Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed September 2018
    Amanda Stevenson

    Mont Blanc Highlights

    For anyone who enjoys photographing and viewing spectacular landscapes and enjoys shorter walking days and excellent food and drink, the highlight trip ticks all boxes. The whole trip was extremely well organised with all transport being provided and a free bus pass being available for travelling on public transport. The walks cover a variety of terrains and there are some steep ascents and descents but well worth it for the views. The pace was very comfortable and allowed plenty of photo opportunities and drink stops. The whole pace of the tour is very relaxed with a 9am set off time and a 4 pm finish. This was unlike any other trek I'd been on and the added bonus was cake and tea waiting for you at the chalet on the return and the choice of finishing the day in the hot tub. This helped the group bond together quickly and the chalet accommodation is perfect with a communal dining area and vegging out area where free tea and coffee was made available. The location of the chalet was perfect. Chaminox centre is a 10 min walk away and there is plenty of choice should you wish to eat or drink out. Likewise, for the free day, there is plenty to choose from (depending whether or not you go out of season) and we had no problem in filling the free day. Both the tour guide and Sarah and Rich (the chalet hosts) were on hand to provide details of what to do and how to go about arranging this. Big thanks to Sarah and Rich who really did go out of their way to make everyone feel welcome. Sarah's cooking is excellent and each night there was a 3 course meal waiting for us which had a specific theme. The home made cake at the end of each walk was also welcome and delicious. The daily picnics were a treat as you were able to choose what you wanted to take and the selection was always healthy and freshly made. They really do a fantastic job and are very approachable, helpful and friendly. They were excellent at recommending places to eat and drink whilst in Chamonix and organised the booking of our paragliding sessions for the free day so we knew exactly where we needed to be and when. Much appreciated guys! So, I would definitely recommend this holiday to anyone who is looking for a more relaxed walking holiday, with a later start time and earlier finish time than the usual trekking holiday. The pace was comfortable, there are some challenging walks due to the terrain and the steepness of some of the climbs but the pace is comfortable and there is plenty of opportunity to stop and take in the sights. Apart from the free day and a few beers there is little else to spend your money on so it is not expensive unless you decide to eat out or shop in Chamonix. Fab holiday

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    My friend and I decided to go paragliding on our free day. Rich organised this for us and we had a fantastic day. Bit scary but, if you're going to jump off a mountain, why not do it in Chamonix!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Shaun was very knowledgeable and kept a comfortable pace for the group. There was plenty of time for photos and drink stops. The itinerary for the following day was discussed the previous night so this gave plenty of time to ask any questions and prepare for the next day - even down to the weather forecast which was very helpful.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Pack waterproofs in case the weather turns. Walking poles are handy for the steep descents. Don't bother to take any swiss currency - the only time you may need it is in the airport and euro's are acceptable.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The walks were very impressive but the icing on the cake was the chalet and hosts - Sarah and Rich. I'd never been on a walking holiday where the catering had been given such importance. From the very well organised breakfast to the selection of packed lunch items to the 3 course evening meal - everything was tasty, well presented and delicious. It made meal times something to look forward to. On previous treks I'd been used to rice and noodles and tinned meat so this was so very different and a nice refreshing change. They do a fabulous job and this topped the holiday off.
  • Reviewed September 2018
    Vanessa Andean

    Beautiful riding and excellent guides

    This is a wonderful trip through superb countryside stopping in lovely villages, towns and of course the cities of Vienna, Bratislava and Budapest. Our guides Dana and Peter were the best - knowledgeable, friendly, capable of fixing any problem. We would highly recommend this trip.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Cycling through the beautiful forests of Czech Canada

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Both leaders were excellent

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take this trip if you have any interest in central/eastern Europe
  • Reviewed September 2018
    David Woodhams

    The wildlife of Namibia, amazing!

    This trip with 'full service' camping was amazing. Comfortable tent with camp bed, mattress, duvet even a bedside table and lamp, luxury, coupled with the amazing places that we camped and the wonderful encounters with the incredible wildlife was superb. The food prepared and cooked by our chef Tyrone was imaginative and varied and plenty of it. The other members of the crew Simpson, truck driver and general hand, together with Fritz, also general hand worked tirelessly to provide us with a superb service erecting and taking our tents down whenever we needed to move. When wild camping in the Hoanib River area even provided hot water for the camp showers which were great after a days game viewing. There are some long journeys and days on this trip but the rewards are worth it.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Spotting two Black Rhinos about 1 kilometre away, then walking downwind of them with our guide to get closer in order to get some good photographs and ending up about 70 metres away, fantastic. The best part was the fact that the Rhinos were never aware of our presence. We came, we saw and we left - great!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Hans Liechti was a superb guide and group leader with excellent organisational skills and very intimate knowledge of many of the animals that we saw throughout this trip. He knew where we were most likely to find what ever we were looking for and would persist until we found. The Black Rhinos were somewhat elusive but we did find them, some of which are even named. He knew the numbers of elephants in particular groups in the Hoanib River as well as the Lions.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    If you are unsure whether camping trips are for you then this trip being 'full service' camping would be a good way to try it out. Do not expect wall to wall animals on this trip as the habitat is nothing like Kenya, Tanzania or South Africa. Having said that, what encounters you do have will be very memorable.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    This trip turned out to be as described in the trip notes and lived up to and on some days even exceeded our expectations with some very memorable animal sightings, made even better by the expert knowledge of our guide, Hans If you are thinking about taking this trip do not hesitate for too long or you will miss out as places are very limited.
  • Reviewed September 2018
    terri wells

    WOW the best trip ever!!

    This was my first cycle trip......sure wish I would have started doing these treks 20 years ago. The Northern Albania/Macedonia bike ride was very challenging....steep climbs, thrilling descents, beautiful mountains/lakes. Our accommodations were quaint and comfortable. The food was healthy and oh so good! I was very impressed with organized structure of this trip. Our guide, Dimo, was the best! I made 13 new UK friends, and loved every minute riding, dining, drinking and laughing with all of them. Exodus will by my 1st choice for traveling every year.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Making the 6,000ft cycle day

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Dimo was the BEST! fun, friendly, from the area
  • Reviewed September 2018
    Rex Yetton

    A lovely Island

    I went with four friends which made for good companionship and plenty of laughs, We made sure that we mixed with the group and made some good friends, and hopefully enhanced their enjoyment. We were lucky with the weather which threatened to have some storms but we seemed to have sunshine most of the time. I loved the morning coffee stops and the daily beach stops for a swim. Some of the rides were quite challenging and surprised the first timer in our group. The resulting downhill sections were fabulous. Most hotels had swimming pools which were very welcome at the end of the day.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The long downhill rides after the steep climbs. The nice beaches and hotels with swimming pools. Having a beer with the group at the end of the ride. The final night as a group in Cagliari.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Both the leaders. Simone and Giovani were excellent. Giovani was very knowledgeable about the island and its history, which he was keen to tell us about. He was quite strict but we soon warmed to him and brought out his softer side by using some banter.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    The hills on day 2 and three are very challenging. I have done grade 3 climbs on previous Exodus trips and these were long and challenging. Knowing that the hills would be a challenge and no longer a spring chicken, I had an e bike. I have embraced e mountain biking at home on the South Downs and it is fabulous. Although the e bike I had wasn't an ideal design, it certainly helped and enhanced my enjoyment. My advice would be to have one if you have any doubt. Why suffer? the e bikers were able to chat on the hills and enjoy the scenery, whereas the normal bikers couldn't talk.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    If you like coffee stops, nice beaches and swimming pools, this is the trip for you. Beware of the hills!
  • Reviewed September 2018
    Jennie Pickstone

    Island of wonders

    This was an excellent trip! The walking was quite hard occasionally because of some rocky terrains but I am in my 60's and not the fittest for my age ....so no problem! The weather was very changeable- I believe more than usual- so waterproofs are a must in September. The sights we visited were stunning! Tiscali and the Stalactites were amazing. Our guide Alexis was superb. He clearly takes his job very seriously and has a good knowledge of the region. He is also very sociable and humourous. Like all holidays a lot depends on the group...this group were exceptionally nice. I can really recommend this holiday if you want a good mix of interesting archeological sights and walking. The food and wine was rather good too!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Difficult to choose but either Tiscali or the cave with the stalactites etc. It was like walking into Gormenghast!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Already said....Outstanding!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Have good footwear suitable for a rocky terrain. Take walking poles.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    No
  • Reviewed September 2018
    Steve M

    Good challenging walks and excellent meals

    We were lucky to have a week of sun, so had excellent views of Mont Blanc and the surrounding peaks and glaciers, everywhere we went. Walks were a good distance each day, with some challenging parts, but moderated by second-breakfast and first & second lunch stops... And our evening highlight was always dinner at Chalet Chocolat where Zohi and Ben served up beautifully presented, restaurant quality food every day.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The views every day were superb, and so much more rewarding after a challenging climb to get to see them. Tandem-parasailing, on our day off, from the top of the first l'Aguille du Midi cable car was an unmissable experience too!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Jenny planned and led the walks well - clearly has a lot of knowledge and experience in the mountains.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Make sure you're fit enough for hiking all day, day after day.
  • Reviewed September 2018
    Jeryl Whitelock

    Being prepared

    This trip was a real adventure. Mongolia is a stunning country and we saw breath-taking and different landscapes during our visit, as well as animals galore. However, it's billed as 2, a leisurely to moderate trip. This is true in the sense that there isn't much walking involved. However, there is a very great deal of driving, most of it off-road, and some very long driving days. The off-road vehicles we travelled in were ok, but not that comfortable - this is Mongolia afterall! - and the sheer amount of driving took its toll. Although there was some downtime during the trip, it wasn't till day 8 that we got a half-day to ourselves. And don't forget that Mongolia is 1300m above sea-level in the capital, and we went up to 2000m elsewhere, and the UK body takes a good time to adjust to that altitude.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    This trip was a real adventure. Mongolia is a stunning country and we saw breath-taking and different landscapes during our visit, as well as animals galore: herds of sheep and goats, herds of horses, camels and yaks and, a highlight for me, the Takhi horses. Other highlights were Karokorum and the Ger camp we stayed in there, where a local musical group came to perform for us specially. We also enjoyed the trips to the Singing Dunes just before the storm came in, the Flaming Cliffs and the trek into the Yolyn Am gorge. There had been a lot of rain and several cars got stuck on the approach, but our drivers were great. They got us through and also helped to pull others out. At one point, in the middle of the Gobi Desert in temperatures of 40 degrees, they replaced a broken driveshaft on our vehicle! Visiting the gorge is billed as a walk, but there are horses to hire there, which my partner and I chose to do. It made the trek really memorable.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Odka was very enthusiastic, knowledgeable and generally helpful. There was one issue which she was unable to help with and said I should contact Exodus. As we were without wifi or mobile phone signal, this wasn't possible at the time. However, once I was able to contact the office, the issue was sorted very promptly.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    This trip is billed as 2, a leisurely to moderate trip. This is true in the sense that there isn't much walking involved. However, there is a very great deal of driving and some very long driving days off-road, so be aware of this, especially if you have a back problem, as did one member of our group. The off-road vehicles we travelled in were ok, but not that comfortable - this is Mongolia afterall! - and the sheer amount of driving took its toll physically. Although there was some downtime during the trip, it wasn't till day 8 that we got a half-day to ourselves, so I wouldn't say downtime balanced out the driving. And remember that Mongolia is 1300m above sea-level in the capital, and we went up to 2000m elsewhere. The UK body takes a good time to adjust to that altitude.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    There was no shortage of food and we were very well fed throughout. It was generally set meals, but the Gobi Erdene Ger Camp, where we stayed two nights (Day 7 and 8), had a good and varied buffet option.
  • Reviewed September 2018
    Gill & Sam Darby

    Lovely Hol

    Second trip with Exodus. Lovely holiday cycling through Tuscany, finishing in Florence. Lots of clmb, but not too severe. Great weather, food & wine. Group were great fun. I'll be back next year for another trip.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Hard to say - perhaps the views to the next town, perhaps the food. Perhaps the towns themselves. Maybe an ice cream in Sienna. All were truly impressive.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Excellent

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Get reasonably fit, take plenty of sun tan lotion & insect spray.
  • Reviewed September 2018
    Alice McClean

    A must do Cycling challenge

    A great Cycling trip that had it all. Breathtaking mountain landscapes and coastal scenery with fabulous food and wines to be had. My group of 13 fit club cyclists found this a sometimes stengous tour in the 36 degrees heat in Mid September. There’s really no easy days in the saddle and almost everyday involves long climbs with equally long descents. The roads are very rough in places and you need to keep your wits about you for the cows, mules, dogs & goats that you meet on the narrow roads. Albania is a beautiful mountainous country that will take you back to times of old with its simple ways and graceful charm.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    My most inspirational moment was reaching the top of the climb of Liogare Pass on the final day. I arrived hot and sweaty into a sea of white clouds resting on the mountain top with a breathtaking views. With a great sense of achievement and comardardy our small group had made the entire Climb unassisted and relished the long descent to the coast.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our Group Leader Eilis was fantastic and made everything simple & easy for us. Nothing was too much trouble for him. He was very professional, kind and most attentive to us all and made Cycling Albania a once in a lifetime trip.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Do some hill climbing before you go otherwise you will spend a lot of time sitting in the support vehicle. I got a lot of bites so take insect repellent and apply everyday before you commence your ride. I wouldn’t advise using clip in shoes. The road surfaces are really rough and on a couple of occasions I had to stop quickly for traffic coming both ways on the narrow roads. As I had nowhere to go but on to the ditch I put my unclipped foot down to prevent a fall. I would highly recommend this challenging tour, you won’t be disappointed.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Don’t worry about getting Lek until you reach the airport in Tirana. Our guide purchased all our meals for us and we paid him in euros on the last night of the trip. Our guide also ran a Group kitty for fruit & snacks and water which cost around 2000 Lek or £14 for the entire week. Food is really cheap and delicious.
Call us on (0211) 99 49 02