Turtle, Ecuador

Review Centre

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed March 2019
    Ann Ford

    Excellent

    As someone who wasn’t bothered about our trip to Costa Rica I can honestly say I have fallen in love with this country and it’s people. The trip with Exodus was so good. The guides, the activities and accommodation was first class. I would recommend this trip and Exodus to everyone. Fabulous.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Seeing the Quetzel .. I have fallen in love with bird watching.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    He was brilliant. Helpful, inspirational and an all round wonderful guy.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Read the trip notes.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    It was just a wonderful trip, cannot thank Exodus and Camino travel enough.
  • Reviewed March 2019
    Alison Roberts

    Fantastic holiday. We really enjoyed snowshoeing which allows you to walk on fresh deep snow and to highish altitudes . The Dolomites are very beatific and our guide Sara has a lot of geographical and historical knowledge. the Hitel Adler is excellent.

    Highly recommend this trip.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The whole week was most enjoyable, active during the day and very good company with the rest of the group in the evening.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Sara , our group leader was friendly, well organised and an excellent guide .

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take a rucksack that has straps to attach snow shoes ( already suggested but I didn't) to and possibly some mini crampons that can fit over walking boots . There were times when we walked and carried our snow shoes . The tracks were a bit icy in places.
  • Reviewed March 2019
    stephen roberts

    Worth every penny

    Its difficult to write this review without repeating what everybody else has all ready said. We had some fantastic tiger sightings that frankly left me breathless, we also saw sloth bears, leopard and fantastic bird life. Some people saw more some saw less, but that's always going to be the case on these types of holidays. The quality of the guides and drivers is hit and miss, but Exodus has little control over this as they work for the park. Hadn't appreciate that the jeep allocation was so tightly regulated. Who is what jeep, is decided when the jeeps are booked, and passports are checked on each drive to ensure that's the case.. but you are moved around so your not sat with the same people all the time. The accommodation on the whole was better than expected, although some people seemed to have problems getting hot water a few times. Being welcomed back of every drive with a warm flannel and cold drink was very welcome. Everybody gets a bit stressed just before the overnight train, but once we were on and settled it was okay, and I slept okay, and the bedding was clean, and didn't feel the need for a sleeping bag liner. There was a western and Indian style toilet in every carriage, been in worse on UK trains. Make sure you stock up on snacks before you get on the train as the packed lunch taken with you was uninspiring.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    For me it was being eye ball to eyeball with a wild tiger walking towards me. Still get the shivers now, just thinking about it. For my wife, getting to touch and feed the working elephants as they passed our jeeps.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Krishna has great, fed us loads on info on Indian culture, and the wildlife. Kept our spirits up when the tigers wern't playing ball. and took care of the minor problems quickly. My wife is Type 1 diabetic and found the brunches a bit late for her sugar levels. Once we had mentioned this , Krishna sorted out some extras to eat before we left in the mornings.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Its cold on the first few hours of the morning. Take hats, gloves and a warm jackets. The one afternoon we didn't take waterproofs, we had a storm. So pack them every day. Yes its as dusty as they say, so be prepared for that. Getting small bank notes was an issue, buy some small items(sweets or water) in Delhi airport to try an get some smaller notes. Card machines at resorts not always working. Take cash. In two weeks we spent about £750, mainly on lunches, beers, snack and tips (and a couple of souviners). For info a beer was 350 rupees. We also tipped some of drivers and guides a bit more than suggested

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    As the group had bonded well, we had hoped for a few goodbye drinks on our last night. But being a Friday the hotel was dry. If we had been warned we would have brought a couple of beers earlier and put them in the fridge in our rooms.
  • Reviewed March 2019
    Caroline Curnock

    Discover Sri Lanka tour

    The holiday was an excellent mix of activities - walking, cycling, exploring wildlife and looking at cultural sights. The hotels, with the exception of the Sevonra Garden, were excellent with good service and helpful staff. The food was great across the hotels, again with the exception of the Savonra Garden, with plenty of Sri Lankan dishes to explore. The changes I would make would be to have longer in Galle as it was such an interesting town and we only had a couple of hours there which was not long enough. Also to factor in less time in the woodcarving shop.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The day spent cycling as it was well organised and lovely to have time exploring along the watercourses with all the sights and sounds.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Suneth was an exceptional leader - he was full of information about Sri Lanka and all the wildlife but more importantly he was a very kind caring man who went out of his way to make our trip special - introducing us to different foods, buying fruit for us to try, taking us out on birdwatching trips in his own time. He was very careful for our safety and was always available if we needed him. It was very sad that he had to leave early for family reasons but he handled what must have been a very difficult and emotional time for him in an extremely professional way.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    To add in a few days at the end to relax as the trip was very full on in the best way. it would have been great to have a few days at the end to relax and mull over the experience and to explore Columbo as a city.
  • Reviewed March 2019
    Nina Whidby

    Snowshoeing in the Catalan Pyrenees

    The holiday had everything, the sunny beautiful weather with snow and without snow, walking and snowshoeing,with rich history of the Catalan Pyrenees (and Pallars Sobira) from ancient time to modern days, with its culture, celebrations and suffering, with its nature and, of course, with people. Walking and snowshoeing, as it was already said in previous reviews, were with beautiful and stunning views over the mountains, on different altitudes. Passing through different villages, so different in their style and architecture to British ones, we were introduced to its history by our guide Miguel, and this was a great addition to our holiday. I like these villages and towns which looked so organic with nature, they were like a continuation of the mountains – the same colour and so close to nature! Snowshoeing was very enjoyable, at higher altitude and more strenuous than walking.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    I like all the walks as they all were different and all had their own charm. I liked the Bordes – Burg walk. In spite of the fact it did not have snow, it was very interesting from the point of view of the history of this area and picturesque views of Burg. Visiting a small 13th century church in Tirvia and seeing the still remaining traces of shrapnel on the walls of buildings, as a reminder of the atrocities committed by General Franco's troops, was an important learning point in this trip. I liked all the snowshoeing walks, and it is difficult to say which day was better, as all of them were excellent!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Thanks to Miguel all our trips were very well organised. He is very dedicated to his job and knowledgeable of the area and its history. Even on our free day, he took us to the Prison Museum in Sort – another eye-opener revealing the not very well known history of the Pallars Sobira area. In addition, he organised a very interesting excursion to a local cheese maker with cheese tasting. Wine tasting with his knowledge of local wines was also very good. Every evening he managed to introduce something new to us, even some Catalan language. A lot of humour and fun! Great job!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    My advice as already was mentioned in other reviews. Also, you should be fit as some snowshoeing is quite physically demanding and at times quite brisk.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The cuisine at the Hotel Victor was very good with a choice of fish, meat and vegetables. Portions were quite big, sometimes difficult to finish. Fish dishes were wonderful, very well prepared. For lovers of coffee – this part of the world has delicious coffee, very well prepared. My only dissatisfaction – as not a lover of pizza, I did not much enjoy our meal in the pizzeria. I would rather had more proper local tapas. Finally, my husband and I did not got lost going from Sort to Rialp!!
  • Reviewed March 2019
    Virginia Young

    It all feels like a dream now but what a fabulous holiday!

    This was my first Exodus trip and was booked to celebrate a big birthday and make wonderful memories and I certainly did that! I wasn’t quite sure what to expect as a single traveller but the holiday was fantastic, I needn’t have worried - I was in safe hands with our wonderful guide Ruwan and surrounded by a lovely group of friendly travellers. We did such a lot! Everyday was packed with new experiences from climbing Lion’s Rock to whitewater rafting to watching a snake try to eat a bat!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    There were so many great moments. I enjoyed visiting Kandy and attending the Tooth Ceremony with the smell of the beautiful flower offerings and the colours! . The thrills and spills of whitewater rafting! The lunches prepared by the village ladies, so many different dishes, all tasting wonderful, with some even cooked in front of us! Cycling beside the beautiful waterways was very special with all the children coming out to greet us! And the wildlife was amazing, from elephants to monitor lizards to hornbills to crocodiles!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Ruwan was well organised and had a great sense of humour. He took time to explain the history and customs of the island as well as the geography and language. He took care of everyone. Any problems were quickly sorted out calmly and efficiently He gave us great tips on where to visit in our free time. We couldn’t have had a better group leader!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take insect repellant and don’t forget to use it! Take a camera with a large memory card! There is lots to photograph! Enjoy every minute as it goes too fast!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I appreciated the opportunity of visiting one of the Exodus tsunami houses for lunch. Discover Sri Lanka is a holiday packed with different experiences, sights and smells. Don’t wait -GO! I’ll be booking another Exodus holiday!
  • Reviewed March 2019
    Dave Wynne

    Snow Shoeing in the Dolomites

    Another great Exodus holiday. Nice hotel Great routes and scenery with a variety of Winter conditions ranging from blue skies and glorious sunshine to romantic fluttery snow falls in magical forests to wild full-on winter conditions of wind and heavy snow.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Lutterkopf for the wind and snow on a broad ridge. Monte Piana for the glorious sunshine and views coupled with the fascinating history of the site from world war 1. Bruckele to Rossalm for the magic of climbing through the silence of a remote valley after heavy snow with trees coated in snow and hearing the distant roar of avalanches in the mountains.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Outstanding! A great guide in the form of Sara Bull, knowledgeable, good fun, encouraging and safety focussed but allowing the team to move freely and not corralling the group into a bunched single file route marching group.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Yes. You are in for a treat!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    A fantastic holiday. Thanks to Exodus for great work in setting this up and solving any problems we had. Thanks to Sara Bull, our guide, for making the holiday into something very special. This holiday will live a long time in our memories.
  • Reviewed March 2019
    John Proudlock

    Great fun

    A fantastic skill to learn, with a great group of people, in a beautiful part of the work, whilst staying in a comfortable hotel. What's not to like?

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Going from being a novice at skate skiing to taking part in my first (friendly) biathlon.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Alex was a fantastic group leader. He was great at managing the group which had varying levels of expertise and fitness, he was also a great tutor and really advanced my skiing. He's friendly and easy to talk to with a load of mountain leader experience that he was happy to share as the week went on.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    The fitter you are before you go, the more you'll get out of this trip.
  • Reviewed March 2019
    Vicky Chamberlain

    Biking in a winter wonderland

    A really well run week of fat biking - a good introductory day, fun times at the Russian end lodge, never short on food or humour.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    I loved the biking - my favourite day though was the ride back from the Rusiian end lodge, really lovely trail through the trees, late lunch back at the lodge and then a fabulous show shoeing trip after dinner - complete with the northern lights - a totally amazing day.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Jorma was organised and calm and clearly got on well with his team mates. I thought he was a great leader.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    I went with a massive suitcase of clothes as was worried about getting cold. The last minute advice we had, to take a balaclava was worth following. But generally speaking all the clothing and equipment they supply is great - you really don't need to take much of your own - unless you want to. Boots were great!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    If you are a regular biker and fit this is not a difficult trip. Generally we wre out from 10am til 2 pm. They suplied food for snacks adn a thermos of hot water/juice. I would thoroughly recommend it.
  • Reviewed March 2019
    Sonia Athwal

    Well Organized Trip

    Well organized trip. The cycling route was very well thought out by our guide Shibu. The entire team of Shibu, Bevan, and Franklin took extra lengths to ensure we were well taken care of, and safe. Really great people leading us. My group was a good size (11), making is easy to interact and have fun. I recommend this trip to see Kerala up close.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Less inspiring, but more exciting was seeing an elephant up close on the street, taking a stroll as we rode out bike by!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Shibu is a top notch guide.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be aware that it gets very hot. Bring some sort of small pannier, or bum-bag (fanny pack) for camera and small needs. You won't need to carry a back pack - everything is on the bus.
Call us on 015 407 558