Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed August 2017
    Judy H

    A wonderful Russian Experience

    We enjoyed a wonderful, busy eight days in Russia. The history, and the culture is all so interesting, and the way they have emerged from the Communist era. Everywhere was extremely clean, and we found the people to be friendly. The churches and cathedrals, and the palaces are beyond spectacular. We had an extra day in St Petersburg which enabled us to go to Peterhof gardens and fountains, though not the palace, and to see Swan Lake at the Mariinsky theatre which was another highlight. Doing the trip as a private adventure we were able to eat proper Russian food in some first rate restaurants, never paying over the odds for our meals.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The Kremlin and Armoury museum in Moscow and the Catherine Palace in Pushkin.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Doing this as a private adventure we didn't have a group leader, but we found the local guides we had in Moscow, Novgorod and St Petersburg all very friendly, knowledgable and easy to understand. Maria in Moscow particularly went the extra mile, showing us more than she would normally be able to include, and sorting out our onward transport from Moscow to Novgorod.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    GO! And take insect repellant for Novgorod!
  • Reviewed May 2017
    Ruth Green

    A taste of a fascinating country

    A very busy trip, to see the major highlights of these two important Russian cities, plus Novgorod & Pushkin.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Seeing St Basil's Cathedral for the first time & just being in Red Square where so much history had taken place. The interior of Catherine's Palace in Pushkin - bling overload!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Eugene was well organised and guided the group well. I had the feeling he felt uncomfortable when some of us wanted to do things that were off plan, but he was helpful in guiding us to achieve them. I wasn't happy with some of his choice of restaurants, which tended towards the cafeteria end of the market. We would have liked to know where we were going beforehand, to allow us an alternate choice.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    This is not a trip for those who like 'good' food. I wasn't impressed by the food in the restaurants we went to or in some of the hotels. Much of our food was served lukewarm or cold, which is never appetising. Russian hotel rooms don't have any tea making facilities, so if you like to make a cuppa in your room take a travel kettle. The night on the Russian train ( which departs at 10 pm) is an experience, personally I got very little sleep. The train stopped and jolted quite a lot during the night. We were woken at 5 am, de-trained at 6:30 am, arrived at the hotel for breakfast at 7am & at 9am taken on a tour of Novgorod, returning at 12 to check in. This was all very tiring! Be aware that as on many Exodus trips, you need a lot of stamina!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Unfortunately I suffered from a bad back during the trip and couldn't enjoy the tour as much as I wanted. There was a lot of walking, which I found difficult, and even some of the fitter members of the group thought that the pace was often unrelenting. Due to my health problems I was unable to see The Kremlin in Moscow, The Faberge Museum & The Hermitage in St Petersburg. The walk from the hotel in St Petersburg to The Hermitage was at least 45 mins. I feel this trip should be regraded leisurely/moderate. It is anything but leisurely! A lot is fitted in but maybe an extra day would help make the itinerary not so punishing?!
  • Reviewed May 2017
    Maureen Donelan

    Moscow and St Petersburg

    A well planned and interesting trip taking us to Novgorod and Pushkin as well as Moscow and St Petersburg. An extra day in Moscow would have been welcomed as there was too much to see in too little time.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    No one inspirational moment, but many including all the wonderful churches, the Moscow Kremlin, the Hermitage museum (including the impressionists in a separate gallery) AND our visit to the gardens of Peterhof (Summer Palace) on the hydrofoil.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Young, engaging, organised and informed.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Do some preparatory homework before you go, so what you hear when you are there fits into and expands the narrative you already know.
  • Reviewed March 2017
    Nicola Middleton

    Culture and Kremlins in the Wintertime

    This was an opportunity to experience some of the many faces of Russia, from the austere grandeur of Moscow to the opulence of St Petersburg, as well as the quieter charms of Novgorod and Pushkin. Traveling on the overnight sleeper train from Moscow provided a taste of real Russia away from the everyday touristic experience, as well an opportunity for plenty of group bonding. Russia in wintertime is magical, from Red Square at night to the frozen lake at the Catherine Palace and the canals of St Petersburg.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    An afternoon trip to the Museum of Wooden Architecture near Novgorod provided an opportunity to see country life. It was so quiet and peaceful with some amazing buildings in a spectacular woodland setting. A musical evening at the Bolshoi Theatre also provided an opportunity to experience the friendliness of Muscovites. Lost at the bar, we were befriended by a Russian lady who was intrigued that we had chosen to visit Moscow and eager to help us.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Eugine's organisation was faultless. He enabled us to to enjoy a holiday that would have been difficult to organise ourselves. He led the group with good humour and his insights into Russian life, history and culture transformed our experience.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    The first couple of days in Moscow involve a lot of walking. Make sure you have comfortable footwear and are prepared for this. The pace in Moscow is quite hectic but relaxes considerably once you get to Novgorod.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    An unforgettable holiday with lots of culture, good food, good company and an insight into Russian life.
  • Reviewed March 2017
    Elizabeth Tilbury

    A great way to get a flavour of Russia

    This is a typically busy Exodus trip which covers a lot of ground in a short period. Despite having a lot to fit in, it's well structured and certainly lived up to our expectations. Going in February means that we avoided what are, apparently, huge crowds in St Petersburg and if you're lucky with the winter weather (we were) then its very beautiful.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Sitting in the Kazan Cathedral in St Petersburg as a service took place - incense, music, and the incredible interior made it very moving.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our tour leader was excellent - efficient, friendly and eager to assist without fussing.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    If you've been on an Exodus trip before you'll know that you pack a lot in and you have to be organised and prepared for being on the move and getting around by a variety of means. Lots of walking between sites and not much down time - but that's how you pack so much in. Emphasis is on the cultural and historic sites - museums, churches and so on, so that needs to be your main interest to get the most from the trip. You have a night on the train from Moscow to Novgarod which is fine but do bring your earplugs and eyemask if you want a night's sleep.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    We really enjoyed the trip - its more conventional than some because Russia itself is a more familiar cultural experience than many parts of the world - but with so many people talking about our relationship with Russia at the moment its a great time to have a look.
  • Reviewed March 2017
    Alison Holder

    moscow to st petersburg

    how could you not enjoy snow, amazing history, stunning museums and buildings ? Be prepared to walk lots, wrap up well and enjoy the big variety of food. You can get a little peak at the enormous history of Russia and its neighbours. going in winter , you also get time and space free from crowds to enjoy the sights.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Loved the visit to outside the cities to see a local wooden house museum. got a real sense of both how hard and how beautiful life can be in the winter. Also really enjoyed our night on the train- the experience is worth it. Moscow's centre in winter was lively with entertainment and lights- you can go skating at 11pm if you want.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    good mix of knowledge, humour and helpful without needing to be bossy.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    if you go in February make sure you wear warm outer layers, but can be comfortable in very warm interiors. We became very practised in putting all the layers on and taking them off again quickly. Be careful of your valuables as there are expert pickpockets in abundance.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Very glad I combined the visit to the culture with winter sights.
  • Reviewed October 2016
    Murray Dee

    From Russia with Love

    An excellent trip which not only visits the highlights but also lets you see real life in Russia. A great mixture of big cities and small towns allowing you to gain a broader perspective of an extremely interesting country.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Walking through Red Square on the first night of the trip was my favorite moment. To be somewhere that you have seen so many times on news reports and where so many historical events have taken place, is very inspirational.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Eugine was extremely informative and engaging. He is enthusiastic and always happy to share his views. I learnt a great deal about historical Russian events and also current affairs.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Make sure you take some warm clothes as the wind can be very cold in St Petersburg.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    This trip has whet my appetite for more exploration around the world's largest country.
  • Reviewed October 2016
    Carolyn Baxter

    Russian adventure

    This 8 day trip is a good introduction to Moscow and St Petersburg with the added bonus of visits to two smaller towns in Russia. There is a fair amount of intern travel but Russia is a huge place, so not unexpected.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Catherine Palace in Pushkin was a blaze of good bling! Red Square at might

    What did you think of your group leader?

    He was excellent, patient and sociable. He was always ready to answer questions about Russia and give practical information where he could. He really wanted to fill the group with enthusiasm about this rather misunderstood country (it's not perfect but where is?)

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    I wish I had looked up the highlights of some of the galleries I visited. In particular I would have liked to go to the Pushkin museum in Moscow - but this was closed on Monday when I thought of visiting! There are so many pictures etc in the Hermitage (and the impressionist paintings have been moved to another building). So a bit of advanced preparation would be a good idea. I would recommend an extra day or tow in St Petersburg like the trip notes suggested. The train from Moscow to Novgorod is not very comfortable and was quite noisy. But the washroom remained spotless throughout the 8 hour trip.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    A map of Pushkin would have been useful - it is small but I am quite good at getting lost!
  • Reviewed April 2016
    Jeannine Blanpain

    Moscow to St Petersburg

    What a wonderful experience! First Moscow. Such beautiful city in winter under the snow. Our hotel was a 10-minute walk from the Kremlin and other very interesting sites. Catherine palace in Pushkin is splendidly renovated and we were lucky to have a walk in the gardens under the sun after snow. To finish our trip, we stayed in St Petersburg which has so much to offer to tourists. Our hotel was centrally located, which enabled us to just walk to whatever Palace, Church or Museum we wanted to see. We were very happy with each of the local guides we had, and a big thank you to our leader who looked after us and always made sure we had a good time and saw what we were interested in.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Catherine Palace and gardens in winter

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Excellent. We had some very good and knowledgeable local guides but our leader was really professional and pleasant throughout the trip always going the extra miles to make sure everybody in the group would be happy.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Learn a few words of Russian before going.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    We saw Russia under snow and sun, and so many beautiful buildings and sites, brilliant!
  • Reviewed August 2015
    Sherree Brockie

    Moscow to St Petersburg

    A well organised and fluid trip. Everything fell into place when it should which made the holiday easy to enjoy. Guides were well versed on their subjects and easy to understand since English wasn't their first language.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    having my preconceived ideas on Russia and its people turned on their head.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Very good. he was helpful at all times and able to answer questions and willing to help or take you where you needed to go if required.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Definitely go to Russia

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    .
Call us on 015 407 558