Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed September 2017
    Sandra Calfe

    An excellent way to see Albania

    My husband and I have recently returned from cycling in Albania. What a fantastic adventure it was. Prior to going on this trip our bikes came out of the shed about once a year and since we are not in the flush of youth we had to go out cycling every weekend for the previous 5 months to make sure we were fit enough and boy were we glad we did. It was a challenging trip but we loved every minute of it. The scenery is fantastic, we could not fault the food and the hotels were a lot better than we anticipated and even quite luxurious at times. Armand is an excellent guide with plenty of local knowledge. He offered to run a kitty for meals and drinks and ordered a variety of food at every meal which made meal times so easy and enjoyable. It is a fast paced trip and we had to be up early every day for breakfast and be ready to leave by 8.30 every morning but we were glad of this because at least it was cooler when we set off and we always had a nice stop for coffee to look forward to after a couple of hours. It is a great way to see Albania and it was great to start inland and then move to the coast offering different scenery and a chance to have a swim in the sea. We enjoyed the cultural stops and the chance to learn about the history of Albania. The minibus driver was always there with extra water, bananas and snacks when you needed them and greeted us with a smile at the top of every climb. I would strongly recommend this trip to anyone but to enjoy it make sure you do plenty of hill training. We hired the bikes offered by Exodus and these were of good quality although we took our own saddles. We used the pedals on the bikes ie. no clip ons and managed it okay so if you fancy it go for it - you won't regret it.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Getting through the first day without hopping on the bus and actually thinking I might be able to actually cycle the whole route - I had been panicking before we went that maybe we had overstretched ourselves. it was harder than I imagined but we had trained enough and so were able to do it. A great feeling!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Armand was a good leader. He made sure we always knew what time we had to be ready, where we were going and when the next stop was. He ordered all our food for us and made excellent choices at every meal. We have never enjoyed food so much on holiday before.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Make sure you are fit enough to cycle up hills and for consecutive days. Take energy drinks and snacks as you definitely need these as well as the Zero sports drink tablets to stop you getting dehydrated. We didn't have these and had to beg, steal or borrow some from the rest of our group.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Don't hesitate - just go ahead and book this. It's a fantastic trip. Not sure how we are going to top it next year!
  • Reviewed September 2017
    Marjorie Barnes

    Stunning Location

    A wonderful week walking in the surrounding area of Achenkirck. Thanks to both leaders, Bob and Lea, who were super. Our hotel was great with good food, lovely helpful staff and a very nice room with a balcony.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Standing at the top of the Steiner's Tor and drinking in the views. For a second memory sitting in the restaurant at the top of the Olympic ski jump venue having a great cake and a glass of wine on our free day in Innsbruck.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Both leaders were great. I did mainly level 3 walks and Bob Mason was superb. He made the walk so interesting with his extensive knowledge of local fauna and flora. Lea, level 5 guide, was delightful.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Just go!
  • Reviewed September 2017
    Rebecca Wilson

    Bestselling holiday for a reason

    This was my first time to go on a holiday with Exodus and it lived up to all my hopes. This is a very popular destination so we were divided into groups within the overall group, each with our own leader. Severio was excellent - informative, confident, knowledgeable about the area and thoughtful about making sure the walks catered for everyone's varying levels of fitness and ability. He also gave good advice on things to do with our free day. Our group gelled very well, and we were lucky with the weather as we arrived just after the heatwave but avoided too much in the way of torrential downpours, apart from one day - and the itinerary was adapted so we still got to do the 'Walk of the Gods' - it felt fitting to leave this lovely, scenic walk til the last day. Equally impressive for the views was the 'Tre Calli' but all the walks were lovely in their own way. They weren't too challenging in terms of distance, but definitely tough on the legs in terms of the steep ascents and descents and the many steps - those with dodgy knees, take heed and take sticks! The family-run hotel Due Torri was lovely - great hearty dinners each day, cooking demos and the chance to get involved and get to know the staff, and a good selection of breakfast choice though they could probably do with a slightly more efficient coffee machine! I have many happy memories of this trip.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    A draw between getting to the top of the Tre Calli and having our picnic there with stunning views, and walking down into Positano together on the last day as a group, tired but happy.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Severio as mentioned above was excellent.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take sticks and be warned about the steep ascents and descents.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The trip to Pompeii and Vesuvio with the local guides was excellent too.
  • Reviewed September 2017
    Susan Keane

    Wonderful Albania

    Hi I've travelled a lot but must say this was one of the best places I've been. Wonderful scenery every day. Learnt a lot about its history. Great hotels and food. I spent £200 in 10 days. Thanks to our guide Claudio and our driver Astrid. You looked after us every day. Sue

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The scenery.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Very knowledgeable.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Don't take too much luggage.
  • Reviewed September 2017
    Sue Robertson

    An exciting chance to test your climbing and scrambling skills

    Having briefly tried Via Ferrata in 2016, I was keen to have a more prolonged and serious go at them. This trip was a great opportunity to do this with the difficulty increasing throughout the week. The last day was just beyond my comfort zone at times, but I felt totally safe with help from a top rope from the guides and it was very satisfying to do such a demanding route. A great experience and lots of photos to impress my family and friends!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    managing the last but one route reasonably easily.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Guides were both excellent.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Try to be as fit as possible. You really do need that upper body strength!
  • Reviewed September 2017
    Dorothy Jackson

    Walking in the Austrian Tyrol

    My first trip to Austria more than reached my expectations . I have undertaken several treks, including Everest Base Camp, the Annapurna Circuit, Kilimanjaro and more recently, the Inca Trail. Whilst the altitude was lower, the level 5 walks were challenging and set at a pretty fast pace which definitely gave me a sense of accomplishment by the end of the day! I decided to opt for the level 3 walk on a day when the weather was more inclement and though gentler and lower, it was very enjoyable and still required stamina and a good fitness level. Our Guides, Bob and Lea, were excellent, and it was good to have the option to choose whichever grade you felt like doing each day. The hotel was very good, a spacious room and small balcony, comfortable bed and plenty of hot water to soak tired limbs at the end of the day, plus a sauna down the corridor. The food was tasty and plentiful and the bargain of the week was a packed lunch for 10 euros (for the week!) ! The staff were friendly and very efficient. The hotel is located on the northern shore of Lake Achen, near to the boat landing, so very convenient. The lakeside walk was delightful and a good option on a day when the clouds and rain came down. A good transport system - bus/boat/train - made it possible to visit Innsbruck on the free day and this was a very enjoyable excursion.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    After some strenuous climbs and long descents the fantastic views and beautiful scenery made it all worthwhile, particularly the day we were almost knee-deep in snow on the summit - magical.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Bob and Lea were both excellent. Lea led the Level 5 and Bob the Level 3. The evening briefings outlined the next day's walks and any questions we had could then be answered and helped us decide which level to go for.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    A reasonable level of fitness and stamina for some quite long days but no technical expertise really necessary. I would definitely recommend using walking poles, especially for the long descents. There is a well-stocked Spar shop about 15 mins from hotel.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I would thoroughly recommend this trip.
  • Reviewed September 2017
    Sarah Conlon

    Beautiful walking

    Great trip. Opportunity for two walks each day. I only did level 5 which were varied heights and terrain. Awesome views. Guide changed itinerary when we were hit with early snow. Beautiful views each day. Four seasons in one week!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    360 degree views of Dolomites and then whiteout on one of the days

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Ingrid was very fit, friendly and kind. She was very knowledgable and made the walk to suit. We were a small group of level 5 and were not fit enough for level 5 walks so she adjusted and made the walks challenging with level 5 sections so perfect. She waited patiently and we never felt rushed. Albert I didn't walk with but had the pleasure of a few beers and dinner at end of day. Great man, very experienced and funny to boot!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    We had four seasons in one week. I should have packed better so more emphasis on trip notes of the variation in weather. I expected variation but not from 33 degrees to 0 and snow. Some members of the group underestimated the physical fitness needed and so I think the required level of fitness needs to be higher on the notes so good level for level 3 and above average/very good for level 5. Two members of the group lost bags and only did one walk so maybe suggest packing outfit etc in hand luggage??

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Great trip, great leaders, completely knackered! Hotel is fab. Drinks great quality and generous quantity. Service from all staff was amazing! Don't change the hotel!!
  • Reviewed September 2017
    Claire Swarbrick

    Tour Du Mont Blanc Week

    Great people and beautiful scenery on a challenging but very enjoyable trip. Shame about the poor Exodus admin prior to the trip and the failure of any Exodus representative to meet us upon arrival at the airport (as promised).

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Just being in the mountains with such magnificent views.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    There were 11 in the group and only 1 leader. At times the leader seemed oblivious to the fact that some members of the group had fallen so far behind that they could no longer be seen.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Pack light!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    It was a wonderful trip but I was quite disappointed in the service provided by Exodus as I had heard many good things about the company and this was my first time on an Exodus adventure. One of the ladies on the trip arrived at the airport to find that she hadn't been booked on to her flight and had to make last minute arrangements herself. This has put me off travelling with Exodus again
  • Reviewed September 2017
    Sandra Strange

    Fantastic hiking against stunning backdrop of limestone.

    This was a week of walking to celebrate my return to health after cancer treatment. It was a positive experience on every level. Both the landscape and the company were special. The hikes were challenging (I chose the 5), and all members of our group especially our leader Albert were supportive and encouraging.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    It would have to be lunch outside the RIf Alberto, surreal rock formations and a very memorable chat with John.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Albert was terrific. He has such a relaxed and pleasant nature, perfect for the job. I would love to go on another trip of his.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Prepare for all types of weather but mostly, prepare yourself to be blown away by the Dolomites as they are a wonder.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I am already looking into my next trip with Exodus !
  • Reviewed September 2017
    Richard Binstead

    A Good Challenge for Those Needing a Quick Mountain Fix

    This is quite a tough trip for the reason that you get straight in to it, after a walk up to the mountain refuge on day 1 you are up early to attempt the summit, so definitely worth making sure you have done some training beforehand. Overall Its a good experience with lots of glacier traversing and some rock climbing to reach the top so not a straight-forward trek.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The views from Gran Paradiso are beautiful, looking out across to Mont Blanc at sunrise!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Bernard was amazing, his experience in the mountains is vast so you have no doubt in his abilities, and he was great at keeping us motivated all the way to the top.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Pack light as you will be carrying everything up to the top and be prepared for a crowded summit, which can be unnerving as the summit is very small.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    We had bad weather on day one so could not go to the top, however on day two we got to have another attempt and made it, so this is not a one chance trip there are options if circumstances go against you.
Call us on (0211) 99 49 02