Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Word - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a personalised review link. Click the link and post your review. Simple. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed July 2017
    francis mcconnell
    Just finished a brilliant week in Achenkirch at the Fischerwirt Hotel, Grade 3 walks all the way with our Guide Bob Mason, Bob never ceased to amaze us everyday with his extensive knowledge of all things Austrian and especially the Tirol flora, fauna, wildlife and his speciality subject of the best cake. Cake miraculously appeared where it had no right to exist and each cake stop was surpassed by the next, the walking was on a par with the cake on every level, thanks again Bob from Francie, Tracey and Carmel.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Day 4 at the Pasilalm route was remote and wild with most astounding views at every turn, longest walk but so worth the effort, voted for by the three of us.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Arnold used to be Mr Austria before he moved to America, Bob has now taken his title.
  • Reviewed July 2017
    Mike Staunton
    This as a comprehensive tour of a large area of Peru and so there is a good range of sights and landscapes visited. As stated in the trip notes there are some long travel days which really show how large the country is. However the coach was comfortable, stops were built in to help break the journey and there was plenty to look at.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Probably when the mist finally lifted at Machu Picchu to reveal the ruins in their incredible location.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    'Ollie' was a great leader, enthusiastic, organised and had a very good sense of humour.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be aware that there are long travel days; we were happy with them but be prepared! Also we found all restaurants in Ages Callientes (Machu Picchu town) charged an unadvertised 20% service charge.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The itinerary helps you to gradually increase altitude and so the effects are not usually felt too badly.
  • Reviewed July 2017
    Colleen McDavid
    If you enjoy cycling and want to see an Asian country not yet jaded by tourism this is the trip for you!! I have never done a cycling trip and wasn't sure what to expect. This trip was very well organized, with a fantastic support team. When I punctured a hole in my tire, my first thought is that I would never catch up to the rest of the group...however Joe, our bike mechanic had the wheel off and replaced with another in less than 10 minutes!!! The scenery, the Burmese people, and this itinerary make it an exceptional experience.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Biking through the city of Mandalay.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Top notch!! He kept us safe, informed, and very entertained.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Although it is rated as a 3 in terms of difficulty, do yourself a favour and go cycling on a route that incorporates hill training or attend spin cycling classes. I was not a very experienced cyclist and was very grateful that I had prepared myself in advance. It made the trip enjoyable; I looked forward to each day of cycling. .

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The Burmese food is quite tasty and not yet influenced much by western cuisine. You should be able to find something you enjoy at every meal, but keep in mind you are not travelling to Burma as a culinary experience. Given their history, they have had limited opportunity to develop culinary expertise. I enjoyed it so much and it went by so fast I would love to do it all over again!!
  • Reviewed July 2017
    Martyn and June Cribb
    This is a great holiday offering two levels of walking with experienced and very able leaders. Great environments to explore. Good food and a great hotel.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The trip is multi-faceted with some very good walking and also the opportunity to explore the natural and village environments of the beautiful Tyrol. Hard to pick a single moment that was inspirational as there were many such occasions.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    The holiday benefits from very able and extremely experienced leaders. Caring, thoughtful, knowledgeable and helpful - what more could you ask for? They provided accurate and very useful information that enabled the group to decide at which level to walk. They had a good knowledge of the local flora and fauna. They worked well as a pair of leaders.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be prepared to switch between levels to get what you want from the holiday. The travel card which is part of the holiday provides really outstanding opportunities to use bus, rail and boat to access many areas of the valley. This provides excellent value for money especially on the "day-off". The leaders provided super advice on where to go and a comprehensive file of documents to consider when choosing where to go.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The hotel is great and the rooms well appointed. Meal were very good and the arrangement to prepare your own lunch from the breakfast table provided outstanding vale for money. The staff at the hotel were very caring and helpful. Their knowledge of English far better than our German. Great beer and the wine is good.
  • Reviewed July 2017
    Tim Douglas
    A great week touring and trekking the main volcanoes on Vulcano,Stromboli and Etna.The week was really well organised from start to finish and all our family including our daughters of 18 and 21 enjoyed it tremendously. Our group of fellow travellers were diverse and great fun and this made the trip even better. We packed so much in to the week we did not have time to worry about tired legs. Exodus have put together a great trip here.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Seeing Stromboli volcano erupt and glow against the beautiful evening sky then trek back to a restaurant and carry on watching it was amazing. Also seeing the crater of Vulcano and to the top of Etna was brilliant too.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our leader and guide Nicoletta made sure our week was perfect.She attended to all the groups needs and there was nothing that was too much for her.She organised us so well and made all our travelling,transfers straight forward.She was clearly very knowledgable about the volcanoes and area and communicated this effectively to us.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    A great trip.I would really encourage anyone thinking of doing it to do it and get it booked.You will not regret it.The temperatures were high when we went in mid July but that is to be expected.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    A real thanks to our group of travellers (non of whom knew each other before hand) as we have made some great friends on it.Also thanks to Nicolleta our great guide.
  • Reviewed July 2017
    Stephen Brown
    This is a very enjoyable trip, offering a real challenge, but providing fantastic rewards. The accommodation is very good, and the transfer to the hotel from Bergen is very pleasant. The walk to Trolltunga is certainly long, but is worth the effort.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Undoubtedly the moment when it's your turn to walk out onto Trolltunga.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Hilde was excellent, enthusiastic and supportive. She provided chocolate and drinks and just the right moments.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    The trek to Trolltunga is a very popular walk, and there is only one route up. So, you will be walking up with a lot of other people going the same way. This also means that, if you want the iconic photograph on the Trolltunga, you need to be prepared for a very long wait when you arrive for your turn on the Trolltunga, where you can get quite cold. We waited for about an hour and a half on our trip - it is quite lively, with wedding proposals and people doing handstands, but there's no real avoiding it. It's definitely worth it, though! It is an incredible place.
  • Reviewed July 2017
    James Butcher
    An excellent trip that takes in all of the sites and hikes you would want to do in the Val de Fassa. The trip has two types of walking each day - level 3 and 5, the 5s are a good pace and you need to have a fair level of fitness to participate, they also become more technical which makes them very interesting compared to other holidays. You visit the Sasso Lungo group, summit Piz Boe, undertake a ridge walk, hike around the Roda de Vael and the views and scenery is just beautiful from start to finish. The trip has new base at the Hotel Enrosadira in Campitello - the food is absolutely fantastic, as I gather previous travellers had not found the food so good at the last hotel. The hotel staff are very friendly and welcoming. The location is perfect and Campitello has everything you could need.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    On the free day I undertook an optional, additional via ferrata trip over the Roda de Vael which was an excellent addition to the trip and incredible fun.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Albert and Ingrid were very competent, very friendly and very knowledgeable. On our departure, Albert led the level 5 group walks - which is what we did everyday. His hikes got progressively better, took in all the sites you would want to see and gradually built your confidence, going over increasingly more technical ground. He made the whole experience excellent.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    You must buy public transport ticket, which is 68 Euros, so be prepared for this.
  • Reviewed July 2017
    Diana Maynard
    Don't let the fact that you almost certainly know nothing about Albania (and if you do, it's probably wrong) put you off this trip. If you like cycling, embracing the unknown, don't mind a few steep hills, and are prepared to take things as they come, then this is the holiday for you! So many positives about this holiday: fantastic fresh, local food and drink (and outstanding coffee), exploring new cultures, mountains, beaches, and above all a great adventure.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The Llogara Pass was definitely challenging (especially in April, when it got very very cold - though apparently it can be just as challenging in mid-summer when it's very very hot) but making it all the way to the top without walking or getting in the bus (even if at the pace of an injured snail) and the support from everyone else was fantastic. We didn't hang around long enough to enjoy the view at the top as it was so cold, but I'm sure it was lovely (the views on the way up were awesome, in between the rain).

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Literally could not fault Junid - he was super organised, friendly, sociable, and always happy to try to find a solution to any problem.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be prepared! Around Easter, the temperature can vary between factor 50 suncream and 4 layers of clothing in the course of a single day (and at night it can get quite chilly, since some of the hotels had no heating). be prepared for things to not work and roll with it (e.g. power cuts, dodgy showers etc.) If that's not your cup of tea, then you may want to reconsider. The trip isn't hard for the grading, but there are a couple of challenging hills in there, so have a practise on a few first, or hit the gym. Packing a few energy gels will help also. Also, get enough money for your trip at the airport, as there are few opportunities to use a cash machine along the way. On the other hand, there's almost no opportunity to buy anything, so you won't spend much.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    For more info, I wrote a couple of blog posts about the trip: https://expandyourlimits.wordpress.com/category/europe/albania/
  • Reviewed July 2017
    jonathan Dorward
    Great holiday,good choice of walks.Team Leaders very helpful,Good hotel with lovely food.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Mountain Scenery and Lake Achensee.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Excellent,very informative of the area,always happy to help.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    The grade 5 walks could do with a coffee stop ! not just a lunch stop.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    In the brochure it says no packed lunch available,but you can as the Trek leaders told us that the hotel will let you take food at breakfast time for your packed lunch for a small fee ( 10 euro's ) this is for the week.
  • Reviewed July 2017
    Andrew Gray
    Had a lovely time in Amalfi. Hotel staff was wonderful, trip had good balance between adventure, views, walks, cultural interest and food. The group was amazing and the group leader was fantastic. The trip would have not been as fun and cheeky if Severio hadn't been our group leader. Thanks to his knowledge and fun personality we had a great time. we had a great time in Amalfi and would recommend it to all my friends. Thank you as well to all the new friends we made on this trip. All were great fun and we had such a laugh ,,,, we leave it at that .... we wont mention any names ...

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Vesuvius walk was a great moment

    What did you think of your group leader?

    The group leader was excellent - top marks all the way

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    if going in the summer, plenty of water and sun protector. enjoy the food and the views are amazing, take the trip ....
Call us on (0211) 99 49 02