek Mythology and churches was excellent, but I still remain muddled! And Cosmos, the Gentle Giant, brought up the rear in the van and arranged the transfer of our luggage, gave rides to those who could not bear another hill and produced Greek salads in the middle of nowhere.. Truly both guides socialised with us and looked after us professionly and patiently, as did George from Head Office , who was charming companion on this holiday.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    The usual advice, don't think you are going to lose weight on this trip despite all the walking and cycling uphill. Bring well soled shoes for the trip to the Acropolis - the marble is slippery. And Greece is a hilly country, so the route is more than undulating.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Just experience this holiday and the ancient wonders of the Peloponnese together with some Greek hills!
  • Reviewed July 2016
    Robert Snow

    A wonderful holiday

    Cycling in Greece provided a wonderful balance between absorbing the architecture and culture of Greece, both ancient and modern, and enjoying the beautiful landscapes and seascapes on two wheels. The organisation of the whole trip was excellent so that everything went very smoothly but without feeling over – organised. The route was hillier than I had first anticipated (although I should have known as the vertical ascent figure was provided for each day’s ride) but with the distances covered and the relaxed pace, it made for extremely pleasant riding. Add to this the warmth of the Greek people, the delicious Greek food and perhaps most importantly the calibre of our tour leaders and the warm companionship of our fellow cyclists and it truly was a wonderful holiday.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Too many to list!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Both Yannis and Kostas were excellent. Yannis led the group on his bike and he clearly had a passion for all things Greek and an extensive knowledge of the history, politics, geography, geology ------- of Greece. Kostas drove the bus, sorted out any mechanical problems, provided delicious lunches and was a great back-up for Yannis. They were both warm, friendly and encouraging as well as being very efficient in the way they operated. A great team.
Call us on (0211) 99 49 02