Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed September 2017
    Gillian Dunlop

    Tropical highland wanderer

    A good family holiday to Sri Lanka. We certainly saw many aspects of the island, though due to the group size at times it felt more of a bus tour than a cultural experience

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Fear going to sigyris rock

    What did you think of your group leader?

    He coped reasonably with a large and varied group. Birthdays for part members were well felt with. He did not manage to engage the whole group at all times.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    I'd advise going on a smaller group. Ours was too large

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    As above. Time on buses wasted time. It took away from opportunity to see more of the country. In towns when alone we safely wandered and saw the towns as they are. More of this and less of the tourist trail would be appreciated. We were warned by another tour operator about the safari. Never believed we would witness the 50 jeeps to a herd of elephants that we saw. It all felt manufactured and there for the paying customers. All very safe and sanitised
  • Reviewed September 2016
    Dawn Clifford

    Best holiday ever!

    From a warm welcome at the airport to a sad goodbye at the end, this was the best holiday we have ever had! Our tour leader ensured we experienced the real Sri Lanka in a responsible way with numerous activities and something to suit everyone. Our group of 8 adults and 8 children (aged 10-17) became great friends and the organisation of our leader meant we could relax and enjoy our holiday. Be warned - going back to work is difficult after such a great trip!!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Kandy festival Elephant safari Bike ride

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Sujeewa was friendly, organised and knowledgeable - all you want in a leader, but so much more. He went out of his way to ensure every single member of the group had a fantastic holiday. He was particularly attentive to the needs of a family tour. Like he said 'if the children are happy, he parents are happy'. We couldn't have asked for a better leader.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Don't miss the optional elephant safari - it was the highlight of our trip in August. All rooms are air conditioned (can be noisy) with only sheets on the bed (can get cool). No need to pack an adaptor (hotels will have UK sockets or an adaptor), but a 4-way plug would be useful for charging all the gadgets. Teenagers - yes, there is wifi!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    This is a fantastic trip offering the best of Sri Lanka for families - temples, festivals, historical sites, friendly people and great food - and of course elephants!
  • Reviewed August 2016
    Jacqueline Heath

    Tropical island Wanderer

    Sri Lanka is lush, vibrant and colourful and our trip had some fabulous highlights but there is a lot of time on the coach!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Climbing the Rock fortress at Sigriya before breakfast and so in the cool of early morning with very few other tourists around. This excursion offered everything: an exhilarating climb, stunning views, enticing ruins and exquisite paintings.
  • Reviewed August 2015
    Christina Heppleston

    Tropical Island wanderer

    the tour was a great introduction to this very beautiful and exotic island. It was well organized and well paced providing a balance of culture and nature, with plenty of relaxing time too.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The temple visits and learning about buddhism from our excellent tour guide.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    He was excellent, well organized, calm, very well informed, thoughtful and a very nice person. (Sujan)

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    The hot and very humid weather is tiring and there are several long drives on winding roads. Remember to pack mosquito repellent and use it liberally.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    We were all very impressed with the quality and variety of food available. The safari trips were great fun, binoculars are a must.
  • Reviewed April 2015
    Rosemary Taverner

    Tropical Island Wanderer

    We had an amazing time on this trip; all of the members of our family- 2 adults and 3 children aged 16, 14 and 12 enjoyed it hugely. It was a great mix of culture, wildlife and beaches! Sri Lanka is a gorgeous island, the people are incredibly friendly and welcoming, and the food was fantastic- we especially enjoyed the food made by local families, which we lucky enough to try several times

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Climbing the rock fortress at Sigiriya was a definite highlight, as was coming pretty much face to face with countless elephants on the game drive near Polonnaruwa. The kindness of the people we met was definitely inspirational.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Absolutely brilliant -hugely enthusiastic, friendly, cheerful and informative. Neelaka made everyone feel immediately at ease, and took care of all of the little details for us. We couldn't have asked for a better group leader.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    If you can afford the trip, don't hesitate to go!! It is definitely worth taking up the guide's offer to set up a "kitty" to cover tips for all of the meals and hotel staff, and for buying bottles of water every day - this makes life a lot easier. Although it is tempting to just sit by the pool (or the beach towards the end of the trip) when there is any free time, we would recommend fitting in as many of the optional activities that you can. It is also easy to organise your own activities - at Ahangama, we organised a group trip by tuk tuk down the coast to Weligama, and had a superb afternoon of surfing (or trying to surf!).

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Thank you to the other members of the group- we had a great time on holiday with you. Loved everything about the trip- if we were to add one thing, we would have enjoyed trekking.
  • Reviewed September 2014
    Christopher Cooke

    Family Tropical Island Wonderer Sri Lanka

    Such an amazing holiday from start to finish. Was an excellent opportunity for our us and our son to experience the culture of this wonderful country with like minded families.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Without a doubt, it was the opportunity to bathe one of the elephants in the river. Such majestic creatures.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Wasanta was magnificent. A very knowledgeable and likeable man with a willing to please. He made things happen for the group and maintained a 'happy camp'!!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    There is a lot of time spent on the coach as there is so much to see and this may be an issue for younger travellers especially. Also a few roads are very 'winding' and if you do not travel well it would be most advisable to obtain a travel sickness solution that works for you. Also invest in decent mosquito repellent - we did and did not receive 1 bite!! Be prepared for visiting the temples with appropriate clothing to cover shoulders and knees, this applies to everyone, even children, and remember not to pose in front of Buddha.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Would just like to thank everyone on our trip for making it a happy and memorable one.
  • Reviewed August 2014
    Mark and Hilary Carless

    Tropical Island Wanderer - Family

    This is a full on trip where you feel like you've had a real taste of Sri Lanka. It ticks all the boxes - wildlife, adventure, culture, food, local life and makes you fall in love with a very beautiful country.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    We thought that cycling around the locality of Sigiraya rock one day and then climbing up it the next was phenomenal. It built everything up and fired the imagination once we were on top of the rock, taking in the tremendous views. We were lucky enough to be in Kandy when the Esala Perahera was on and our wonderful guide, Sujee, arranged seats for us to watch. The significance of this ceremony to the Sri Lankan people and their mass involvement was inspiring. Visiting the spice garden and seeing all the things green and growing that are bottled and dried in the kitchen cupboard at home. The oils and remedies are wonderful too.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Sujee, our group leader, was brilliant. He was full of information, avidly promoted responsible tourism and was always available if we needed anything - or had more questions. He was wonderfully flexible too - helping our group to arrange alternative trips to the usual optional ones. We all loved how he bought us unusual fruits etc from the roadside for us all to try. He was greatly complemented by Nisha, who looked after us excellently too, and Gama, our very, very skilful and safe driver.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Water is provided on the bus so you don't need water bottles. Take lots and lots of high factor sun cream and insect repellent. Hotel standards way exceeded our expectations - so no 'roughing' it! The trip is quite exhausting with lots of travelling so the time on the beach at the end is much appreciated. Opportunities to obtain cash from ATMs are identified by the guide so you can plan withdrawals.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    This was a wonderful trip and we were very lucky that our group got on together so well. It has made me want to visit Sri Lanka again as it was such a great experience.
  • Reviewed April 2014
    Andy Farlow

    Island Wonders trip

    Not having been on such a trip with our children (16 and 13) before we were not sure what to expect. Truth was, we had a wonderful time with so many experiences it is hard to list them all here but a few to pick out are the cycling around Sigiriya village, whale watching, elephant riding ,tuk-tuk escapades....

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Elephant ride closely followed by whale watching.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Sujeewa was brilliant, kind-hearted, patient and adaptable to the different demands of our group. His passion for his country shone out brightly.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    The pace I would say is medium, be prepared for a few long stretches of travel although I think that even then they were broken up with interesting, sometimes impromptu stops to pick up fruits to try, crafts to show and views to see. Also pack a small umbrella for those torrential albeit short rain storms. The age for the trip I think is more suitable for over 8s although we did have a 6 year old in the group who got on well.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    This was a great trip for us, probably our best holiday to date.
  • Reviewed August 2013
    Anonymous

    TROPICAL ISLAND WANDERER - FAMILY HOLIDAY

    Another great holiday from Exodus. A bit less full on than the other trips we have done (Egypt and India) which was good and Sri Lanka is well worth visiting for the scenery, people and food!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Watching the elephants from the orphanage in the river when having lunchClimbing Lion's RockTravelling through the mountains - amazing countrysideWent out running a lot - everyone so friendly and amazed to see me running - feels quite lonely going out now I am back in England! (watch out for the dogs though!!)

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Suresh was a great tour leader, spent a lot of time and energy making sure all were happy all the time and keeping us all on track, even playing cricket with my son!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    As other people have said there is a lot of time spent on the coach - although the roads are generally good and not too much traffic, the tuk-tuks and cyclists and the winding roads through the mountains mean that progress is generally slow (better down in the south of the island)

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Go! Is a very relaxing holiday, not too many temples (this is feedback from my children!), elephants amazing, people friendly (and dont hassle you to buy things!) and food very good even for the fussiest of children
  • Reviewed April 2013
    Imran Arshad

    TROPICAL ISLAND WANDERER - FAMILY HOLIDAY

    Amazing time and great holiday for kids and families.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Climbing Sigiriya rock Watching blue whales at Mirissa

    What did you think of your group leader?

    She was really nice and considerate. Always smiling and helpful.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Lots of sun-screen

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Great country and amazing trip.
Call us on (0211) 99 49 02