Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed November 2018
    David Hand

    Walking the Amalfi Coast

    A well organised and enjoyable trip. Just the right balance of walking and sight seeing. An excellent hotel with good food and drink.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Almost certainly the Pathway of the Gods, although the 2700 steps down to Amalfi was unusual walking for me!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    The best Exodus leader yet and I have been on a number of Exodus expeditions. Nothing was too much trouble for her and coming with us to see us off on the Capri ferry in Amalfi on her day off was the perfect example.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Yes, go in Oct./Nov. Good weather and no crowds. Proper walking boots and trekking poles are almost essential.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Once again a first class holiday.
  • Reviewed November 2018
    David Hand

    Walking the Amalfi Coast

    A well organised and enjoyable trip. Just the right balance of walking and sight seeing. An excellent hotel with good food and drink.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Almost certainly the Pathway of the Gods, although the 2700 steps down to Amalfi was unusual walking for me!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    The best Exodus leader yet and I have been on a number of Exodus expeditions. Nothing was too much trouble for her and coming with us to see us off on the Capri ferry in Amalfi on her day off was the perfect example.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Yes, go in Oct./Nov. Good weather and no crowds. Proper walking boots and trekking poles are almost essential.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Once again a first class holiday.
  • Reviewed November 2018
    David Hand

    Walking the Amalfi Coast

    A well organised and enjoyable trip. Just the right balance of walking and sight seeing. An excellent hotel with good food and drink.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Almost certainly the Pathway of the Gods, although the 2700 steps down to Amalfi was unusual walking for me!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    The best Exodus leader yet and I have been on a number of Exodus expeditions. Nothing was too much trouble for her and coming with us to see us off on the Capri ferry in Amalfi on her day off was the perfect example.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Yes, go in Oct./Nov. Good weather and no crowds. Proper walking boots and trekking poles are almost essential.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Once again a first class holiday.
  • Reviewed November 2018
    Heike Vehling

    Fascinating wildlife on land and in the sea

    Loved this island hopping adventure exploring the Galapagos on land and by sea. Going snorkling for the first time I was apprehensive but ended up loving it. This is not a trip to rush around, you truly get to appreciate the animals by taking your time and studying the differences or simply soaking up the colours and their playfulness.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Each island and activity on this trip was well worth doing. Snorkling with sea lions, sea turtles, the many colourful fish and underwater landscape - especially Kicker Rock and La Loberia beach. Strolling along the beach in Isabella seeing blue footed boobies and pelicans diving to feed on a shoal of fish was one of many highlights. The panorama walk along the volcano crater on Isabella.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Pablo looked after us well and made sure everything ran smoothly. He had good knowledge of all the areas visited and ensured the best local operators were used for boat trips etc. In addition we used local guides as required by the National Park.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take plenty of sun cream - it's very expensive to buy in Ecuador. The weather in October is mild to hot (20-30degC) and remains warm overnight (~20degC) but if you go on the wild camping trip on Isabella then overnight is likely to be much colder! If you don't want to buy a wet suit investing in a rash vest is a good idea as this gives you your own clothes under wet suit and makes taking it on/off easier + you will be warmer. You will spend ~1 hour snorkling at a time and being cold is not much fun. Depending where you sit you can get quite wet on some of the boat trips.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    On our trip the 2-day wild camping trip to Sierra Negra Vulcano, Isabella was replaced with doing same trek on one day due to volcanic activity (Exodus had notified us before the trip) - this is a much longer walk. Having walked along the crater the previous day I opted out and appreciated having free time in Puerto Villamil. On the other day we had a boat trip to Tunneles - which are volcanic rock bridges followed by snorkling. Everyone in our group agreed the alternative itinerary did not take away from the overall experience.
  • Reviewed November 2018
    Marion Perkins

    The title was a good description if the trip content. The grading was slightly out...we felt this should have been moderate not leisurely/moderate.

    It was a great holiday which I have already recommended to a couple of friends.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The climb to the rim of Vesuvius...The guide Stefan was excellent. He knew his stuff and led us well. The view from the top was breathtaking. Also The Path of the gods...a wonderful walk even in November..

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Martina was second to none. She was everything you could hope for in a leader; efficient, well organised, confident but also caring, light hearted and great fun. She was very knowledgeable about the area and enjoyed imparting that knowledge to us. She obviously loves her job.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Make sure you have the right gear which should definitely include at least one walking pole and shoes with good grip. Be aware also that the word leisurely applies rather to the pace of the walks than the type. Some are quite demanding.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I would reiterate my question about the grading of this trip...I feel a straight moderate would be more accurate. Another thing we have noticed about Exodus trips is that there is very little free time built in...It is often a rush to fit everything in AND relax. This may be due to packing lots into each holiday so is more of an observation than a grumble. My one disappointment was Pompeii which was always going to be a highlight for me. Our guide Andre(sp?) Was again excellent and imparted his knowledge with passion and panache ...but there was no time to linger and absorb the atmosphere...we were rushed from one place to another and felt at the end rather bombarded with information which we had no time to absorb.
  • Reviewed November 2018
    wendy pomfrett

    what an adventure

    I am absolutely not a camping person so this holiday was a challenge for me but the lack of luxury was well worth the up close and personal experience with the wild life. Our leader, Anton, and his amazingly efficient and friendly crew worked miracles under difficult conditions to make our lives as comfortable as possible. The food was varied and plentiful - quite remarkable given that most of it was cooked on an open fire. If you want to really see Africa, forego the comfort of the lodges and do it this way!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The moment when a pride of lions appeared from the bush and marched single file past our vehicle. The whole delta experience in the first few days.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Very professional and knowledgeable. He had excellent leadership skills which meant that the whole team worked efficiently and were at all times upbeat and happy.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    This is wild Africa - do not expect comfort so every little thing - a bush shower, a cold drink - will be a bonus. There is necessarily quite a lot of free time in the baking middle of the day so take a pack of cards or a travel game......and LOTS of wet wipes The vehicle is perfect for watching wild life but, if you are in any way incapacitated, it is not easy to get into it. Also be prepared for a long and very windy drive one day for which the vehicle is not best suited so take a scarf or buff to cover your mouth.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    This holiday is a real adventure. It is not easy to sleep at night as the bush is noisy and very hot but all this is worth it for the amazing wild life on your doorstep -and sometimes in your camp!
  • Reviewed November 2018
    Els Draper

    Wonderful autumn cycling trip

    Just returned from really great cycling trip. Lovely route - we chose this trip over ones with other companies because of the route, mix of the mountains and time on coast in Essaouria. This was our first trip with Exodus and my husband Graham and I were very impressed. Fantastic tour leader in Liz, she managed every aspect of the tour superbly - logistics with the support vehicles - during rides never more than 10k away from drinks etc and sweeper support at rear in case of incidents. On the route there are lots of long ascents and Liz described what to expect extremely well in terms of the uphills and downhills, no-one got into the van on any of the rides and I believe this was due in large part to Everyone having confidence in Liz’s descriptions and timing of stops etc. Coming over the high pass on day 3 we encountered very heavy mist, Liz managed the descent extremely well with everyone feeling safe and comfortable with the ride down. Fantastic fun group of people to ride with, everyone gelled and mixed in together really quickly and whilst there was of course a range of fitness and technical cycling ability, it was relatively modest and at stops it was on average 15mins between first and last of the group arriving. Due to nature of the trip, lunches are roadside picnics every day, these were simple but fresh and filling. Accommodation is also simple but clean, in the first couple of places in the mountains there was some issues with lack of hot water, but to be honest whilst this isn’t ideal I think you need to accept that this type of issue can happen when travelling in a large group in the mountains in Morocco. We were fortunate that weather was kind to us every day, if we’d arrived cold and wet lack of hot water would have been more of an issue. Support team with Liz were v friendly and helpful as well. Really recommend trip

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The cycling each day was varied and the scenery stunning. Whilst we had some very long ascents, the gradient was always manageable and rideable. The long sweeping descents are fantatsic fun, because of the quiet roads would say they were the best I have ever ridden

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Liz is an outstanding tour leader, knowledgeable, experienced, calm and organised! Everyone on the trip had full confidence in Liz. She described the rides every day really clearly, setting everyone up well for the ascents and descents - We adapated to Lizs definition of an “undulation” very quickly 😀 it was a full trip with 15 riders and liz maintained control at all times but didn’t mollycoddle or nanny us, giving more experienced fitter riders freedom to stretch out etc. We did experience extreme heavy mix on the steepest longest descent of the week and I thought Lizs management of this was superb. She positioned the support vehicles to protect us at the front and back and ensured we all maintained a controlled pace down. During rides Liz quietly but continually moves through the group from front to back checking everyone is ok Liz was also brilliant at keeping on top of bike maintenance, sorting out any tweaks needed quickly etc Finally each day Liz gave us background and historical context of places we were riding through / staying at. Couldn’t ask for more from a tour leader

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Really recommend Morocco for late autumn cycling and exodus trip was great itinerary. But come in knowledge that this isn’t a trip with long leisurely lunches / cafe stops or the comfiest hotels at the end of the days. It’s an opportunity to get away from it all in beautiful scenery experiencing local life in a lovely country
  • Reviewed November 2018
    Tory Bygrave

    Gokyo Lakes

    What can I say, it really has been a trip of a life time!!!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Two very different experiences stand out for me; the first being the day we crossed the Cho La Pass. An early start and steep climb led to fantastic views and sense of achievement at the pass. This was followed by a decent over the glacier and stunning walk into the next valley. The second was the opportunity to meet Mr Kanchha Sherpa, the last surviving team member of the 1953 Everest expedition and listen to his memories, arranged by and translated by our guide. Another once in a life time experience provided by this trip.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our lead guide, Tsering Dorgee Sherpa, met us from the plane and and looked after us until departure. His experience and knowledge ensured the whole group gained as much as possible from the trip and stayed safe. He along with our other guides Uwa and Nima were always professional but still made the trek entertaining and had a great sense of humor. I really felt the group were lucky to have been guided by this team.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Don't under estimate the trek, its tough but worth it. If you are going in the cooler season then prepare for the cold on the earlier starts, it really will make a difference to your trip. The Tea house accommodation was, on the whole, a lot better than expected and the food was always good. I took plenty of snacks, didn't need them all but glad I did. If you do take snacks make sure its food you really enjoy, peanut M&Ms were a great idea for me. If you are undecided between this and the normal EBC trek I would go for this without a doubt. Gokyo is stunning and Cho La pass an adventure.
  • Reviewed November 2018
    Lynne Bateman

    Best. holiday. ever

    Best. Holiday. Ever. I cannot recommend enough. CB is bloody amazing as a leader and guide. He's one guide I will always remember - most guides on adventure holidays are great but instantly forgettable. But his humour and patience meant I felt like he was a friend! Great knowledge and communication skills. A really well organised trip. Group size perfect too. Tents and mattresses perfect. Plenty of water and fruit. We were pleased that upon arrival we didn't hop directly in the canoes - we stayed at the mainland campsite (sunrise! Honking hippos!). This was fab because there is a shower block there and you are hot and dusty from the transfer/flight. The canoeing is awesome. The campsites were perfect. The food brilliant (I'm veggie). But the animals! My god! So many incredible experiences. I don't know if we struck lucky but every day got more amazing than the last. It's so much better to see animals from a canoe than from a Dusty 4x4. Lastly- the group were brilliant. Amazingly, there was no Holiday Wanker!! Tips: We got a kaza visa online, no drama - but you only need this is you are travelling after to Zimbabwe. You need a sticker in your passport not just a stamp! (Our first mistake). By the way, Livingstone is well worth a visit and CB organised a local bus for us. You need minimum kit - we washed in the river every day. As suggested, carry your canoe stuff ready to go in hand luggage. Bring a red light torch (for bugs) gloves (just in case) and definitely binoculars (We were so stupid!) And a zoom lens. And a bottle of rum?! We took a 10 litre dry bag each for clothes and another for the sleeping bag and then shared a camera bag.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The animals!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    He was just wonderful.
  • Reviewed November 2018
    Philip Atkinson

    Fantastic trip through Moghul India

    This was a great trip to be on, saw amazing sights; buildings, landscape, wildlife as well as having a chance to see and interact with local people. We cycled through some varied and interesting landscape as well as some that was dull. The roads were quite a mix, some better than the guides remembered from their last trip, others much worse. The heat was relentless on a few days due to lack of shade and start times being later due to coach transfers, this did cause problems and maybe needs more thought. I have to say that, after a few days cycling, most of us improved but the 34km extenI think the trip will be a five in future but it needs some tweaking of itinerary and trip notes to get there. sion on day eight seemed to be wasted as the countryside was probably the worst we came across, uninspiring. Overall a great trip though with a few adjustments to trip notes and tweaking of itinerary.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    There were a few, sorry! 1) The forts and palaces generally, especially at Jaipur and Udaipur 2) cycle up to Kumbhalgarh and visit to the fort 3) Morning guided heritage cycle around Jaipur, everyone thought that was fantastic 4) Ride through Sariskar NP buffer zone on day 10 5) Day 13 cycle through backroads to Fatehpur Sikri 6) And finally, the visit to the Taj Mahal, amazing

    What did you think of your group leader?

    We had two tour leaders who shared duties, Sanjay who was the most senior and Tapesh. I thought they were a good mix and ensured we had the chance to meet locals, especially in impromptu situations. They looked after everyone on the rides and catered for the varying levels of fitness and determination. Socially they were good fun as were the cycle rides. They made the trip in my opinion.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Don’t underestimate the heat and it’s impact on performance. Drinking plenty is difficult when the water in your bottle is 40C so try and mix with other drinks or take some squash or similar. Travel light, a bar bag is a useful thing to take rather than rucksack. Have camera handy for photos as you pass through small villages and chai shops.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    There were a couple of fairly negative people in the group who were disruptive towards the end, I thought the group leaders dealt with them quite well considering. Not sure of the benefit of the extra 34km on day 8, just made us late into Jaipur because of traffic. Also, there was no mention of the length of some of the transfers, the ones to Jaipur and also to Pushkar were very long but nothing in trip notes to indicate that, should,be more honest/explicit. On a separate note, the support staff were all very good and worked very hard.
Call us on 316 810 698