Turtle, Ecuador

Review Centre

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed September 2018
    Henry Lovegrove

    Full on and great fun

    Great cultural and educational experience. Lots of variety of experiences superbly led by Sabina and safely driven by damir. Not enough time in Dubrovnik so most of the group extended the tour independently like us.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Happy Jordanians singing on the tractor train

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Good organiser who treated us all empathetically and could not have been more attentive and helpful. Some times didn’t allow enough free time at attractions. Very interesting to hear her family war experiences.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Beware of very slippery cobble stones.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Accommodation excellent and well located throughout
  • Reviewed September 2018
    Hugh Stronge

    Bosnia hertz walk

    Very good, particularly impressed by ou magnificent guide Kanaan who spoke English perfectly, was passionate about his country, informative and balanced when describing recent conflict,great with people and made time for everyone. This is a good trip and appropriately rates in terms of challenge presented

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    All of it

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Cannot rate highly enough

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Just enjoy

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Just our thanks. Would be nice to see more younger people - are there options for a more budget/roughing it experience?
  • Reviewed September 2018
    Sarah Skinner

    Fabulous scenery and cities

    A great holiday, with a good mixture of costal & mountain scenery and the vibrant cities of Sarajevo & Kotor. Food exceeded all my expectations, particularly at the two lunches included at a farm in Montenegro & the village in Bosnia. Our guide Alen was excellent, providing amazing insight to the cultures and history we saw along the way. To quote a t-shirt, no-one boring ever said let’s go to Bosnia!, highly recommend to those with a spirit of adventure.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Sarajevo, a city I knew for all the wrong reasons in the 1990’s is now a vibrant city with a lovely old town full with a great cafe culture where you could easily spend an afternoon people watching. At the same time it also has a lot of excellent museums and galleries, some very sobering, but all very well presented and worth visiting.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Alen was excellent, he imparted a lot of knowledge of the cultures & places we visited. He also showed we were in safe hands as he dealt in a calm & professional manner when when of our group had an accident while walking.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Unless you have a great desire to go to a crowded place with bars with blaring music & full of kids, suggest you stay the second night in the beautiful scenic Kotor bay rather than Budva!
  • Reviewed September 2018
    Jill Kilpatrick

    Beautiful Bosnia

    Yet again Exodus has offered an amazing package. The best guides, the best views and the best locations. The Bosnian mountains are stunning and the local people are so welcoming.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Reaching the highest peak.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    He was fantastic. The group gave him a couple of challenges and he was so calm and sorted everything out. Bring toiletries.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Bring toiletries. Bosnian hotels do not supply anything bar hand soap.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Great mixture of culture and hiking.
  • Reviewed September 2018

    The Trip of a Lifetime

    A Synopsis of this amazing trip. . . After a long drive, a beautiful ferry journey, and a short 2-hour hike on the first day, we hiked every day, 11 days without respite; a daily trek of 8-14 miles climbing a total of 32,000 feet. The stunning views were worth every step; rolling green hills littered with vibrant wildflowers, sometimes dotted with grazing sheep and cows, jagged cliffs and enormous mountain peaks outspreading around us as far as the eye could see. We had the wilderness to ourselves. Besides an occasional shepherd or odd hiker (we saw perhaps 10 hikers in 11 days), the mountains were our private domain. Most nights we stayed in shepherd’s hut or rustic guest houses, and the living conditions were sometimes trying. The huts had limited electricity, cold water that was delivered directly from the mountain, one toilet, sometimes shower, shared by 17 people, and tight sleeping arrangements on the floor or bunk with separate rooms or buildings for men and women. Getting clean, sorting belongings for daily living, and dealing with basic needs was an ongoing struggle. Without proper sanitation, many of us including me and my husband, contracted food borne illnesses. It was pretty awful and the food was never enjoyable after the days of sickness. These huts were the shepherd’s family homes and we were invited guests. Besides cooking for us, they still shouldered their unending work, including the herding and milking of their animals which, in awe and wonder, we watched the procession. This was the real deal. Like a step back in time, we experienced a way of life that has endured for centuries. And here lies the paradox of discomfort: the rough living conditions were the price we paid for the utter joy of hiking in pristine and remote wilderness in almost complete isolation. True authenticity, by definition, cannot be faked. One must take the good with the bad. The Via Dinarica mega trail is still new and the region has a long way to go in their efforts to develop an infrastructure along the way. We have been blessed to be here in its infancy; it will never be as wild and unique as right now.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    At our first hut, watching the shepherd and his wife strategically herd the hundred sheep into their paddock for the night, the wife snatching the ewes at the entrance gate, one by one, to swiftly milk them before they joined their brethren. Wonderful and hilarious all at once. A scene I will never forget.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Two leaders; very knowledgeable of the area. Very good.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    If you train for endurance and cardio you'll be fine. I got fitter and stronger as the days went on and never felt like it was "too hard". Bring hand sanitizer.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    This was our 6th Exodus trip and this was the best yet. Unforgettable.
  • Reviewed September 2018
    Alvina Labsvirs

    Unspoilt Mountains

    A wonderful trek in an unexploited part of the world

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Being surrounded by a crown of limestone peaks.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Good knowledge of history but not of flora or fauna.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be prepared for trekking through areas with no tracks or trails.
  • Reviewed September 2018
    Cherie Logan

    Guide excellent, tour ok, accomodation lacking

    I recommend you. Is it these countries to help them develop their tourism, so they can rebuild their countries for the future. The world can learn from their past, spreading their stories to prevent wars like they experienced. They are not sophisticated regarding tourism, but they are finding their way because the government does not invest enough and therefore citizens are using tourism money to invest in rebuilding themselves. The stories of resilience and the spectacular scenery make these countries a must see now, before they get to commercially sophisticated. The only tour downside was the quality of accomodation on the tour which I felt were 1-2star level and did not live up to the price of the tour.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The countries were stunning, sometimes raw and compelling which was refreshing (its sobering to see mortar and sniper damaged buildings that show their recent past). The citizens were warm, friendly and couldn’t do enough for tourists as they need to build a strong tourism industry to create more jobs to help each country prosper.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    The tour leader (Sabina) was excellent and made our trip great. She was enthusiastic, knowledgeable, careing, friendly and shared personal family stories that bought the regions historical past and impacts to life for us. Would travel with her as a guide in a heartbeat. She spoke exceptional English, had great humour and supported everyone individual needs.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    2 of the 3 short hikes/walks were ok if you were average fitness, the 3rd and last hike really did need people to be a bit above average fitness, though you could sit it out and do something else on you own if you wanted.
  • Reviewed September 2018
    Joseff Rees

    Great trip!

    This was my second Exodus holiday. Totally different to my first but just as enjoyable and memorable with a great group of people and guides! The walks varied in length, technicality, altitude and difficulty however the scenery and landscape was beautiful throughout. Accommodation types varied from hotels to shepherd huts to guesthouses however the hospitality offered in the more remote parts was exceptional. I do not think there is anywhere else in Europe where I could be eating and sleeping as a tourist in people's actual homes! All food was locally sourced with plenty of Raki on offer!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    There was beautiful scenery throughout the trip with hospitality that was second to none. I enjoyed visiting this region with such a welcoming and friendly group from all walks of life. The welcome, food and accommodation provided at the Triangle Woodhouse in Montenegro was brilliant. Argon (owner) was very proud of his food, home and Raki! Enjoyed it so much I bought the T-shirt! I enjoyed how peaceful the shepherd huts were. The only noise and light was natural and to hear all of the animals including a wolf whilst camping was rather cool.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Dorian and Arvin were two very passionate and proud Albanians who clearly loved their country and tried their very best to showcase what Albania and its culture had to offer across the region. Both answered any and all questions to the best of their ability. Dorian was the leader who used his contacts in the region while Arvin was the smiling face of the operation - both complimented each other well and ensured everybody enjoyed their time in this beautiful part of the world.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Being a new Exodus trip at times the distances in the trip notes were slightly different to what was actually walked - mainly more - however being a walking holiday, walking is to be expected. Embrace what the region has to offer. During the last evening meal in Tirana, tourism in the area was described as 'embryonic' and very much in its infancy. Give the region a chance and expect the unexpected at times but also expect and experience exceptional hospitality from all throughout.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Visit the area before it changes too much! Nowhere else in Europe will you find such rural and traditional way of life according to the seasons.
  • Reviewed August 2018
    N Thomson

    Great mix of scenery and culture

    This is a good combination of interesting cities and mountains ,with a reasonable pace and comfortable air-conditioned bus;our guide and driver were excellent, with reasonable accommodation and generous meals throughout.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Kotor,Cetinje ,the Montenegrin scenery;Sarajevo in general and atmospheric Mostar all impress

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Sabina is an excellent cheerful guide who manages the tour friendly and efficiently, she imparts her keen enthusiasm for these countries and is willing to share her personal insight into their history.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Like others have said,just visit and enjoy the experience.
  • Reviewed August 2018
    Brenda Howcroft

    Awesome mountain views with hospitality to match

    Point to point through the Mountains of Northern Albania, Montenegro and Kosovo. You climb at least one mountain a day, enjoying the view and a packed lunch at the top. If you crave 'the middle of nowhere' you will love this trek.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    It was humbling to meet the big hearted people of these mountains, so hard working, whether it be trekking with horses to get the luggage to the next shepherds huts, bringing tents to our campsite or providing banquets of artisan food using meagre facilities.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Dorian hails from these mountains which is a real bonus. The group was a competitive lot, decked out in performance logging technology, at times they craved more information about the daily challenges ahead.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Shepherds huts were same sex dorms, either mattresses on the floor or bunks, toilets could be a hole in the ground, showers a bucket of cold water close to the hole in the ground. at one place the ladies walked up the hill, round the corner and bathed in the stream! When the hotels nights came we made the most of the facilities! Food is artisan, handmade cheese, home baked bread, lots of tomatoes, peppers and cucumber. Interesting soups, spinach pie and the famous flee pie. It's chilly in those hills at night bring a fleece I managed without Lekke, survived with Euros Head torch was really useful to navigate the accommodation/read at night Arrive for this well trained, it's a tough trek, lots of steep uphill, steep downhill, rough terrain. Crazy running 5K/10K/half marathons/marathons seemed to be a popular pastime of our group.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Get here quick! before the forager/basic farming lifestyle disappears and too many tourists arrive to take a look.
Call us on 015 407 558