Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed June 2018
    Margaret Newman

    Excellent trip

    This was my fifth holiday with Exodus and once again it was most enjoyable. The combination of spectacular scenery, picturesque towns and visits to Vesuvius and Pompeii make the Amalfi coast an ideal destination to visit. Hotel Due Torri is a comfortable family run hotel. The staff are all friendly and the food is excellent.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Great walks with spectacular views and the opportunity to swim some days. The walk round the vast crater of Vesuvius and the visit to Pompeii.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Vania is an excellent guide. She is friendly, knowledgeable and well organised and always has a smile

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be aware that there are a lot of steps on some of the walks and walking poles do help.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I would thoroughly recommend this holiday.
  • Reviewed June 2018
    Tara Taylor

    Little known gems

    Walking in Matera was an interesting and eye opening experience. I knew nothing of the history of this facinating "heel of Italy' so was extremely surprised and delighted to discover it in the company of 5 other travellers and our wonderful guide Nino.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The history of Matera is so interesting and thought provoking. Wandering around the old town and seeing into the 'caves' was such a privilege. The town is incredibly stark built into a cliff with each place a cave transformed into living histories of people going back thousands of years. Alberobello was another wonderful discovery and so beautiful and unusual.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Nino was our guide, he is knowledgeable and extremely helpful. He ensured the group knew what to expect everyday and was very considerate of people's walking abilities.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Don't expect the walking to be particularly interesting. We had extremely hot weather which made the walking unpleasant for me. The walk was 9 June 2018. The walks overall were the least enjoyable part of the trip. They were not long so we had a lot of opportunity to explore on our own which was great. The villages and history was the surprise for me and made the experience wonderful. The food was disappointing to me as it was fairly plain and was very much localised. While its important to discover new foods i didnt really enjoy it. We did eat at a wonderful fish restaurant and we also got to spend half a day at the beach which was fantastic and really energised the group. One thing despite the guide saying one needs proper walking boots or shoes i think a good pair of trainers would be sufficient as long as they have a hard sole. I swapped mine and immediately felt more comfortable especially in the heat. The whole trip was incredible, it was a small group who got on well together and had many great laughs along the way. Nino was a fantastic guide who made everything wonderful, i would recommend this trip to anyone.
  • Reviewed June 2018
    D D

    Steptastic Italian Adventure

    A well structured trip that takes in both the famous Cinque Terra villages, but also some less frequented and equally stunning hiking routes. There is plenty to do in this area and Moneglia is a good base, as it is lively without being overrun with tourists, which is sadly the case in some of the other towns nearby. Eating out most evenings means you get to experience authentic and varied Italian cuisine and the hotel is comfortable and welcoming.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Most of the walks featured stunning views and numerous spontaneous swimming opportunities, which was great fun after a hot day's walking! Whilst it is good to have seen the Cinque Terra villages, I would not rate these as the highlight of the trip, unless you enjoy large crowds :-)

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Paul was an excellent leader. His meticulous organization of the daily travel arrangements at the start and end of the walks meant the days ran smoothly and we were able to enjoy some free time for swimming etc after the walks. He also selected a good range of local restaurants for the evening meals. He went beyond the call of duty, helping organize activities for the free day and managing a group, whose different fitness levels made organization very challenging at times. An excellent advert for Exodus!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Whilst this trip is graded as moderate, the geography of the area means nothing is flat and most walks involve at least 200 m of ascent and descent, much of this on steps. Poles and proper walking boots are absolutely essential. It can also get very hot and humid, which should not be underestimated when climbing up steps, even if you are relatively fit. This is also first and foremost a trekking holiday and not just city touring with some walking thrown in!
  • Reviewed June 2018
    Laura Robertson

    Fantastic Tour of the Croatian Islands

    My partner & I had a super time cycling round the Croatian islands in June 2018. Our tour leader, Mario, was fantastic and nothing was too much trouble for him. It was very well organised and the itinerary was busy but it meant we got to see a lot. Some of the views from the cycle were fantastic. One thing I would say is it is very hilly and I would maybe rate it more than a moderate. On the second day of cycling there was a 25km uphill climb which was pretty tough in the heat. There are plenty of stops though and no one is left behind. There is also a support bus for anyone that does not fancy the hills and you can join in the cycle from the top of the hill. The first accommodation was a need of refurbishment and a little disappointing. The room was pretty basic. The other two hotels were nice, especially the one in Lumbarda. The restaurants we went to were all really nice and we got to sample lots of local dishes. Overall I would recommend this trip - we had a super time and great memories from it.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    It was a real sense of achievement to reach the top of the hill of the second days cycling and the views were amazing!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our tour leader, Mario, was super and really looked after the whole group. He shared lots of local knowledge with us and was really organised and he ensured everything went smoothly for us.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Pack padded shorts and a water bottle.
  • Reviewed June 2018
    Neil Rank

    Another excellent Exodus holiday

    Slovenia is a lovely country with lovely people - helpful and friendly. I can but pass on the advice given to me which was “go before it gets too popular”. An important factor in making the holiday is the Leaders and the Group. In both instances they were excellent. Walks are well planned and whilst some previous posts have commented re lunching in restaurants rather than a packed lunch, I preferred the former, which, with one exception, are not restaurants but mountain lodges. All helps the local economy. Weather can be changeable but aside from our Lake Bled day, we enjoyed good weather. When it rains, it rains.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Walking along the ridge which marks the Border between Slovenia and Austria. The trip to the capital on the free day is also very enjoyable.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    We had two Bugy (or Boogie Woogie as he is more affectionately known) and Alesh. Both are excellent guides with a great sense of humour. Very attentive and caring.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Go before the country gets discovered. Be prepared for changeable weather.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The hotel is good - no frills but clean with friendly staff - but the Wi-Fi can be a bit frustrating as the weather can impact on its reliability.
  • Reviewed June 2018
    J K

    Tough Cycling, Beautiful Vistas

    I'm so thrilled that I took the chance and visited Albania. It is a country I previously had never concieved of visiting before. As a Black female traveller, I wasn't sure what to expect (I saw no one that looked like me during the trip), but people were always kind to me. The food was excellent (lots of fresh and roasted vegetables, cheese, yogurt, fish and seafood).

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The beautiful countryside and the Albanian people.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our group had many experienced cyclists and perhaps this lead to a bit of overconfidence by some on the route. The first day had a lot of spills, although those of us who went "piano piano" were alright. I was very impressed with how our guides handled the medical problems. We all felt we were in very good hands.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    This was my first cycling trip. I am a confident and frequent cyclist, I have done multi-day rides before and I trained for this ride for a few months in advance, but this was the most challenging cycling I've experienced. I found the first day and the last day of cycling very tough but I was not shy to use the SAG van when I needed. Use your common cycling sense and don't get swept up in peer-pressure from the group (particularly where conditions are not optimal). The roads are super slick in the rain. It's a ride not a race. Also, a few of us had stomach problems. Bring Imodium.
  • Reviewed June 2018
    Stuart Whitehouse

    A good trip with some long journeys

    This was a good tour of some of the highlights of Romania, covering almost the whole country, from Bucharest in the south to Bucovina in the north, to Transylvania in the west. It includes a variety of locations, from painted monasteries to the bottom of a salt mine.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The two best moments of the trip were the guided tour of the painted monastery of Moldovica and hearing what the paintings actually represented, it was amazing that they'd survived the centuries, and seeing the mother bear with the three cubs on the optional bear-watching trip outside Brasov.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Bear in mind that travel in Romania is slow, so be prepared for some long journeys in the minibus.
  • Reviewed June 2018
    mick fincham

    Up and down

    A full week of trips and endlessly up and down the narrow switchback roads down to the coast. Herculaneum was a highlight as was the back streets of Naples in the pouring rain! Much too hot for the ascent of Pompeii. The Path of the Gods was awe inspiring though not the easy walk it was described as ...…...

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The views were spectacular !

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Eduardo is very knowledgeable and is passionate about his country. The group was a little too big for him especially on the Path of the gods.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Look out for the price of pizzas in Naples! The price on the menu is not what the cost will be...…….

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I think the Path of the Gods walk was a bit too hard for a trip rated as leisurely.
  • Reviewed June 2018
    Jane Byrne

    Wonderful scenery and walking plus great food and wine

    This was a wonderful week. The scenery is magnificent and the Cinque Terre villages are as beautiful as i hoped, despite the crowds you can still appreciate the unique atmosphere and architecture of these tiny villages. Several times we walked through lovely flowers or woods. The hotel is just across the road from a Blue Flag beach with safe swimming , lovely after a hard walk. Local food is tasty and affordable and especially good if you like anchovies and ice cream (not together!) The walking is strenuous going up the cliffs at the start of the day and down at the end, but there is plenty of time allowed and the "level" parts are well surfaced and easy. I really reccommend this holiday.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    1 Completing the walks without undue tiredness 2 The wine tasting 3 Lucca on the free day 4 The tasting menu on the last night

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Excellent - full of knowledge about the local area, very helpful with suggestions and travel arrangements for the free day. Great sense of humour. Provided biscuits on the walks!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    I find the "cliff" element of holidays like this hard to train for, but sessions on a step machine plus at long last learning to go slow uphill really helped. On no account should you miss the wine tasting - as a very occasional wine drinker I can honestly say this was like nectar and opened my eyes to wonderful wine. For the free day I reccommend Lucca - the train journey is worth it for the great historic old town with many impressive buildings and also art.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Most restaurants charge between 20 and 25 Euros for one course plus wine, water, ice cream and coffee. I found I needed more money than the trip notes suggested and it is most definitively worth budgetting for lunch at Portofino and the tasting menu at the Asirto restaurant.
  • Reviewed June 2018
    Mike Giles

    Been to Italy? Now visit Puglia

    Like many people we meet we did not know Puglia existed until we saw this trip. A gem of a region, very different and so suited to a short leisurely summer trip when time is a constraint to a full-on distant adventure tour for which Exodus is otherwise renowned. Distances travelled are comparatively short so it easy to fit in many of the historic, architectural and geological sights with ease.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The caves at Castellana are pretty impressive and the largest complex we have ever visited. However, a ‘Wow’ moment, after arriving at a fairly grotty end of Matera, was stepping onto the main square viewing platform to overlook the entire “Sassi” in which we were to later stay and explore.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Barbara Schito was our tour leader and guide in all aspects of the trip. As a native of Puglia she was so enthusiastic in her wish to impart her knowledge and love of the region. Her delivery is passionate and charming and so much part of the whole experience

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    The food (and wine) of the region is first class and we found it to be reasonably priced having spent only 60% of our budget. As meat-eaters we were very pleased to find ristorante Carnivori in Lecce with choice cuts in the chill cabinet, cooked and served in traditional style before embarking on a week dominated by (very nice) pizzas, pastas and breads.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The weather was exceptionally hot for the time of year, with occasional thunderstorms and it is worth considering these eventualities.
Call us on 015 407 558