Turtle, Ecuador

Review Centre

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed October 2016
    Jeffrey Rooney

    What a stunning way to see Loire valley

    Our first bike holiday but definitely not last with the best food and scenary we had in Europe.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Rising through the French countryside; looking at the homes and life going on as we passed was incredible. Chambord is a beautiful optional ride, we had a glorious day at the chateau.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    We did the self-guided tour. The trip notes were mostly easy to follow and if we took a wrong turn it only added to what we got to see.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    As a non-bike rider the days left me stiff before bed. Do some riding in the lead up to the holiday to prepare yourself.
  • Reviewed August 2015
    Darren Battle

    Loire Valley Route

    An easy to follow route through quiet country roads and villages. Only two minor hills en route. Lots of pretty countryside, nice views and places to see en route. Luggage was always at destination on arrival making the whole trip really easy.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Countryside views and Chateaus; and plenty of opportunities for picnics

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    1. Pack light as you will only need a change of clothes for the evening. 2. Plan interim routes for the rest days - there are lots of short routes to interesting places and given the distances you don't really need a day's rest. 3. There are plenty of nice places to stop and have a picnic on the way. Buy your picnic in the morning as the shops are likely closed at the time you want to have lunch (12.00-15.00!)
  • Reviewed October 2014
    Jeanette Banks

    Cycling in the Loire Valley

    I really enjoyed the cycling trip. We had very good weather - sunshine every day. The trip was a lot of fun, accommodation was good and the food at some of the venues excellent. We really enjoyed seeing the chateaux and the villages along the route. Sometimes we found the directions a little misleading and confusing especially as we weren't given a map of the the ride to help us have a clearer picture of the route. Overall the cycling was great and I would do another similar style trip.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The most inspirational moment of the trip was looking out the window at the nearby chateau one morning and seeing four hot air balloons float by. On a clear sunny morning it was just magical.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our trip was self guided and often I was the 'map reader' of the group. The others in the group seemed to appreciate my map reading and often it was about keeping the group together, with some riders faster or slower than others.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Wear bike shorts if you can and pack sunscreen. Even though we all had prepared for the ride we all pleased we had bike shorts to ease the pain of sore butt muscles. Don't overpack. Even though the suitcases were transported to our hotels heavy suitcases weren't welcome.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Go with a positive attitude and have fun.
  • Reviewed October 2013
    Anonymous

    CYCLING IN THE LOIRE VALLEY

    A fantastic experience with amazing scenery, excellent accommodation, no time restrictions and a relaxed itinerary.  What a wonderful way to see the Loire Valley

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Every morning we left our accommodation by 9am and although the weather was chilly the sun was shining and it just made the experience so much more enjoyable travelling on the back roads, the peace and quiet as we rode through forests and fields was not only relaxing but extremely refreshing. 

    What did you think of your group leader?

    N/A

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    A couple of the trip notes (Chambord round trip) are a little out of date.  We were riding through a National Forest for about an hour, not entirely sure we were headed in the right direction and some of the "distances" should be double checked.
  • Reviewed August 2013
    Anonymous

    CYCLING IN THE LOIRE VALLEY

    A wonderful holiday in the Loire Valley. The cycling was just right: not too challenging (beautiful rolling countryside, stopping off at a chateau or two) but with a few steeper bits, just to keep us on our toes! The accommodation was great - lovely family-run hotels with friendly staff and superb food. And you even managed to organise some perfect weather - thanks! The only thing I'd recommend is to review some of the instructions in the cycling itinerary, they weren't always clear. But all in all a great experience and organised to run very smoothly. We'd certainly recommend it.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    - The chateau of Chenonceau - stunning- Swimming in the river at Montrichard- Cycling through the fields of sunflowers

    What did you think of your group leader?

    We didn't have a group leader.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Very helpful correspondence with Exodus before the trip, and a good info pack.
  • Reviewed August 2013
    Anonymous

    CYCLING IN THE LOIRE VALLEY

    This was a great family holiday. We all loved the entire experience. Our children , fifteen and twelve, are keen to experience another cycling holiday and this is not something that we would have predicted before the start of the week !!!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The chateaux were beautiful and reaching each destination was exciting. The accommodation was , without exception , was very comfortable but our particular favorite was Hotel La Breche in Amboise. Very quirky with terrific food.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Self guided holiday. The routes were well explained and took us through some very beautiful countryside.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    The whole holiday was really well organized and a truly stress free experience.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    On the Wednesday we cycled from Bracieux to Chaumont Sur Loire when we passed through a village called Monthou Sur Bievre . On the main road we passed a cafe/ bar and stopped for some lunch. This little place was full of locals having a traditional French lunch . We joined the lunch party , the atmosphere was great and the food ( including a bottle of wine ) cost 58 Euros for four people. Well worth a visit !
  • Reviewed January 2013
    Anonymous

    CYCLING IN THE LOIRE VALLEY

    The Loire Valley is a superb region for cycling for riders of all standards. The variety of natural settings (forests, vineyards, farms, rivers) and the built environment (castles, villages, towns) provides for entertaining and informative travel. The terrain is gently undulating and our route generally avoided busy roads. The accommodation was just right: friendly staff in family style hotels with excellent food (where provided) 

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The friendly and very helpful hotel staff;Riding through forests on "no-cars" tracks;The sheer magnificence of some of the chateaux. 

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Ours was a self-guided tour. We encountered two issues:Only one set of maps and one guide book and one pannier for a couple made navigation "interesting" when, as we inevitably did, ride apart. The guidebook itself was quite challenging to follow and not as useful as one we saw being used by cyclists with another tour operator. The local company did provide us with additional panniers so we could both carry our own gearThe bicycle mechanic was on holidays when we started and our tools were inadequate to change the pedals to suit our clip-in shoes - a bike shop was located on day three and we got the change done then.  

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    For anyone who has done some cycling, this is a very relaxing holiday and provides plenty of time to see and do things along the way. We enjoyed cycling into the old city of Blois on our rest day, and to the chateau in Amboise where Da Vinvci lived for three years.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    We were very pleasantly surprised by the quality of the hotels used for this trip. Although they were rated as 2-star we found them ideally informal for a cycling holiday.
  • Reviewed August 2012
    Anonymous

    CYCLING IN THE LOIRE VALLEY

    A really nice family holiday that worked well. Lovely countryside and good choice of route offered a great shared experience. The hotels were basic but perfectly good enough and the food, where provided, was always excellent. We would definitely consider another Exodus cycling holiday in the future.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Arriving at Bracieux after a 49km ride was very satisfying - especially once in the pool

    What did you think of your group leader?

    No group leader. We had no contact with the local rep.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Padded cycling shorts essential - and maybe consider gel saddle pads too. Cycling gloves are unnecessary.Take mosquito repellent plug-in devices Don't bother with the son-et-lumiere in Amboise on your first night, espcially if you don't speak fluent French or got up early to get there! Book restaurants ahead of time for the days where you are not half-board, particularly in Chaumont, as there isn't much choice and everywhere was full. Even booking something at lunchtime would help.  

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Detailed itinerary arrived only two days before the trip - more time to prepare would have been helpfulThe Relais D'Artemis restaurant in Bracieux was closed when the notes said it was open (and open when the notes said shut) and was very disappointing - the one poor value for money meal we had. Actually it would have been poor even it it had cost the same as the others.On the other hand the restaurant in the square opposite the Hotel Du Cygne - The Au Fil du Temps - was much better (and cheaper) and a really nice experience. We suggest you recommend that one instead.The route notes became unhelpfully brief at some points of the trip - particularly the last afternoon - and we went the wrong way as a result.It could be more clear where meals are included and not included in the trip notes.The bike shop was closed at both ends of our trip. It would have been useful to know this in advance so we didn't have to make another return trip across Amboise to return the bikes when all along they were going to be picked up from the hotel. We also missed out on any adjustment/instruction on the bikes before we set off and didn't have a full set of panniers/bungees until another traveller complained to the local rep. Brackets to hold water bottles on the bikes would have been useful. Otherwise, the bikes were in very good condition.It would have been useful to have a map with the official bike routes marked on them, so it was clear when were were supposed to be following them, or not.It would be even more useful to have an iPhone app with the routes and points of interest overlaid on the map. We had no idea what distance we had covered until we came upon a town or other landmark. On the return leg, the train booking left us with an unnecessary change and 1:30 hour wait in Blois. We didn't get this schedule until the tickets arrived two days before we left. We were then told we would have to pay to change the tickets to catch the direct train, but when we tried to do this, the ticket office said the tickets were flexible and we didn't need to. It would also have been useful to have been told that we had to validate the tickets before getting on the train.It would have been useful to include information on the chateau card (offering discount for visiting lots of chateaux) as we only found out about it after paying for most of them individually. The price for the horse spectacular at Chambord was a lot higher than was said in the route guide. Overall we ended up spending a lot more money than we thought we would need to.  
  • Reviewed August 2012
    Anonymous

    CYCLING IN THE LOIRE VALLEY

    Beautiful countryside and the cycling was very gentle.  The food and wine in the region was a real highlight. It was a really stress free holiday.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    It's a very gentle holiday, with a chance to see a different chateau every day - from the well known ones to litttle local chateaus and castles.  Food and wine along the way was wonderful.  Hotels were 2 star and had fans rather than air con - but that was OK apart from one very hot night.  Friendly local hotels which was great. 

    What did you think of your group leader?

    n/a - self guided.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    The French trains are really well set up for bicycles - so if you want to on the Blois day take the train in and cycle back that is really easy.  We took the train both ways in order to have a bike free day and long enough to see Blois. Check the train timetables though as there are some odd gaps in service in the day.  There was only one part on the first day that was on quite a busy road (for about 2km), but after that  the rest of the trip was on very quiet roads or designated cycle paths. We took the short routes as that was enough for us - and they seemed very well planned.  I thought the route map given by Exodus was great - there was only one point where we got the big map out to check. 

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The bicycles were perfect, the organisation of the bags etc went really smoothly.  Finding places to picnic was easy, the Exodus guide gave some suggestions.  We also took a couple of days at the end in Tours, then a train with only one change back to Charles De Gaulle - really liked Tours, recommend it! 
  • Reviewed July 2012
    Anonymous

    CYCLING IN THE LOIRE VALLEY

    The Loire Valley was beautiful, cycling was wounderful and I would recomend althoug I feel the holiday was over priced for what we actully had. One week cost as much as two weeks 5 star in mexico!!!!! plus we had to find our own way to the Loire. The maps provided were up to date but if you just followed the Exodus details they were really poor. 

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The wounderfull time spent with my family, french food was good.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    This was not in our package

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Do it yourself as it is much cheaper.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    It is a wounderful place to go on holiday and I would really recommend.
Call us on (0211) 99 49 02