Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed January 2019
    Laura and Gavin Jones

    Sensational Sri Lanka

    This trip is very varied and introduces the highlights of Sri Lanka. There was a great mix of culture, nature and adventure.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The most inspirational moment of my trip was seeing a leopard laying on the bank of a waterhole in Yala National Park. I also loved the walk in Horton Plains and the visit to Sigiriya.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Roshan was truly exceptional. His english was excellent. He had a great sense of humour. He was extremely knowledgeable and very enthusiastic. He made the trip special.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Nuwara Eliya and its surroundings are slightly cooler than the other places so taking a fleece is helpful.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    This trip was busy in places but also gave some "down time" in the late afternoons. It was lovely to be able to sit on a balcony or by the pool, read and relax - not something we are used to doing so very welcome!
  • Reviewed January 2019
    Margaret Meyers

    Spice Trails of Kerala

    Loved the trip with the mixture of walking and sightseeing. Would highly recommend.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Trekking through the hills around Munnar

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Excellent!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    The walks are a little bit harder than you think they are going to be.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Great trip, would highly recommend.
  • Reviewed January 2019
    Tim Keay

    Cycling Vietnam

    Brilliant trip - constantly on the go, cycling through this beautiful and fascinating country. Hotels were of a very high standard, eating out was always a pleasure and our guide and his team were extremely helpful and attentive.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Very hard to choose one as there were so many enjoyable moments. All the rides were great, the highlight was possibly the ride over the Hai Van pass. Very nice to relax and unwind on Whale Island for a couple of days, swimming and snorkelling.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Lam was excellent from start to finish. Everything was clearly and fully explained. He arranged great places to eat and sites to see. He and his team looked after us incredibly well while we were cycling. Even though we passed through some very remote parts, we were all able to ride at our own pace and everyone felt safe.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Just do it! A brilliant way to see a wonderful part of the world.
  • Reviewed January 2019
    Andrea Horner

    Loved Mexico but disappointed in this trip

    I am a big fan of Exodus and did a cycling trip with you in Sri Lanka two years ago. Experienced all of the local traditions, cultures, cuisine and lifestyle which is what the Exodus brand promises but this trip didn’t really live up to that. Our guide Omar was really nice and fun but this was only his second cycling trip and we were a full group of 18 and I think he was too inexperienced to have been asked to do it. The schedule didn’t seem right, most days we didn’t seem to follow the trip notes and we were cycling for long periods of time, sometimes not getting lunch until 5 PM. In Sri Lanka we would cycle, see and experience different places, stop for lunch and then get back on our bikes and cycle more. This trip it seems that we had to do all of the cycling before lunch and in a group of 18 when you have to stop for breaks that just isn’t practical. I was also disappointed that the trip wasn’t structured better because we didn’t really get to see much of the local culture. In Merida as an example, by the time we finished lunch it was around 4 PM and we never got a chance to experience the Mayan museum or some of the other local historic sites that would have been really interesting to see. The Exodus brand is all about your guide being able to talk to you about the history and the culture but Omar was unable to do this, perhaps because he was so new and that was a real shame. Don’t get me wrong, Omar and his team worked really hard and they were lovely but we seems to just be cycling on long roads without really stopping in local places to experience the local traditions and that was a shame.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    I loved visiting the tequila factory and seeing the process of how it was made. I loved floating in the mangroves at the biosphere reserve. And the Cenotes were absolutely beautiful and experiencing swimming in those was wonderful. The Mexican people are also delightful and everywhere we went we got wonderful service. Visiting the sites of Mayan ruins was also wonderful.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Omar was nice and he was friendly but he was inexperienced and he was not knowledgeable in the areas that we travelled to. I found that sometimes he gave an answer (that was incorrect) rather than say that he didn’t know. My friend hurt herself while we were travelling and he was very professional and attentive and prioritised her well-being very well.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    If you want to cycle on long boring roads, eat lunch after 3 PM and not really experience the real Mexico then this is the trip for you. If you are more interested in actually exploring the country (which is absolutely beautiful and there is so much to see and experience) then perhaps consider a different trip.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The group on our holiday was really diverse and we had real fun, even though I am unhappy with this trip I have fond memories of it and I will remember all of the best parts. I am disappointed, having had such wonderful experiences with Exodus before and in terms of value for money I really don’t think that this trip was worth it. One of the reasons for choosing a trip like this is that I don’t need to think about where we are going, what we are doing, I know (or I hope) that we have a good schedule, we are going to see all of the best things, we are going to be with somebody who has great knowledge and is really passionate about the country and I definitely didn’t get that on this trip. At times it was quite stressful because we had to challenge the schedule as it wasn’t working out for us or for other members of the group and that dampened the relaxing experience that I was hoping for.
  • Reviewed January 2019

    Spectacular and challenging

    If you're considering going to the Everest region, I strongly recommend this trip. The Gokyo Lakes and Cho La pass were stunning, and an absolute highlight and you'd miss these on a standard EBC trek. The region is absolutely breathtaking and the people welcoming and so friendly. It's certainly not an easy trek though- don't underestimate the effects of altitude, and also the cold. Be sure of your fitness too, the Cho La pass was very physically demanding, with a certain amount of scrambling.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    I really enjoyed our visits to monasteries to witness nuns and monks going about their daily prayers- incredibly special.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our group leader, Sherpa Dorjee, was a complete star and with his colleagues Yuma and Nima, they all kept us safe, cheerful and enlightened about the region and way of life. They knew exactly the right pace to walk at to minimise the effects of altitude, and had an encyclopaedic knowledge of the surrounding peaks.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    My top tips: Take merino- you're going to stink otherwise. Take plenty of hand sanitiser, you can't have too much. Take toilet paper (unless you want to pay £2 a roll up in the mountains). Steripens worked a treat for water sterilisation, but identify your Nalgene bottle somehow- when they get filled, you want to be able to identify it easily! The ATM's are variable in whether or not they work- I couldn't get one to work in Namche, and had to try about 6 in Kathmandu until one worked. I could however change cash (GBP) in Namche. The estimate of cash needs from Exodus is pretty close, but beware if you have too much left over at the end, changing it back is hard- the hotel couldn't give us GBP and airport gave change in USD. So, don't take too much! Don't forget the porters- they are like secret ninjas collecting your bag and delivering it to your door before you arrive, often dressed in trainers and a thin jacket- try to take some old gear for the porter bank. I bought them biscuits a few times in the morning- they still earn a poor wage, and it's a shame for them if their daily wage is spent on food.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Just book this trip!
  • Reviewed January 2019
    Adrian Binney

    Excellent 2nd Trip after Discovery Tour

    This was our 2nd Exodus Costa Rica Trip - first was Discovery and only duplication was Tortuguero which is just a fabulous experience (access only by fast river boat) and great wildlife. There are no cars! Cahuita was a complete joy, v good hotel location and v nice Caribbean feel & great bars to eat at with ocean sounds. Savegre is a bird paradise and stunning facility and food. Drake Bay is a “must” for all - great experiences, location, staff and food.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Drake Bay snorkelling - very safe, 15 of us with 3 guides - my first time and it was easy and safe. Turtles and thousands of reef fish in cristal clear water.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    First class. Truthfully so and we have been on many group tours.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    This trip is a must! Take beach shoes or the equivalent.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    We will return to Costa Rica and there is simply no need to consider using someone other than Exodus. Their choice of hotels, itinerary and tour leads is perfect.
  • Reviewed January 2019
    Robert Ordidge

    Inspired by the inspired.

    My latest trip to the Masai Mara was as good as all the others. Each trip and each day of every trip are different. New and different animals and birds to photograph and new situations and interactions.There is so much variety that you never know what is around the next corner.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Watching the big cats and their young ones interacting with each other. Yes good photographs but also memories of just watching them playing with each other in family groups and the affection shown by the mothers. I am describing lions, cheetahs and leopards. My impression was that the population of the big cats has increased since my last visit in 2016.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Paul Goldstein is different from other leaders of wildlife photographers. Can be rude and charming at the same time, but never spiteful. He gets in the way when photographing but probably because he instinctively seems to know what is going to happen before it does happen. He also seems to get better pictures. You travel with him because of his passion and knowledge for photographing wildlife. However it is not just about Paul. He has a very, very good team supporting him, the drivers in particular. They know the country. I am pleased that Paul frequently asks for their advice.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Wildlife photography demands being in the right place at the right time. This means that you need to know the ways and thoughts of your subject. Sometimes you need to sit and wait and watch. Always travel with a dedicated group of people and that applies to the other members of your group. If photography is your aim then go with fellow photographers.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I will be going back to the Masai Mara.
  • Reviewed January 2019
    Catherine Larkin

    15 day Discover Sri Lanka trip from Sun 30 Dec 18 to Sun 13 Jan 2019

    An absolutely fab holiday. It exceeded all my expectations. Top top top class Sri Lankan tour guide was one of the highlights. Very well paced. Fantastic variety of activities , often x 2 per day, as well as plethora of places to visit .Activities sometimes meant being organized to get up at 6am to climb up a beautiful rock or spent walking three hours to the ‘world’s end’ , to cycling, water river rafting under the bridge built in 1956 for the movie ‘Bridge over the river Kwai, to taking a train journey from a height of nearly 2,000 meters to just under 1,000 M. Whale spotting, beach side hotel to relax in, a long day on Safari seeing everything BUT the elusive Leopard. We had x 3 days in the lovely town of Kandy and saw their splendid Botanic gardens as well as visiting a gem shop to learn about their famous Sapphires from a gemologist - Princess Di’s ring came from here. Interesting diversion to an Aryuvedic herbal clinic where we had an interesting talk from a long qualified herbalist as well as neck, shoulder and face massages,, Got to sample locally made Sri Lanka curries made by a family almost in the middle of the jungle. Also had a meal in one of the houses that Exodus built for people who lost homes in the 2004 Tsunami when 50,000 Sri Lankans perished. I almost forgot - a trip to a tree plantations/factory is also organised and yes, you will definitely wish to bring some home - prices v reasonable! Very comfortable bus to ride on and all 9 hotels, bar 1, were top class. Our tour guide was immensely informative on all aspects of Sri Lankan life, culture, history as well as past and current politics. He was also extremely kind and attentive and looked after each person,s needs, no matter how diverse or demanding!! Yes, a trip I shall have fond memories of for many a year. I highly recommennd it if you relish adventure, activity and good fun.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    There were many, may....every day was special so cannot say....

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our leader, Dilepps Fernanda, deserves a gold medal for his guidance of our trip. His in-depth knowledge of his country and its customs was superbly matched by his ever willingness to deliver it. Added to that his kindness and consideration foreac and every single member of our group made our trip one of top class. I have been on many other Exodus, Explore, Travel Department (Irish co) and also,other travel companies organised holidays in Europe and worldwide and I can say without a shadow of a doubt that I have never before experienced the charm, expert care, guidance and consideration of a guide that marches this person’s. You are very lucky to have him as an employee, in my view. His sense of humour was a delight and further added to our enchantment with this superbly organised and delightful adventure. Congratulations all round but specifically to Dilepps who deserves the Best Exodus Leader of the year and by a very long shot!!! He is a wonderful asset for the Exodus company!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be prepared for a wonderful, activity-fueled and adventurous holiday. Leave all of your worries at home and be present for every day of this spectacular holiday. Bring lots of skin Factor, Mosquito repelllanr, a sun hat and extra cash. The small print mentions rewarding your guide and coach driver and his aide. (Well deserved) Not everyone on our trip was prepared for this eventuality.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I was so glad that the trip lasted 15 days. I usually take 1 week-10 day hill walking trips with Exodus/Explore. After my experience on this one I shall only partake in two+ week breaks from now on. Congratulations Exodus. I take my hat off to you for puttting together this 15 days of excitement, fun and adventure. Thank you very much!
  • Reviewed January 2019
    Ross Bishop

    A myriad of wildlife in the heart of Africa

    This trip packs in a huge variety of wildlife experiences over a great distance in three scenic and friendly East African countries.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    There were many highlights. For this trip, the Masai Mara provided the greatest inspiration. Our group was so fortunate to see multiple close up lion sightings, a leopard up a tree and a successful cheetah hunt amongst many other animals. The Mara is totally worthy of its global fame as a premier game reserve. On this occasion, our good fortune in Kenya just pipped the excellent gorilla and chimp tracking days in Uganda.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our Kenyan team, consisting of the tour leader driver, chef and camp assistant worked so hard evrry day and did so in cheerful spirit that made them a pleasure to be around.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be prepared for long drives on bumpy roads, particularly in Uganda. The gorrila tracking involves difficult underfoot conditions and the length of the hike to see the gorillas can't really be predicted in advance. No one in our group opted for the Kazinga Channel boat trip, this didn't matter as the included boat trip at Murchison Falls was outstanding, particularly for birds. Temperatures are generally moderate in this part of the world due to altitude, but Murchison Falls is lower and was therefore hot.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I've been lucky enough to go on a few African safaris over the years and this one was definately the best. Anyone put off by camping should be assured that the tents are fairly spacious, the camping mats are comfortable and that showers are reasonable at the majority of the campsites.
  • Reviewed January 2019
    Conor Carr

    A great intro to snow-shoeing in a really beautiful place

    A great intro to snow-shoeing in a really beautiful place, with 'warm up days' to learn how to do it.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The beautiful scenery and lots of snow was definitely a highlight of the trip for me, helped by a nice, friendly group of people, great leader and hospitable, generous hosts at the Vila.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Very good! Thomas is a great leader, he looked after everyone well, and knows a lot about the area and history and has good humour too.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Don't forget your yaktrax, gaiters and lots of layers of clothing! You will be cold at the beginning of the treks but warm up quickly so it's good to have the option of taking layers off. Although the breakfast and evening meal are substantial (plenty for everyone), I advise taking extra snacks for lunch and a thermos flask for hot tea.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    A great trip for those wanting an intro to snowshoeing. This is a beautiful area, full of history.. I'd also suggest a day or two in Bucharest to visit the parliament building and museums (history museum was interesting)
Call us on 015 407 558