Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed December 2018
    Jyoti Nair

    Bliss @ Atlas

    Nice trip, well divided between doing the touristy thing in colorful, bustling Marrakech and walking in the mountains. The difficulty level is somewhere between a 2 and a 3, rocky and uneven paths. Good shoes and walking poles, guys! Die hard walk enthusiasts may find the 3 days of walking not challenging enough. Food was freshly perpared, clean and tasty. The accomodation decent. Showers hot.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Navigatibg the rocky paths and making it in time. Albeit last!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Omar was a young group leader, probably not very experienced in leading. Had to be reminded a few times that he needed to be looking out for the last person on the trail rather than trying to be the first one to reach from point A to point B.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Go and have a good time.
  • Reviewed December 2018
    Jay Howard

    3 Easy "Day Walks" rather than a "Moderate" walking trip.

    This is quite an easy "walking trip" but I think it's far more suited to those who are looking to walk more than those who are already more seasoned walkers. The pace of activities is well balanced between city tours and days walking in the mountains with (probably) the best local food being served at the Riad.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Marrakesh is (as expected) alive with activity during the day and evening and the views from the high Atlas walks can be spectacular as are the vivid pastel colours of many valleys you'll see on the walking days from the Riad.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Omar was well organised and spent much time to explain the Berber culture in quite a lot of detail to the group over the evening meals in the Riad.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Both the hotel and Riad used on this trip do not have bars so if you enjoy a glass of wine etc with dinner you may need to be self sufficient (and discrete to respect the views of others). The Riad is basic and comfortable but if you're traveling out of the summer period it can be very chilly as the heating is limited so pack some warm clothes for the evenings.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    As with any mountains the weather can go from sunshine to intense rain very quickly so carry your waterproofs/poncho with you on each walk!
  • Reviewed November 2018
    Jay Howard

    3 Easy "Day Walks" rather than a "Moderate" walking trip.

    The walks on this trip are not really difficult and would be completed very quickly if the group you're with are "weekend walkers" but can take ages if your group do not have the fitness level required!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The views of the Atlas Mountains when you reach the top of the walks are stunning (if the weather is kind).

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    If you enjoy a glass of wine etc with dinner be aware there's no bar in the hotel Exodus use in Marrakesh or the Riad used as a walking base. Whilst the Riad is basic (but nice) it is very cold in the winter months so pack plenty of warm clothes and lots of books to read etc in the evenings when you're hiding under the blankets.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    This is a good trip for first those trying out a walking trip for the first time rather than anyone who's already enjoying "moderate" walking trips.
  • Reviewed November 2018
    Paul Sullivan

    Atlas Panorama

    Great way to sample the exotic medina in Marrakech and the rich beauty of the High Atlas mountain.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    No one single thing - just the combination and contrasts of the two components.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Wiry and knowledgable, Hassan was a very effective and at times cheeky (:>) leader, very much at home in the hills among the villages and villagers.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    more than a good introduction to what Morocco has to offer, this trip is a great to way to sample something of an imperial city and the splendour of the High Atlas. would recommend going a bit close to the main season than we did, as we encountered a few days of very mixed, changeable conditions.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    nothing else :>
  • Reviewed October 2018
    Isabel Sutherland

    Feedback

    Good trip, well organised and followed schedule as planned. Accommodation functional, clean and as described. I'm vegetarian and food could have been better, adding a few pulses to the dishes of a few vegetables would have been easy to do and been helpful.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    .

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Hussan was excellent - really experienced , polite and helpful. He dealt with a difficult and potentially dangerous situation on the hiking with confidence and skill. Thank you.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Respect the mountains - none of our group expected huge storms, torrential rain and flash floods. Be prepared for all weathers

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    A big thank you to our guide
  • Reviewed October 2018
    bridget johnson

    atlas panorama

    I really enjoyed my visit to Morocco.On our 1st day a few of us visited the Jardin Marjorelle which was just up the road from the hotel. It was lovely and peaceful after our journey to the airport that morning.There is an interesting Berber museum there as well. 2nd day we had a guide who took us to explore Marrakech. Very colourful and interesting. We then travelled to the village on the 3rd day. The next few days were spent at the riad which was basic but fine. The next 3 days we spent trekking. We had wonderful views and we were provided with a delicious picnic each day transported on donkeys.The walking was not that difficult and the pace was leisurely.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    I think the walk round the village was really interesting. The way of life is simple and everyone seemed happy. I just wonder how much longer it would last but our guide assured us it would remain unchanged.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Hassan was very good. He knew all the footpaths and stopped to point out anything of interest. He was also very interesting to talk to.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Bring walking boots with good soles as the paths are rocky. A pole could also be useful.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    As a vegetarian I was a bit worried about food but there was ample vegetarian food. Not as spicy as I would have liked.Also be prepared for long wait at passport control both arriving and departing. Also a wait to get into the airport on departure due to bag checks.
  • Reviewed September 2018
    Alice Penfold

    Fantastic trip to the Atlas Mountains!

    The Atlas Panorama trip was just incredible. We had the chance to explore Marrakesh, with a tour guide to take us to the most beautiful sights and guide us around the markets. We then travelled into the mountains and stayed in the most hospitable village home, with wonderful fresh food provided each day, an expert guide and lots of breath-taking views. I definitely would recommend this trip!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Walking through the mountains on our longest hike and then swimming in a beautiful lake in the middle of glorious views -magic!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Hassan was professional, polite and friendly - an absolute gem.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take enough money for tips and extras! And it's a great trip if you like both culture and hiking.
  • Reviewed August 2018
    Sandor Burslem

    Favourite Exodus Trip

    Probably the best Exodus walking trip I have been on; incredibly well organised and paced, and a wonderful contrast between the very different delights of Marrakech and the Atlas Mountains.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The final long walk to the lake and back is gruelling but well worth it, the scenery is stunning, virtually not another person to be seen on the way, and the chance for a swim and a hot meal among the mountains when you reach the lake! Perhaps not inspirational, but sitting back with a drink in one of the rooftop bars in Marrakech looking at the view is very pleasant.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Hassan is friendly and very knowledgeable of the area, mountains and people. As I said, the organisation of the trip was fantastic; there is an awful lot that could have gone wrong with this, but everything was seamless.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    I was a bit apprehensive about visiting Morocco in August; the heat in Marrakech was intense but actually you get used to it after a couple of hours. There is more of a cooling breeze in the mountains and on each day there was a late afternoon thunderstorm (one very heavy), so don't ignore the advice to bring waterproofs! The gite at Tighza is very atmospheric and a lot more comfortable and well-equipped than I had expected, it's pretty much like staying in a hotel.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The first walking trip I've done outside my European comfort zone, and glad I did!
  • Reviewed June 2018
    Christine Lightfoot

    Atlas Panorama

    Our time in the Atlas mountains was a wonderful experience and we all found each walk very different and the scenery was stunning. Our Riad was basic but comforatble with a balcony giving superb views. The food was all local produce and typical of the area, making the whole mountain experience very authentic. Our visit to the local Hamman was a highlight and local village ladies that assisted in the ritual all helped to make the afternoon a very special one. One slight concern was that our walking guide Hassan was spending hours in the hot temperatures without any food or water as it was Ramadan. We all felt concerned that he was dehydrated by the end of the day. A lovely kind and experienced guide. We added a few more days on to our holiday to relax which made the walking break into a holiday! A wonderful experience.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The most inspirational moment of the trip was when we climbed to the top of the mountain and looked over the full mountain range of the Atlas Mountains. It was breathtaking.
  • Reviewed March 2018
    Abdul Janjirker

    Mr

    A well organised and smooth trip from booking to return back home. Stay in Marrakesh at the beginning and end of the trip was excellent. We were well looked after by our guide Hassan and the visit to the Medina and our free time was well balanced. Hotel Gomassine was clean and the staff very polite and helpful, Breakfast was plentiful and good, Plenty of shops and restaurants within walking distance for topping up with water supplies and food. Comfortable bus (air conditioning may not be working) for the trip to the mountain location but the ride gets bumpy once off the motorway - this is all offset by the amazing and wonderful scenery en-route. Such variable landscape and beauty. Good stopover points for refreshments and break. Walk to the Riad from Anmiter is exciting - new location and scenery. Twisting dirt track road and lovely scenery. Riad is basic accomodation but clean with great staff. Food is excellent! Daily organised walks will leave a memorable experience. Tough ascents but worth it. Carry plentiful water and energy snacks. Our guide Hassan had extensive local knowledge and the pace was reasonable for every level within our group. Walks started at 8 a.m. and mostly back before 4 p.m. Walking poles are very useful due to the nature of the terrain. Trip to the hammam is fun and refreshing. A really enjoyable trip!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Doing the Tizi'n'Ourghsan and Mt. n'Oughlagal walks - so different and the views and scenery were breathtaking.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Hassan was superb in ensuring that we enjoyed our trip whether in Marrakesh or in the mountains. Always at hand to answer our questions about the places, environment and ' what's next' - extremely knowledgeable. He looked after us during and walks and afterwards too. He was part of the group but everyone recognized and respected him as the leader. I would not hesitate in following him on another trip.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Visit the Jardin Majorelle Gardens and Berber Museum which is about 10-15 mins walk from Hotel Gomassine. It was very cold in the mountains during the day and night so warm clothing is necessary. take some extra snacks as there are no shops in the village. Just enjoy!!!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Really happy at the work and effort of Exodus in supporting the village and it's residents. Thank you for bringing water and electricity to the village.
Call us on 316 810 698