Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed November 2016
    Mandy Fautley Cundall

    Taj and Tigers Family trip

    A really fab introduction to India. We enjoyed every moment! Our guide Ajay was knowledgeable and fun we did so much every day we felt we had been away for a very long time! Hotels were very good food was also very good. Nobody got sick which was also excellent!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    So many! Actually standing in front of the Taj Mahal, riding elephants to the Amber Fort, Riding camels in Pushkar, enjoying Jaipoor. We had a wonderful time and have spend time contemplating our next Exodus holiday since our return.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Very helpful, kind full of facts lots of fun. He herded us very successfully without us ever feeling bossed about. He managed to get us all up for the early mornings cheerfully. He was really brilliant at retrieving all our lost property as we left a trail of valuable items across India! We were given lots of information but plenty of time to look around and absorb the sites and atmosphere.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    WE were worried about becoming unwell but we weren't! We stuck to cooked vegetarian food and plenty of hand gel before eating and bottled water even for teeth. It was worth it being unwell on this busy trip would have been really unpleasant.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Our Exodus trip allowed us to visit and enjoy a country we would not have been brave enough to visit alone. It gave us a delightful experience of the people and their history their food and culture. It left us wanting to go back for more. We were also lucky we spent our week with a really great family who made the trip extra special for us all.
  • Reviewed April 2016
    Angela Doran

    Taj, Temples & Tigers - the best holiday in the world!!

    India never ceases to amaze and neither do Exodus!!! This was by far and away the best holiday I've ever been on. In addition to the tour being amazing we had the best ever guide and a wonderfully small and friendly group to travel with. I can't recommend this trip highly enough!!! We now have the best memories to cherish forever more!!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The whole trip was inspirational but the highlight was seeing two amazing tigers in Ranthambore - truly breathtaking!!!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our group Leader was absolutely amazing and made travelling in India relaxed and fun. His restaurant recommendations meant we all got through the trip without any illness, no mean feat in India. He was the best!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Book the trip, you won't regret it!!
  • Reviewed April 2016
    Mark Bristoll

    Taj, Tigers and Temples

    The trip was fantastic, a great mix of culture and fun which was ideal for us and our 9 year old daughter.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Difficult to pick one, so we would say seeing the Taj, being lucky enough to see two tigers up close at Ranthambore National Park, eating the most delicious Indian lunch at our Guides's house in Bharatpur and sitting watching the sun set, drinking a cup of Chai, listening to the local music after a camel ride in Pushkar.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Avdhesh Avasthi was brilliant, extremely knowledgable about all aspects of India and its culture and also good fun. He helped and arranged for anything we asked and made our trip memorable. He got the tone of the group exactly right, was always on hand but let us have freedom when needed. NOthing was too much trouble, an outstanding tour guide. AVdhesh certainly added to our enjoyment of the holiday.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Put mosquito spray on and take it to the Taj as we were their breakfast!! Take lots of reading material as there is a few hours down time whilst travelling on the trains.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Clarification needed on whether transfers are included from the airport to the start hotel and visa versa if travelling independently. It states in the notes that FREE airport arrival & departure transfers on any flight is offered for this trip and details of our flights were given prior to departure but we weren't offered this, please advise?
  • Reviewed August 2014

    Incredible India!

    One of the best holidays we have had! It's a full on experience-packed adventure from start to finish.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Every day contained many inspirational moments. They varied from the magnificent tranquility of an early morning trip to the Taj Mahal to a happy, colorful and welcoming Hindu festival (the people were truly lovely) to the lively experience of a Bollywood cinema trip. Travelling around by Tuk-tuk was a fantastic way of immersing yourself in among the busy crowds of people (and cows and other animals!) getting on with living their everyday lives.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    We cannot praise Chandra our group leader enough. He was outstandingly good. He was a very efficient organiser, incredibly knowledgeable and likable person who always went that extra mile to ensure that each person on the holiday had maximum enjoyment. We think that it is fair to say that Chandra made the holiday for us and without him our holiday would only have been a fraction of the experience.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    We are not big shoppers on holiday, but with hindsight we almost regret not taking full advantage of the wonderful variety of desirable and inexpensive handicrafts, art, jewelry and other goods available (especially in Jaipur). If you are worried about Delhi Belly, then don't. Sensible precautions like using hand sanitiser before eating, drinking only bottled water etc kept all our group healthy. Chandra always chose well with regard to restaurants so that they were all of a good quality with freshly prepared food. This allowed us to enjoy the food without concern. It has to be said that July/August is probably not the best time of year to visit Rajasthan, as the heat and humidity can be oppressive. However, the hotel rooms and Mr Singh's air conditioned mini-bus were welcome havens after busy hot days. It was supposed to be Monsoon season while we were there, but we only saw rain a couple of times as the rains were late this year. Other travellers may not be as lucky as we were. This holiday was excellent for older teenagers and adults, but maybe less suitable for younger travellers who may also find the long journeys hard to bear. Don't expect to see tigers in summer!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    If you like to experience very different cultures from our own, including different food, forms of transport (tuk-tuk, tricycle rickshaw, camel, elephant, train, bus), architecture, scenery etc then this is a hard holiday to beat It was very enjoyable as well as fantastically educational in a very relaxed way.
  • Reviewed July 2014
    Michele Ward

    Taj, temples and tigers

    What a fabulous experience for myself and my 12 year old son. A great mixture of hectic city and relaxing times e.g bird santuary and tiger park. Exodus looked after us brilliantly, nothing was too much trouble to ensure that the children had a great, memorable time. Dinesh, our tour leader even allowed us fireworks during our desert stay at Pushar. We saw 3 tigers at Ranthambore on our first drive. We were first at the Taj Mahal to get the best photos before the tourist arrived. My son cried when Dinesh left us at Delhi airport for our flight home. India is not the easiest place to tour and pulls on your emotions and values in many different ways - but wouldn't have missed it for the world.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Sighting of 3 tigers on our first game drive.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Fantastic and fascinating story teller. Extremely helpful.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Accept India for what it is and remember to soak up every experience.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I have booked to go on Cocunuts and Chopsticks tour next Easter.
  • Reviewed April 2014
    Ivan Pinto

    Taj Tigers & Temples

    The tour was an excellent introduction to India, from the colourful chaos of Delhi to the quiet, spectacular landscapes of the games parks to the beautiful temples and palaces. The organisation was good throughout and our guide was knowledgeable, personable and always engaging to ensure we enjoyed ourselves to the full.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The Taj and Amber Palace were particular highlights but the most memorable moment for both my son and me were the tiger sightings in Ranthambore. We were lucky enough to sight a tigress on the morning drive but in the afternoon we came within a few yards of a second tigress which we followed for about 40mins watching while it strolled through open forest and road tracks totally indifferent to all the humans in several trucks and Jeeps. We were even able to watch as it fed on a kill it had made earlier and were close enough to smell the carcass!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    I cannot recommend our guide Raj Sharma highly enough. His knowledge, organisation and enthusiasm was excellent throughout and he was always at hand if required. He was very good with the children and organised a cake and puppet show for my son who celebrated his birthday while on tour. Every family in the group commented on how good he was and appreciated his inclusiveness.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Try the food on the trains, you'll be surprised at how good it is! The market in Pushkar was very good for cheap gifts and you could browse without being hassled.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    My son (14yrs) thought this was the best holiday he has been on. We have travelled widely so this was praise indeed!
  • Reviewed January 2014
    Anonymous

    TAJ, TIGERS & TEMPLES - FAMILY HOLIDAY

    Fantastic introduction to the natural and man-made marvels of India, with a balance between chaotic city tours, historic temples and palaces and peaceful excursions into wildlife reserves - even if the tigers remained 100% elusive!  The whole family really enjoyed this trip, we were looked after really well by our guide, Yaddu, who went out of his way to accomodate our special requests - a Bollywood film, Indian haircut and shave, birthday cake and birthday camel in full Rajasthan regalia!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Beautiful Amber Palace in Jaipur, Taj Mahal of course!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Excellent.  Knowledgeable and very caring and attentive, shepherding us through busy train stations and cities.  He picked up on the level of energy and interest in the group and adjusted accordingly.  Yaddu was always happy to answer our questions and help us gain a deeper understanding of issues in contemporary India as well as the history.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Delhi is worth staying in for a couple of extra days if possible, the short time we had there was only enough for a brief taster and there is a lot more worth seeing.  It was unsually cold over Christmas/New Year 2013/14, good for touring but remember to take warm clothes if travelling in winter.  Take a good pair of binoculars for bird sanctuary and wildlife reserve.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Our kids, 16, 13 and 10, really enjoyed the trip, a good balance of travel, tours and chillout time.
  • Reviewed November 2012
    Anonymous

    TAJ, TIGERS & TEMPLES - FAMILY HOLIDAY

    This was a very enjoyable and busy trip full of sights; you defiantly get a feel for the real India, travelling on trains, tuck tucks and cycle rickshaws. 

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    I think for us it was the the Keolado National Park and Ranthambore (saw a Tiger and Club). The Taj Mahal is also truly amazing. The kids particularly liked the whole Bollywood film evening and the Sunset Camel Ride at Pushkar.  

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our Group leader Uttum was excellent; very friendly, informative, always available and particularly good at sorting out our large group (18) at short notice when plans suddenly changed. The kids liked him and he was very aware of their needs and wishes. 

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    This trip is quiet intense; you need to be able to go with the flow, listen to your guide and enjoy the other travellers company and then you will have a great time. We went in October the weather was perfect, not too hot in the day or too cold at night.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The Hotels were better than we thought they might be, very relaxing and good locations. The adults and kids enjoyed the pools and also playing cricket in the grounds at the Hotel in Ranthambore. 
  • Reviewed November 2012
    Anonymous

    TAJ, TIGERS & TEMPLES - FAMILY HOLIDAY

    Amazing holiday would recommend to all. This time of year is a great time to visit India as not too hot. A great mix of seeing the sights, wildlife viewing and relaxing!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Seeing the Taj Mahal through the archway at sunrise.Seeing a couple of bears on the game drive.(also seeing a Dominos pizza after a week of curry!!!!!!)

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Pradeep was absoultely fantastic. He did everything he could to keep us happy - Bollywood movies, elephant rides, even went running with me one morning! On the afternoons we spent around the pool he spent hours in the pool being extremely tolerant of all the children wanting to jump off his shoulders. The meal he arranged for us in Pushkar at a local farmhouse was really good (have had to keep trying to hide my Henna tatoo at work for the last week!)

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Get your Visas!!! I completely missed this requirement and only realised a week before we went which was luckily enough for most of the family but as my eldest daughter was out of the country she unfortunately missed the trip.As other reviews have said is very full on in the first few days.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    My son (aged 9) was the youngest on the trip - he enjoyed it (particulrly the bird sanctuary and game drive) but I think any younger and he would have struggled. Was pleasantly surprised by the level of hassling we got at the tourist destinations - was a lot better than Egypt the previous year!
  • Reviewed August 2012
    Anonymous

    TAJ, TIGERS & TEMPLES - FAMILY HOLIDAY

    The trip was busy and we did a lot in the time provided. India draws you in and we will need time to process everything we saw, heard and experienced. Memories will be plentiful! I would recommend this trip to anyone who likes to experience different cultures, lifestyles, architecture and a different climate.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Too many highlights to list!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our Tour Guide Chandra was excellent. He was constantly attentive and making sure the trip was successful. His knowledge was very impressive and meant we were well informed when visiting sites and experiencing northern India's culture and religion. Nothing was too much trouble for the guide and I would definitely recommend Chandra as a guide.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Ask for Chandra as a guide as he will make the experience that much better! This is a busy trip so be prepared for early starts and long hot days filled with things to see and do and enjoy!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Go for it!
Call us on (0211) 99 49 02