Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Word - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a personalised review link. Click the link and post your review. Simple. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed July 2017
    Wendy Wheeler
    We were surprised and really pleased to discover this trip also came in a grade 5 version (once per month?). Everything about this trip was great - the walking terrain, the views, the lovely group, the fantastic leader (who happens to be quite the blister-blasting nurse too), Pierre-Luigi, who was great when I got a little nervous (unnecessarily but it seemed justified at the time!) and of course, Elvis the dog. And the farmhouse was so much lovelier than I anticipated, having an evening dip in the pool after a long day of hiking was heaven to me. Everyone in the group except me was a fussy eater in one way or another (if you are reading this, I mean it in the nicest possible way!), but it did not faze Braccicorti, all the food was lovely, and the wine they make was rather nice too...

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The views were definitely inspirational

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Sara was excellent, probably the best I've met - she knows loads about the area, and Braccicorti and really cares about them too; she always looked out for all of us; kept us informed; was fun and interesting.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Use the pool! And do whatever Sara tells you!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Its a really well put together, enjoyable trip in a beautiful location
  • Reviewed July 2017
    Latisha O'Connor
    What an amazing trip! My now husband and I are fans of adventure vacations and Iceland was the best choice for us. He is a much better cyclist than I, but that didn't matter because if I wasn't up for it I was able to rack my bike and hop a ride in the bus to the next site, snack stop, or until the course was more my level. The countryside was gorgeous and the accommodations were great. I can't say enough about the food and purity of the water...so renewing (but I am also American and well, REAL, unadulterated food isn't a strength in our country). Our guides were very patient, knowledgeable, and just all around fun guys. The bonus for my partner and I was getting engaged behind a waterfall. I definitely recommend this trip.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Being fully present in nature felt inspirational.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    He was awesome! Highly recommend.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Enjoy every minute!
  • Reviewed July 2017
    Charlie Newman
    The walks on this trip vary from day to day but you are always treated to spectacular landscapes, seascapes and breath taking views.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    It's really exciting to go to a destination that is so well known for sandy beach holidays but you have the luxury of barely seeing anyone else because the walks are so discrete and un-touched. Sardinia's rugged mountainous terrain quite surprised me in a pleasant way. As it felt like we were the only ones walking on the whole island until you arrive at the finishing town and treat yourself to a Aperol Spritz or two!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Make sure you have double checked your drop off and pick up arrangements for each day. It might be worth confirming each of these the night before in case you're wanting to be a bit more flexible as there isn't heaps of phone signal on the walks. Bus times often vary so it's worth checking these online either using hotel wifi or roaming 3G before you set off for the day.
  • Reviewed July 2017
    Oliver Mills
    This was a great way to explore one of the lesser known parts of diverse Spain, taking in beautiful coastal views, great regional dishes and welcoming locals.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Arriving just outside San Vicente de la Barquera when the sun was setting over a stunning and dramatic after a tough day's ride!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    N/A

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Learn a bit of Spanish as English is not widely spoken in most places. Try all the delicious food, there is menu del día available in most towns. Bring plenty of energy bars for the cycles and be prepared for a few uphills!
  • Reviewed July 2017
    Sue Melling
    I highly recommend this walking holiday staying at the agrotouristic family-run home of Braccicorti in the beautiful Garfagnana valley. Each of the five walks are unique and the scenery magnificent though the view from Pania di Corfino was a little obscured due to the weather. However, this was more than compensated for by the stunning views from the walks in the Apuane National Park to Monte Sumbra, along part of the Appenine ridge to Monte Prado and the walk to Campocatino and San Viviano's Hermitage. The walk in the valley led by a local guide, Pierre Luigi, was great too as Pierre informed us of the history and farming of the area. But what made this trip truly fantastic and extraordinary was the sensitive and thoughtful leadership of our guide, Sara, accompanied by Elvis her dog. Sara is extremely knowledgable, informative, experienced, inspirational and has a way of communicating that is enthralling and humourous. She worked tirelessly to ensure all in the group were well catered for and throughly enjoyed their experience. Thanks to Sara I had a truly wonderful time with plenty of laughs and new friendships made. Thank you Sara and Elvis! and all the family at Braccicorti.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Apart from meeting and spending time with Sara and Elvis and the group members, I absolutely loved the walk in the Appenino Tosco-Emiliano National Park along the Crinali ridge to Monte Prado. The flowers, the scents, the views, the wildlife - all were sensational and all enjoyed in great company.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Amazing! Sara is a real asset to Exodus Travels and if I had any say in it I would definitely vote her 'Guide of the Year'.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    My advice to potential travellers is to book now!
  • Reviewed July 2017
    Andrew Deeming
    Truly an excellent 2 week holiday! 7 days spent in the Peruvian Andes- 4 days trekking around Salcantay, 3 on the Inca trail, ending at the Sun Gate and that picture postcard view of Machu Picchu. If you have entertained the idea of doing this holiday, or a shorter version of the trek, I'd just book it! You will certainly not be disappointed.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Difficult to choose just one but I would have to go with reaching the Sun Gate and getting the first view of Machu Picchu. It really is an eye opener and you definitely feel you have earned it after 7 days of quite challenging trekking through the Andes. As well as MP, the scenery in general, is truly magnificent. There are plenty of times when you'll want to stop and simply take in and admire your surroundings. If you are lucky and get clear skies during the evening, you should see the Milky Way.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Bruce was excellent! Very professional, caring and made sure he understood the capabilities of the group. He has a passion to share his knowledge about his country and it's history and gave very detailed, interesting explanations when we stopped at archeological sites. He made every member of the group feel welcome and brought us all together as a 'family' for the two weeks we were together. A special mention needs to go to Cesar, our second guide. Knowledgeable and very likeable- along with Bruce he made sure all of our needs were catered for and that we all finished the trek in one piece. One final mention goes to the support team- cooks, wranglers and porters. These guys are like machines! While you're struggling up and down the trail, this team carries up to 25kg of equipment per person and make sure camp and lunch spots are set up well before you arrive. Truly awesome.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Train for this trek and be prepared for the change in altitude, it really does make a difference and you'll notice it when you reach the hotel in Cusco. As other reviewers have stated, pack for all seasons. At the highest camp (4,200m), you will be very cold and temperatures will fall below zero. The next day, you'll be in a valley and in temperatures above 20C. We were fortunate not to get any rainfall but it is still a possibility. Take a mixture of Peruvian Sols and US dollars, for use in Cusco.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Book it and enjoy it!
  • Reviewed July 2017
    Gina Eckersley
    A fantastic week riding through beautiful coastal scenery, with fantastic accommodation and excellent food.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    There were so many highlights on this trip! I loved the Port tasting on the first day - it was a fantastic opportunity for the group and the leader to get to know one another and taste some delicious wine! The cycling was glorious, the first 4 days were easy and then the final day was a little more difficult (but this just meant that eventually cycling in to the walled town of Obidos was all the better!!) I love the bespoke cycling paths that are used on the first few days of this trip - it's great to see a country that puts so much emphasis on safe and enjoyable cycling. The accommodation was also a real highlight - each night's stay was individual and quirky - it felt like it was properly hand picked to reflect the area. The food was brilliant - there is so much of it! There was an abundance of fish/seafood and meat - really delicious. I found myself eating far more than I was burning in calories but I got the opportunity to try a different Portuguese dessert each evening - bliss! I also really enjoyed the Fado dinner on the final night - it was a perfect end to the trip.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Marco was excellent. He was obviously passionate about cycling and Portugal, and this really shone through every time he spoke to the group. I felt there was not a subject he did not know something about! The whole trip ran very smoothly, supported by the driver and Mechanic Joao.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Lots of sun cream! The final day of cycling is more difficult than the rest so don't be lulled into a false sense of security when you are riding on the flat for 4 days! Just before Obidos the scenery becomes more undulating which is really nice to have a change, but means that the cycling day is longer. However, the van is really helpful for those that need it and there was plenty of time for regrouping (and a long lunch!) on that day. It's useful to read up a little on Lisbon before the final day as it is a free day, so nothing in particular was planned. It's a great walking city and there is a good network of public transport so it's easy to get around. If you have time, add an extra day in Porto - it's well worth it!!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I really recommend this trip - it's a leisurely, enjoyable, scenic ride which showcases a country which I feel is really underrated. And you can really indulge in the Portuguese puddings!!
  • Reviewed July 2017
    Hugh Barton
    What a wonderful three weeks. To travel all the way from cape Town to Victoria Falls and stop at so many great places en route was fantastic and we loved it all. OK, there are some long drives but these didn't feel long as we had plenty of 'comfort breaks' and so much to look at as we travelled. The seats in the bus were very comfortable and the leg-room was amazing, far better than on flights or coaches. The camp sites were good with hot showers (most of the time!) and a bar to relax in, while the team set up camp and got dinner ready. There are some early mornings but that is the best time to see animals and a good breakfast and hot drink soon gets you going.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    This is very difficult. This trip offers a huge variety and really it is this very variety that is the highlight. We did and saw a lot everyday and almost every day was different. For example we went for a walk around the Cape of Good Hope and it was very exciting, the wind was strong and cold. When we were in the Sand Dunes it was dry and very warm. The river trips were cool and gentle and Victoria Falls were thunderous and simply stunning. We walked around the Falls one day and the next day we flew over them in a helicopter. We saw many animals and birds. Elephants walked across the road in front of us as did Zebras and Antelope. We loved every moment of our trip and would say to anyone considering it, to just book a trip and go.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    We had a team of three looking after us - Justin, Sam & Nyasha - and they were wonderful. They worked incredibly hard setting up the camp when we arrived at each site and taking it down each day we moved on. They (well Sam mainly) cooked wonderful meals and they guided us through the various boarders. We had some long drives which they handled well (while we often slept in the bus) so they got up first, did all the work and driving, went to bed last and still remained cheerful, approachable and calm. Their efficiency and hard work, and their openness and humour, made us feel very relaxed and well cared for. We felt that whatever came up they could deal with it.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Cape Town and the west coast of South Africa & Namibia is cold during their winter months, at night and first thing in the morning, as are the early morning game drives - colder than we realised. I suggest you take a warm woolly hat and gloves.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Whatever the issues were previously with the bus (see earlier reviews) these have clearly been dealt with. On our custom-made vehicle the seats were very comfortable and provided a lot of leg room. There were small high sliding windows for ventilation and large picture windows that could be lowered for a better view & photographs. They all worked properly, as did the charging points at the front. Bearing in mind the distance travelled and the terrain being covered it was a great vehicle and well cared for.
  • Reviewed June 2017
    Chris Bridges
    Very good trip giving best of three countries & a taste of Bosnia. Leader was committed, very helpful & personable.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Skopje was so interesting & Lake Ohrid, but all countries had their attractions.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Adis Rudaliya was excellent, a truly committed leader.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Some longer travelling days but overall a great experience.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    It would have been good to spend a night in Bosnia rather than doubling back from Serbia, i.e. One night in Bosnia & one in Serbia village.4
  • Reviewed June 2017
    Hulda Gunnarsdottir
    We were a group of 7 ladies from Iceland and went on the hiking trip to Puglia and Matera from june 3 to june 10. It was an excellent trip with beautiful landscape and the fantastic towns of Matera, Alberobello and Locorotondo. Excellent guide Giuseppe told us all there is about the region and was really nice.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Coming to Matera and visiting the Sassi was something we will never forget. Alberobello and Trulli was fantastic and seeing the caves and hearing the history of the region was great.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Giuseppe was really great and we give him our best recommendation!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    There is no need for trekking boots better to have light shoes like good sport shoes.
Call us on (0211) 99 49 02