Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed September 2012
    Anonymous

    DISCOVER SRI LANKA

    A wonderful tour - outstanding tour leader in Sujan, varied tour content covering historical, cultural, scenic and physical aspects.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Seeing wild elephants with their babies in the Yala National Park.The white water rafting was lots of fun. 

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Sujan was fantastic.  A great person, professional, knowledgeable, well organised and able to pace each day and the tour overall. 

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    The optional activities -  elephant riding, white water rafting and small boat trip - are really worth doing. Small gifts such as pencils and pens for children you meet as part of the tour are really well received.Take lots of Deet based insect repellant (didn't get bitten once), especially for the boat trip. Sun cream is important - you can burn easily and we saw several lobsters around the hotel pools.  Folding umbrellas are much better than rain jackets.  Power points in hotels are of varying types but a universal adapter plus a power board does the trick.There's some very good shopping for casual winter recreation clothes such as gortex jackets, hiking pants, fleecy tops etc in Nurawa Eliya.If you are looking to unwind for a day or two after the trip in Colombo I'd recommend the CASA Colombo Hotel. 

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    This was our first trip with Exodus and we would certainly travel again with them.
  • Reviewed September 2012
    Anonymous

    CUBA: LA ISLA GRANDE

    The trip to Cuba was fantastic and really this is the only way to see the entire country from East to West.  We followed the Atlantic side of the Country starting in Havana and travelled up the other side, so there was plenty to do and see.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    There were many inspirational moments for me, from standing in Revolution Square in Havana, to snorkeling with the fish in the Caribbean, Old Havana for architecture and to Baracoa where I took in the culture with live music, a few Havana Club's and one or two Mojito's with the best two companions that one could wish for :-)

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Enio was a delight as a group leader who loved his country and was passionate about it's history and background.  He was kind, funny and very patient, especially with the questions that were constantly being fired at him.  His partner in crime - Eduardo was our driver to whom you totally felt safe with and was a delight to be around.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Soak up the atmosphere as I don't believe you will find another country like Cuba.  If you are vegetarian, prepare to eat omelettes for the entire trip, so best to bring something with you and it might be an idea to bring sweets for the kids as they loved the lollipops that one of our travel companions gave to them.  There is a shortage of soap, toothpaste, shower gel and creams, so we handed out various travel sizes to people throughout the trip.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    This was my first trip with Exodus and it was much better than I had expected.  It was well organized in Cuba and ran very smoothly.  I have travelled my entire life, but this is definitely a trip that I will remember.  There was so much to do every day, but there was time to relax as well, whether it was snorkeling, at the beach, shopping or just plain relaxing with nothing to do. Special thanks to both Enio and Eduardo to whom the trip would not have been as much fun to be on.  They were truly delightful and I met wonderful friends along the way.  I can't wait to go back!
  • Reviewed September 2012
    Anonymous

    CAPE TOWN TO VICTORIA FALLS

    A rewarding trip with lots to see. Great animal opportunities but also great scenery.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Walking with lions in Botswana, a surreal experienceHelicopter flight over Victoria Falls - until then you don't appreciate how enormous the Falls really areSitting round the campfire drinking red wine and taking in the amazing stars

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Ewald was very efficient and struck the right balance between business-like and friendly. He worked hard to accomodate all our individual needs and he showed great patience. Gecko was also great company and will make an excellent leader one day.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    If you don't like long drives, dust, sand, cold nights (in our Summer) this trip isn't for youThe local village in Botswana has a kindergarten (we were told it was a Primary school) so you may wish to take suitable donations. One of our group took balloons which the kids really enjoyedTake US$ for Zambia and Botswana and SA Rand for Namibia and S.A.. There were cash machines every few days but it was more difficult finding banks open and with few queues. Shopping stops can be quite quick so taking £ to change was not ideal.
  • Reviewed August 2012
    Anonymous

    ANDES TO AMAZON

    Awesome.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The jungle.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Knowledgeable, imformative and helpful.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Do this trip.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I loved every bit of it but it's too short.
  • Reviewed August 2012
    Anonymous

    CLASSIC COLS OF THE TOUR DE FRANCE

    very well run and delivered tour, minimum of fuss, everything worked well, hotels were good and suitable, guide was excellent!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    of course, going over the Col de Tourmalet, the noble pursuit of cyclists worldwide.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Alan was excellent, well organised, friendly, always appeared on the side of the road when you needed water, food, or encouragement. He managed to keep track of 16 riders, doing different routes and of different abilities. He is a great asset to your operations.  

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be prepared for ANY weather. we had several days of high 30's, and humid. I wasn't expected that at that time of year. Mother Nature is in control...people need to be ready to obey.
  • Reviewed August 2012
    Anonymous

    CUBAN HIGHLIGHTS RIDE

    We hadn't been on this kind of holiday before and it far exceeded our expectations.  Although only 8 days from start to finish, and including cycling on most days, we also had time for sightseeing and visiting historic places of interest.  Our guide was incredibly knowledgeable about all things Cuban (history, social aspects, birdlife, flora and fauna.....) and entertained us all with his knowledge during the coach transfers from place to place.  Transferring by coach allowed us to see different parts of Cuba in just a few days.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Not just one moment, but seeing real Cuban life as we cycled along was fascinating.  Trips to a salsa club in Trinidad were fun too, great music and Mojitos.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Freddie was the icing on the cake.  Have already said how knowledgeable he was, also nothing was ever too much trouble - we asked him endless questions  but he was always happy to share what he knew about his country, often offering fascinating personal insights.  He also had a great sense of humour!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take padded cycling shorts and maybe a gel saddle cover.  We used over a bottle of DEET too (in August) but didn't get bitten.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Just do it!  It may seem a long way for 8 days, but it was so worth it. 
  • Reviewed August 2012
    Anonymous

    CYCLE INDOCHINA & ANGKOR

    Nice but not more

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Angkor is the top of the trip, visit of King palace in Phnom Penh the worse (have to run...).And around that, few details interesting (visit of workshop for example) but nothing amazing (landscape quite flat, no elephant...)

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Do the job but in emergency case, could be better. However pleasant and smiling behaviour.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    As we've been lucky with the rain, hope the same for you! We were in restaurant during a storm and it's scared...Take care of "friendly" citizen, it's always to have money. Never follow anyone without check his identity with the group leader for example. I've "lost" 2000$ with that mistake!Deal the price of Tuk Tuk ride at first, don't wait the arrival.From Saigon, two differents airports : one for international flights and another for domestic flights (for example if you have a transfer via Hanoi).

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Visit Bangkok city
  • Reviewed August 2012
    Anonymous

    WALKING IN BOSNIA & HERZEGOVINA

    Varied walks through unspoiled countryside contrasted superbly with the visits to Sarajevo, Mostar and Dubrovnik - a magical mix. 

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    A balmy evening spent in a restaurant terrace overlooking Mostar bridge eating exquisite seafood.A swim in a beautiful lake after a tough nine hour hike.A walk around Dubrovnik's city walls in the early morning before the crowds arrive.  

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Samer is an inspirational and informative guide with an encyclopaedic knowledge of Bosnia having lived through the recent troubles as a young boy. His optimism for the future and his love of the country is infectious. He is the perfect guide, offering encouragment when the climb seems a bit steep and ensuring all clients stay within their comfor zones.  

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    August can be (and was for us) very hot - take a good sunhat and plenty of sunscreen and drink lots of water.Enjoy the beers at the end of the day.Be prepared for some quite long minibus transfers between locations. 

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I visited beautiful Montenegro in February and intend to explore this whole region much more in the next couple of years.
  • Reviewed August 2012
    Anonymous

    LYCIAN ACTIVITY WEEK

    This trip provided me with everything I wished for... adventure, challenge, awesome views and excitement, plus interesting conversations, lovely food and expert leaders.  It was packed with stimulating activities combined with the daily chance of relaxation by the pool ... culminating in the optimum balance between the two.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Loved canyoning... it was amazing.  Standing on the edge of rocks, looking down in total trepidation, I was spurred on by the encouragement of the group and my own desire to beat my fears.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    There is no doubt whatsoever that Geoff is a legend... highly skilled and totally inspirational, witty, positive and up beat.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Yep, remember your cycling gloves...I didn't but felt they would have been comfortable on the descents...as my hands gripped the breaks, but more importantly, book this trip.  you will not be dissapointed.   Oh yeah, and if you like dancing, there are plenty of opportunities every evening at Red Point!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    If I could be transported back there now, I would!
  • Reviewed August 2012
    Anonymous

    THE AMALFI COAST

    This holiday was fun. The views were magnificent and our group was friendly and sociable, as was our leader.  The hotel was fine.  I think that 'easy to moderate' sums up the level of fitness required very well.  

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    There were many high points but the views have to count among the most memorable parts of the holiday.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our leader was excellent; both friendly and approachable.  Nothing was too much trouble.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Bear in mind that August on the Amalfi coast is very, very hot and that the walking is therefore quite draining.  You will need lots and lots of water and lots and lots of suncream and a very good hat.... 

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Ravello, in my opinion, should be included in the itinerary as it's too good to miss.   Everyone I have spoken to rates Herculaneum above Pompeii so I think it would be worth going to the former instead, there isn't time to do it all...There are lots of 'little extras' so take plenty of money.  The buses in August are packed, which is an understatement, so if you want to arrange private transport into, say, Amalfi, it'll cost you dear.   
Call us on (0211) 99 49 02