Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed September 2017
    Ian Lochhead

    Walking in Tuscany

    An absolutely fantastic week staying in a lovely Tuscan farmhouse with delicious home-cooked food. The walks were all very different but each was superb in it's own way with breathtaking scenery. The local family who run the accommodation were all extremely friendly and welcoming people. Our guide Sara Bull was exceptional(see below) and we were lucky to experience almost an entire week of lovely warm/hot sunshine. Our group bonded straight away and this contributed greatly to the enjoyment of the holiday. The dog Elvis who accompanies the group on every walk is the fittest, friendliest & most loveable dog I've met.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The entire trip was inspirational in view of the stunning scenery of the Garfagnana region however the highlight would probably be summiting one of the highest peaks in the region, Monte Sumbra, on a beautiful warm day with perfect visibility. The views from the top were simply breathtaking.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Where to begin when describing Sara Bull! I first did this trip 9 years ago and Sara was also the guide then and was outstanding-nothing has changed in that time. Sara is everything you would want in a guide-friendly, sociable, vastly experienced & knowledgeable, organised, attentive and basically great fun to be with. She contributed massively to my enjoyment of the holiday. Sara quite obviously loves her job and goes the extra few miles to make sure every person has the best possible week's holiday.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be prepared for all weather conditions. Although we were lucky to experience brilliant weather most of the week the weather can change very quickly in the region-rain jackets and sunscreen required! Also-make sure you're fitness is at a good level. The main advice would be if you are thinking about booking this holiday then definitely do it-you will not regret it!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    This was my 10th trip with Exodus and I can't recommend this company highly enough. It is great to head off on a holiday like this knowing that everything is being taken care of for you allowing you to relax and enjoy the trip. Our group consisted of 3 couples and 5 solo travellers(including myself) however everyone got on very well together right from the start and there were many laughs along the way.
  • Reviewed September 2017
    Susan Bowman

    Highlights of Poland

    Having visiting Krakow a few years ago, we chose this trip to explore more of Poland. The itinerary is busy with some long travel days, but all run efficiently. We visited museums, Old Towns, Palaces, a Salt Mine and Auschwitz, learned about Poland's history, sampled local cuisine and mingled among Polish tourists in the resort town of Zakopane while enjoying the views of the Tatra Mountains. We enjoyed our free time in Krakow to explore the Old Town. The location of the hotels in Gdansk, Wroclaw and Krakow is far from each city's Old Town(20-35 min walk). As this was a new itinerary for 2017, hopefully, the Exodus Team will reevaluate the hotel locations and choose hotels closer to each city's Old Town. Although dinners were not included, our guide recommended restaurants each night, reserved table for group and joined us for dinner. Some chose to eat elsewhere but we enjoyed each of these restaurants, usually just having a starter for dinner as lunches were big. We had a chance to try a lot of different foods even just eating starters or soups. We appreciated having Jerzy joined us for dinners. Often on tours, guide doesn't join group for dinner if it isn't an 'included' dinner. Overall an efficient tour around Poland.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    After 5 busy days of exploration, history and culture, wandering through the busy pedestrian streets and outdoor market of Zakopane was delightful. The Polish resort town in the mountains was buzzing as many locals were still enjoying beautiful weekend weather. A funicular took us up a mountain for views across the valley to the Tatra Mountains where we tried the Highlander's tea and enjoyed the company of our friends who traveled with us and Jerzy.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Jerzy was an excellent guide. He was well organized and kept us informed of activities and schedule each day. He shared his knowledge of Poland's history and culture throughout including personal stories. Each evening he had booked a table at a local restaurant for group(although dinners were not included) and joined us. We appreciated him joining for dinners as often guides don't if dinners aren't included in tour. He always recommended regional dishes to try at each restaurant. His extensive travel allowed him to relate well with guest from different countries(our group was from UK, USA and Australia).

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Arrive a day or two early to explore Warsaw and adjust to time zone so you can fully enjoy the group tour from the beginning as it is busy with long days.
  • Reviewed September 2017
    Ana Redondo

    A holiday I will remember for years to come

    This was my first trip with Exodus and I have to admit my experience during the booking wasn’t the best to start with. It was rather slow and inefficient, but I have sent Exodus some comments on this and I am sure they will take them on board. Also I spoke to other members of the group that have done many trips with Exodus and they have not experienced any problems, so I am inclined to think this was just a one off. But that’s all the ‘bad over’ and truly the only niggling point. Other than that, I can honestly say it was one of the best holidays I have ever had. I’ll try and break my feedback down but I’ll start with the guide in case you get tired of reading: 1. The guide - before I went I was surprised and bit intrigued by how many people mentioned this lady called ‘Sara’ and how lovely she was. I don’t think any of us can make justice in writing to who she really is. She is a phenomenal professional, a bundle of enthusiasm and energy and a tremendous human being. One of the most inspiring people I have ever met. And her dog ‘Elvis’ is a legend you have to meet! With all my respect to Exodus and whatever they do in the office, 90% of your trip experience is the guide. They have the ability to make or break a trip and I can only say, this lady made for all of us a memorable trip that I am sure we will remember for years to come. 2. Experience required - being new to this, I wasn’t sure if the information was exaggerated in terms of fitness or not. Reading back, I think it was spot on, so read carefully the description. Yes there are some climbs that get you a bit out of breath, but all in all it is a manageable pace and Sara was awesome at managing the pace and breaks. Also pay attention to the equipment you need, it was also spot on. For example don’t think trainers and jeans will do, because they will not. 3. Accommodation - not flashy or luxurious in the traditional sense, but really warm, cosy, welcoming. In all honestly, I wouldn’t change a thing. To me this place “is” luxury, not fancy hotels with useless toiletries but that’s personal opinion. The family is lovely, the setting is incredible and I’d rather stay here than anywhere else. The food was great and plentiful. So, perfect really. 4. The area and walking – a hidden gem of incredible beauty. Some of the views really take your breath away. Still not very developed in terms of tourism which makes it truly special. On the day off most of us went to Lucca and it really is worth a visit. The trip in general has a really good balance between seeing small villages/cities and different walks. All in all, if you have any doubts about this trip, book it. Go and I seriously doubt you’ll regret it. Sorry for the lengthy of the review, but hopefully it will help.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    I am sorry but there were so many I couldn't chose a single one.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Not enough words to describe Sara, read the summary.
  • Reviewed September 2017
    Patricia G

    Stok Kangri and Hiking in Himalayas

    A physically demanding trip with a chance to appreciate the culture and landscapes of a remote part of India.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    I really enjoyed the visit to the monastery at Thyxie- we were there at prayer time and got to experience the singing and music- drums, bugles and conch shells very close up. Close enough to see the monks chatting and messing at the back! I was lucky enough to get to the top of Stok Kangri so that was good too.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Ngima is super fit, and a bit of a talker but he does have the necessary mountain experience to lead the trip.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    It is high altitude desert and is incredibly dusty, particularly in Leh and in some of the higher camps. This is bad for the sinuses and most people in our group were suffering from sinus problems- three or four were doing steam inhalations in the mess tent at night, and using various nasal treatments bought in Leh. The locals all cover their mouth and nose with a mask or buff. You should do the same and bring any treatments that you use at home. Some of the days were harder than the trip notes would suggest- the notes allow you to calculate the starting and finishing altitude but there can be big height gains and losses in between. These add to the difficulty of the day and are not obvious from the trip notes and can only be estimated if you also have the map of the area with the contours. On an altitude trip people are always talking about certain medications but paracetamol, ibuprofen and something effective for sickness were more useful for our group. The route does allow for acclimatization, but I was still nauseated quite a few times and was eating less than usual. I liked that we were doing the Lake Louise scoring for AMS- I think travelers should be familiar with this before departure- it takes the mystery out of AMS

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    A trip with a summit can be a pressurized, it's important to be fit in advance but not "over trained" so that you are not too tired or sick and have the energy to hike. We flew out early and stayed an extra day after the group and this allowed a bit more time to explore Delhi and have a day trip to Agra. I think this was a good idea so that the trip isn't all about summit day. If you do that you can sort of have three holidays Delhi/Agra, Buddhist Ladakh and Trekking. The Delhi metro is very crowded and busy so may not be the best way to travel with your luggage. There are variable rules about luggage on internal flights in India- there was a new rule that power packs had to be in hand luggage.
  • Reviewed September 2017
    Oxana L

    One of the most beautiful places I have seen

    Challenging but very rewarding trip. Triglav National Park is a truly a hidden gem in Europe with incredibly beautiful landscapes which justify all the effort required to see them. The itinerary is well thought and level of effort builds up gradually, there are a few steady climbs, several exposed sections, some scramble and some more challenging descents, but don't be put off, if you are reasonably fit, you will absolute make it and the guides make sure that everyone is safe and enjoying themselves. The Triglav ascent itself is optional and more technical rather than physically challenging and requires good head for heights. Mountain huts are simple but that makes the experience even more fun and unforgettable.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    1. The day preceding Triglav ascent - you start in the forest, pass some incredibly beautiful lakes and end up in a moonscape with an amazing sunset to finish your day and get ready for Triglav 2. The Triglav day itself - beautiful views along the way + the ascent itself is quite technical and leaves incredible sense of achievement

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Katja and David were simply excellent - very attentive to the needs of everyone in the group and very fun as well.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    The trip effectively consists of two parts - one day hike on Sunday returning back to the original hotel and the following 5 days in the mountains - so dont be afraid to take extra stuff, you can leave it all behind before the main part starts Food will be lots of carbs - toasts for breakfast, pasta / polenta + protein for dinner and several sandwiches for lunch Poles marked as optional but they will be quite helpful - there a few more challenging descents, eg scree Take wet wipes - there will be no showers from Tue to Fri afternoon and one of the huts has very little water, just to brush your teeth really

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Go, you will not regret it
  • Reviewed September 2017
    Phil McLean

    High Peaks of Bulgaria, August 2017

    This was my first group walking holiday and I am pleased to say it exceeded my expectations. The itinerary for the trip is excellent, including a couple of peaks I knew I wanted to visit (Vihren and Musala) and several other walks I would probably not have stumbled across and which were all really enjoyable. The walk up Malyovitsa was a particular highlight, and the preceding day crossing the Rila mountains was also stunning. Overall there was a nice variety of scenery and types of walking (forests, lakes, valleys, ridges, plateaux) and a nice 'flow' to the week's itinerary as we moved from one area to the next. I enjoyed not having to think about logistics and simply enjoy the walking and the company of the group. The hotels were all very pleasant and we were very lucky with some superb weather too!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    It's hard to pick one single highlight but the views from the summits of Vihren and Malyovitsa were superb.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Vladimir was a truly excellent guide - unwaveringly enthusiastic, sociable, and knowledgeable!
  • Reviewed September 2017
    Gina Kramer

    Already Planning my Return with Exodus

    Have you ever connected so deeply with a country, you couldn't put it into words? That's how I felt about Bosnia and Herzegovina. As an avid traveler, it's one of the few places with which I felt a bond this strong. Perhaps that's due to the nature of this tour -- you get a taste of various cities across the country, experiencing different energies and landscapes along the way. The one thing that remained consistent was the beautiful people and invigorating culture. Of course, the focus of this trip is the outdoors. I was happy to see the level of difficulty exceeded my expectations; it was more hiking and climbing (and even included a surprise via ferrata route!) than scenic "strolling" which is what I had envisioned -- still, it's fit for those who only hike occasionally. Overall, the trip was a nice balance of active/offbeat adventure (the majority) and opportunities to soak up the culture.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    During our time in Sarajevo, before our trek to Lukomir, we hiked to that top of a mountain that played a role in the Bosnian War. Our guides were both children at the time of the war, and shared their stories with us -- not negatively, but in an inspiring, positive tone. It was something we needed to hear, from a locals' perspective, to fully grasp the past and understand the present... how it all started, what life was like during the time, how it ended and how far they've overcome and continue to grow from it. It was a powerful, emotional and beautiful moment.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our group leader, Eldar, was a perfect leader. He established an open foundation for communication early on, which was a nice ice breaker for the group. He's fun, humorous, caring and accommodating ... the list goes on. His assistant, Nedim, also contributed to our group's incredible experience -- they're personalities meshed really well together; by the end of the trip, we all felt like family.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Bring sleeping pills to knock you out the first few days -- the beginning of the trip is the most active/exhausting. You'd think all the hiking/climbing would wear you out, but a few of us actually found it to raise our adrenaline and keep us up at night!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Exodus is amazing. Bosnia and Herzegovina is breathtaking. And I can't wait to do both again. :)
  • Reviewed September 2017
    Jim Clarke

    Amalfi Experience

    A super trip to experience many different features of the Amalfi coast ranging from its mountain villages and history down to its fashionable resorts - a real contrast.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The 'Walk of the Gods' gave a real taste of rural life in remote communities coupled with absolutely stunning views of the coast from on high making the clash with the hustle and tourist Mecca of Positano all the greater. The scheduled visit to Herculaneum and Vesuvius made the trip to Pompeii on the free day all the more relevant and well worth doing.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Severio was charm itself, helpful and concerned for all, he took real care of the group and was an excellent guide.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be aware that in August whilst Italy can be very hot, with sensible precautions it is perfectly manageable. The village of Bomerano has basic shopping facilities along with some nice restaurants and cafes in the square but allow for the fact that the afternoon siesta is rigorously adhered to as far as the shops are concerned. On the day of departure you will not leave until 4.00pm so plan to do something with the time available; a leisurely coffee/lunch is well and good but allow time to walk up to the forest viewing platform overlooking the coast, it is signposted from the main car park in the village and involves a 1 km walk but absolutely worth it and a circular walk on minor roads will bring you back into the village by the hotel.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Enjoy!
  • Reviewed September 2017
    Debra Dance

    Magical From Start To Finish

    Every day on this trip was like a dream come true. Over the two weeks we saw over 100 different wildlife species.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    One of my highlights was watching a herd of female elephants and their calves run towards a watering hole to join the males who were already there. The 30 or so elephants drank, bathed and sprayed themselves with water with obvious joy. Seeing this close up felt like a real privilege. But every single day brought new delights, from seeing a white rhino and her two daughters during a walking safari and enjoying the polers' harmonious singing around the campfire to seeing a wide range of gloriously coloured birds, San rock art and rich sunsets.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our tour leaders, Mira and Marco, were outstanding, enthusiastically sharing their knowledge with us about both countries and their wildlife. They were unfailingly hard-working and well-organised, as well as being great cooks, conjuring up a variety of delicious meals on basic equipment. Their love of their jobs constantly shone through. The guides in the national parks were equally passionate about their subjects and always committed to giving us the best experience. I suggest that you take more money with you for tipping than is suggested in the trip notes, as you will almost certainly want to reward the outstanding service that you receive throughout your trip.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Of the optional activities on offer, I recommend the flight over the Delta (120 US $) to get a sense of the Delta's vastness. And in Victoria Falls I wholeheartedly recommend the lion cub interaction (75 US $). This chance to stroke and walk with lion cubs is part of a conservation project and an incredibly special experience. I felt totally safe throughout the experience and given that the 'cubs' were 22 months old, that's really saying something! The Zambezi dinner cruise (78 US $) is also definitely worth doing: a delicious five course meal, watching an elephant on the bank and hippos in the river, bathed in the warm, golden light of the setting sun. It really did feel as if life could not get any better.

    Reply from Exodus

    Reply from Exodus

    We would like to thank Debra for her review, and we are delighted to hear that she had a wonderful trip. We really appreciate direct recommendations from our clients for specific optional activities, however, we would discourage people from taking part in the lion cub activity in Victoria Falls. Animal welfare is an important part of the Exodus Responsible Travel policy; and there are a lot of unanswered questions about this activity (and other similar activities in Zimbabwe) and about the extent of how ethical they are. We would therefore advise against people taking part in this particular activity or if they choose to, consider the potential issues surrounding these activities.

     

    Tom Harari – Product Manager for Botswana and Zimbabwe

  • Reviewed September 2017
    Peter Rogers

    Fantastic Inca Trail

    This is a fantastic trip, it was well organised from start to finish, some of us were a day late arriving in Cuzco due a disruptive passenger having to be taking off the flight in an unscheduled stop, but the staff in London were really good at rearranging flights and keeping up to date with what was going on by email. Julio, the guide, was on hand at the hotel when we arrived to give us a tour of Cuzco in his own time, as we missed it the previous day. what made this trip really special was the other people on the trip, they were very friendly, and gave me lots of encouragement when walking up dead woman's pass, I found the walks very hard, but with help and lot of encouragement from Julio i made it.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    All the trip was inspirational, the views were great, especial walking the cloud forest. but the highlight was arriving at the sun gate to over look Machu Picchu in the brilliant sunshine.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Julio was a great leader, this was my 7th trip with exodus, and all my guides have been good, but Julio was a cut above the rest, he was friendly, easy going and nothing was to much trouble for him, and I don't think I would of finished the trek without his help and encouragement. His knowledge of the Incas and the Inca trail was excellent, I would also like to thank him for the football match that was played between the trekkers and staff, that was played at 3900m, it was great entertainment and every body enjoyed it. I would also like to thanks Rosa, the assistant guide, as I was slower than the rest of the group, i was normally at the back, it was nice to have Rosa to keep me company.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Go for it !!! its a great week, but be prepared, I found it very hard with the heat and the altitude, but saying that I really enjoyed the trip

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I would like to say a big thank you to the porters and the chief, The porters did a great job carrying all the equipment, they were always cheerful and very friendly, without all their hard work this trip would not be possible, I would also like to thank the chief and assistant chief for the fantastic food the produced with such basic cooking equipment.
Call us on (0211) 99 49 02