Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed June 2018
    Leslie Donaldson

    Spitsbergen Photography Special

    We spent 12 days aboard the Vavilov traveling around Spitsbergen with Paul Goldstein and Mark Carwardine. In 24 hour day light we saw an amazing number of polar bears with cubs (estimate 35 cubs and adults) Arctic foxes, various birds and fantastic scenery. There was a wonderful mixing of all the guests and staff and before the end of the trip it was like one big party. Everyone was keen to help each other with camera advice and computer problems. Paul and Mark held several tutorials on light room photographic processing and were always willing to give advice on any other topic. The ship’s captain manouvered the ship to give us the best views of the polar bears.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    There was no single moment since we had a mother and two cubs who came right up to the ship, followed another mother and cubs on the ice edge while we were I n zodiacs. In another zodiac trip to see thousands of Guillemots on the cliffs we also saw seven Arctic foxes playing and hunting close up. The scenery of mountains and glaciers was fantastic. On the penultimate day we went for a walk and saw rain deer and an adult fox and 3 week old cubs. Every day had a new high.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Paul Goldstein was his usual high energy self and inspirational and the One Ocean staff were an excellent team especially their leader Boris Wise.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Just go! Don’t buy a new camera just before you go, there was so much action you need to know how to use it before you arrive. There is a good laundry service so you don’t need too many clothes but bring layers to keep warm especially gloves.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    This is our fifth trip on the Vavilov and it had the highest animal count.
  • Reviewed June 2018
    Leslie Donaldson

    Spitsbergen Photography Special

    We spent 12 days aboard the Vavilov traveling around Spitsbergen with Paul Goldstein and Mark Carwardine. In 24 hour day light we saw an amazing number of polar bears with cubs (estimate 35 cubs and adults) Arctic foxes, various birds and fantastic scenery. There was a wonderful mixing of all the guests and staff and before the end of the trip it was like one big party. Everyone was keen to help each other with camera advice and computer problems. Paul and Mark held several tutorials on light room photographic processing and were always willing to give advice on any other topic. The ship’s captain manouvered the ship to give us the best views of the polar bears.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    There was no single moment since we had a mother and two cubs who came right up to the ship, followed another mother and cubs on the ice edge while we were I n zodiacs. In another zodiac trip to see thousands of Guillemots on the cliffs we also saw seven Arctic foxes playing and hunting close up. The scenery of mountains and glaciers was fantastic. On the penultimate day we went for a walk and saw rain deer and an adult fox and 3 week old cubs. Every day had a new high.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Paul Goldstein was his usual high energy self and inspirational and the One Ocean staff were an excellent team especially their leader Boris Wise.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Just go! Don’t buy a new camera just before you go, there was so much action you need to know how to use it before you arrive. There is a good laundry service so you don’t need too many clothes but bring layers to keep warm especially gloves.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    This is our fifth trip on the Vavilov and it had the highest animal count.
  • Reviewed June 2018
    Geraldene Cummins

    Excellent holiday, I didn't want to come home

    I had a great time cycling around Croatia. Our guide was excellent as was the scenery and food. Cycling is a great way to see the country and enjoy the views. We went swimming every day after the ride and was taken to lovely restaurants in the evening.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Cycling along the coastline in the sunshine and seeing the lovely clear waters.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Marijo was fantastic, very friendly and welcoming. You couldn't have asked for a better leader.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    There are hills so make sure you have a good level of fitness. I used the support bus one morning as it was a steep climb in over 30 degrees which was too much for me. The food was really nice and everyone in the group was lovely and we all had a nice time.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    You must visit Croatia. It's really beautiful and the people are welcoming.
  • Reviewed June 2018
    Trudy Restieaux

    Picos mixed activity

    Brilliant holiday, all the activities were challenging, hotel staff very accommodating and food deĺicious.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Walking through the rubo gorge in mist and rain.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Nacho was amazing, patient, encouraging and looked after us all.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    A good holiday for lone travellers or friends but need to be active if not that fit.
  • Reviewed June 2018
    Lesley Butler

    Wonderful Trip

    If you like history, visiting beautiful buildings and tasting local food, this is the trip for you. Yes there are some bad roads to contend with, but that's a small price to pay. The highlights? Bukhara, meeting the eagle hunter and brilliant local guides.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Getting up close to a golden eagle.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    We had two leaders. Dilshod in Uzbekistan was brilliant - his knowledge of local history was amazing and he also had a great sense of humour. Ermek in Kazakhstan and Kyrgystan was also a great guide - conscientious and a fund of information, particularly about the recent history of the region.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Enjoy the different cultures of Central Asia.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    We found the local people very friendly and all three countries a lot more laid back than we were expecting.
  • Reviewed June 2018
    Ian Hill

    The title of the trip was appropriate.

    The organisation worked well. Trip notes and maps together made route finding easy. The route was varied and interesting; opportunities for eating and drinking were many. The quality of hotels was good, though only two provided tea or coffee making facilities in the room. The bikes were well-maintained, but are rather heavy, so it was a good job the route was mostly flat. There were no bottle cages provided, which made stopping for water a bit of a faff! Overall, a very enjoyable week.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    too many to mention.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    not applicable as it was self-guided.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Make sure you have ridden a bike a lot in recent times. Savlon helps with saddle soreness. Learn a bit of German, particularly to do with food and drink. Being able to read a map is essential if you miss the direction signs, though they are generally pretty clear.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I don't think so.
  • Reviewed June 2018
    julian tatham-losh

    cycle romaina

    really truly surprising place quiet unspoilt clean friendly , good wi fi , mobile phone and yet really untouched by 2oth centuary cars a variety , and then the fortified churches we all yawn ,but with this trip each and everyone has its own special charm . Good varied acheivable ride in deepest quiet untouched country side

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    veskri unesco world heritage village

    What did you think of your group leader?

    radu was i think the best i have had so far

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    do not forget youre battery charger for camera i did and beelive me youll want to take loads of pics
  • Reviewed June 2018
    Lorna Peden

    Wonderful scenery, pleasant and safe bike routes and an amazing guide

    Our guide Vaida took us to see a fabulous variety of highlights in both large cities and small villages. The three capital cities - Tallin, Riga and Vilnius all had exceptionally interesting landmarks, historic sites and interesting excursions into areas of the every day lives of the people. Large national forests, small fishing villages and lovely seaside towns provided a pleasant contrast to our days in th3 featured cities.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The lunch at the fishing village where the host smoked his own fish, the forest roads with nesting storks and the pretty seaside settlements with families of swans were lovely. The cities offered a glimpse into the history and lives of three very interesting countries. Our guide, Vaida, gave us a wealth of interesting interesting information. She was the most impressive guide we have had in our fifteen years of traveling. She anticipated needs, answered a huge variety of questions, found wonderful restaurants. She was literally at our “beck and call” every moment of the trip - and we were an interesting variety of fourteen cyclists.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    See above.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Make this trip a priority.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The two night stays in most places were a real bonus.
  • Reviewed June 2018
    Pam Moller

    Fantastic Scenery and Historic Sites

    An amazing tour led by an amazing guide (Dana); saw gorgeous scenery and beautiful, historic towns/villages/cities; great food and company all the way. Only improvement would be more time to spend in each place!!!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Cycling along a cycle path along the Danube in Hungary with flower blossom drifting in the air like snowflakes.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Utterly fantastic - inspirational for women of all ages. She was patient, and did everything with good humour and professionalism.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Do it! If you like to cycle and discover the beauty of middle Europe under the guidance of a fantastic guide then this is the tour for you.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Accommodation in Prague, though in a good position, was a noisy. All other accommodation and restaurants were great.
  • Reviewed June 2018
    Fiona Moore

    Mont Blanc Highlights 9th June 2018

    My husband has already done a review and i echo his thoughts. i did find this the most challenging of the walking holidays we have done. We have previously been to Croatia, Turkey (Cappadocia) Picos de Europa, The Dolomites and Slovenia. The views were wonderful and the food was outstanding. Sarah and Rich were just great hosts. The paths were fine and the journeys to and from the walks easy. It was lovely being walking distance from Chamonix.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The views of Mont Blanc and the abundance of wildflowers. The trip on our day off to the glacier was most interesting.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Excellent. He made sure we kept together as a group and altered the walks where necessary.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    As I said, this was the most challenging and just take your time up the steep hills! We were quite a fast group, but we all managed to keep pace.
Call us on (0211) 99 49 02