Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed January 2019
    William Thornton

    Amazing wild life

    This is my 4th Exodus cycle trip and it was great experience again. Very well organised on the ground with a great guide and support crew. Bikes were excellent and very well maintained throughout the trip. This trip is great for seeing all manner of wildlife and we were not disappointed. The weather was really nice except for one morning when it was cool and windy. I think this is really a wildlife trip first and a cycling trip second. Be sure that is what you are signing up to, there are better cycling trips I would say. The cycling is generally as graded with some decent steep climbs in places but most of it is quite manageable. My only comment would be that some of the rides don't seem to connect to each other very well and so it can feel a bit 'bitty' from day to day. Some great descents too! Accommodation is variable, some is excellent however a couple of places were poor but the standard in Costa Rica seemed pretty average to me anyway. Food is generally good but can be a bit repetitive at breakfast and lunch. Good standard generally. Drinks are not expensive if you keep to local beers. Most wine is imported. You can take/use either Dollars or Colones, both accepted virtually everywhere we went. Overall its well worth doing this trip.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The boat tour through the Tortuguero National Park on Christmas Day! Such a tranquil place and so much to see, Cayman Crocs were the star attraction but there was so much more to see. Great trip and so well pointed out by both the boat driver and our Exodus guide Andreus. Cycling on the beach at Playa Esterillos and the subsequent sunset with a cold beer! Seeing bananas being transported across a road like a level crossing stopping the traffic on a ski lift type carrier, now i know where they come from!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Andreus was a great guide, very knowledgeable about the wildlife and everything Costa Rica. He also was very well organised and had everything covered all of the time. Good sense of humour and easy to get along with. His support crew of Paulo on bike maintenance and always at the rear of the group was brilliant, an ex-pro-cyclist and so bikes were his life. Great motivator on the hills and so funny too! Lastly supported by Lausen the cool chilled one driving the bus and sorting everything else it seemed. Top rate team and very professional.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take sun protection and bug spray...and use it! Due to humidity drying of clothes can be difficult, take spare cycle shorts. Handle-bar bag is useful for camera and phone etc. Take a decent camera, compact with a decent zoom is ideal on the bike but otherwise a SLR wit a decent zoom. Lots of photo opportunities.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I liked Costa Rica, it felt a safe and a friendly place to go on holiday. Go early or stay over and do some extra days in Peninsula de Nicoya for example which we did, great opportunity to see more of this wonderful country. We also booked a water rafting day on the last day whilst waiting for the return flight. WIFI can be great to non-existent despite what you are told at each venue. That's how it is!
  • Reviewed January 2019
    Gary Brown

    Good cycling but a shame about the pollution in the cities.

    We've visited India twice before, the first time 20 years ago and then again 10 years ago, and so as keen cyclists we were excited about the prospect of cycling around the back roads of Rajasthan. The cycling was fantastic, along quiet country roads through small rural villages where everyone waves and shouts hello. Brilliant! But beware - after the cycling you end up in large cities where the levels of pollution are now so bad that it is not only unpleasant to walk around but potentially very bad for your health. I and 3 others ended up with chest infections and 2 of us couldn't cycle again for the remainder of the trip. Our trip was over Xmas and New Year and the hotels, although perfectly clean and adequate, had no heating and it was very very cold at night - we had to ask for extra blankets just to be able to sleep. Our leader Manu and all the support crew were excellent but the bikes were a little tired. Would I recommend this trip - No! Although the cycling was great the pollution in the cities is horrendous!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The cycling and the excitement of the local children.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Exodus like to promote responsible tourism and yet their tipping policy makes a mockery of this. Why is it necessary for the clients to subsidise the wages of the leader and support crew? Surely Exodus (and the company they subcontract to in India) should be paying these local people a decent living wage? I would certainly prefer to pay a little extra in the cost of the holiday if it would do away with this unpleasant tipping procedure.
  • Reviewed January 2019
    Jayne Evans

    Wonderful Adventure

    This non stop itinerary ensures a cluster of new experiences every day and an insight into so many aspects of Indian culture and history. Our guide, ‘Gaj’, was excellent. He was friendly, funny and a mine of information. This trip is a long way from relaxing - you need a lot of energy - but if you are an inquisitive traveler with an appetite for adventure and knowledge, I recommend this trip.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Ooo

    What did you think of your group leader?

    See above

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Ooo

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Ooo
  • Reviewed January 2019
    Michael Black

    Discover Sri Lanka

    An excellent trip, made by a wonderful leader. A really good variety of visits and activities. We gained a very good impression of Sri Lankan life, history, culture, natural history and politics.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Perhaps visiting the Tooth Temple in Kandy, but the variety of visits and activities was so diverse, it's difficult to select just one.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    The best ever. Thoroughly caring, and a brilliant organizer. It was always clear that he was keen to give use a very good impression of his country.
  • Reviewed January 2019
    Liz Laird

    I loved every minute of it!

    Just before I went I was getting apprehensive that I was spending 8 days with 13 other people I had never met, to share a room with someone I didn’t know, to cycle for 6 days in an unknown country and stay overnight in 5 different locations! I don't know what I was worried about, I had the absolute time of my life! The people, the country, the food, the guides, the scenery, the accommodation, the cycling; everything was perfect!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Whilst we were there a strike was called in Kerala; a state-wide bandh after two women entered the Sabarimala Temple. This meant that nobody was able to work from 6am - 6pm so we would have to cycle 55 miles instead of 25 miles as there would be no buses, plus we would not have our support vehicle and water, tea and lunch stops could be an issue. Shibu our tour guide was amazing as he still managed to sort out stops for us and as a group we all rallied together and were so supportive that the 55 miles were not an issue. Plus the upside of the strike was the roads were quiet! What a day and one I will always remember for the camaraderie, experience and laughs!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Shibu was fantastic as were Sherga who rode at the back and Franglin in the support vehicle. We couldn't of had better guides.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Go to Kerala it is amazing!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I have written a Blog about our trip; https://www.realbuzz.com/blogs/posts/1460620/what-a-way-to-see-the-new-year-in-cycling-along-the-tropical-keralan-coastline
  • Reviewed January 2019
    Harvey Trop

    Bermuda in Seven Days and One Pair of Shoes

    This was an fantastic trip. If you like sandy beaches, azure waters, history, and good walking/hiking, this is great adventure. In seven days, you will see most of Bermuda and the daily itineraries can be rearranged and adjusted to meet your personal interests. The Bermuda bus system is excellent and makes getting from place to place easy.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Watching the sunset on Elbow Beach was one of the highlights. Another was visiting Fort St. Catherine on St. Georges.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Since this was a self-guided trip, I can't talk highly enough about my leadership during this trip. [The arrival briefing provided by the Headwaters staff was excellent.]

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    The South Shore hike is the longest and seemed much longer than the distance in the guide. I would recommend using the bus system to bypass some sections of the Railway Trail on this hike. Alternatively, you can choose to forego one or more of the side trips, especially Hog Bay. [Definitely do the Horseshoe Bay section, however.) Carefully read all the daily guide materials before setting out. Some of the directions are dependent upon distances and having a good pedometer is useful. However, you're on an island, so even if you miss a trail marker, you can't get too far afield.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Thoroughly enjoyed my time spent on Bermuda. The Coco Resort dinner menu never changed. but you can mix and match starters and entrees to provide more variety. Also, the creme brule was disappointing, but most of the other desserts were good!
  • Reviewed January 2019
    Richard Bowman

    Amazing wildlife adventure

    What an incredible trip! Costa Rica is everything that we had hoped for and more. The wildlife and scenery was spectacular, and the tour gave us a great experience of all of the different areas of the country. Each day felt like it couldn't be topped only for the next to be even better. We had a magical Christmas in Tortuguero and New year in La Fortuna. Exodus had thought of everything to make the holiday special and our guide was simply awesome and really made the holiday. The hotels were in some great settings and grounds, were comfortable (more than adequate) but not luxurious. We would highly recommend for families that love nature, the outdoors and new experiences, and like to meet new people.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    It's really difficult to highlight a best bit as the whole trip was incredible. The boat rides on Christmas day in Tortuguero and seeing all of the amazing wildlife is hard to beat, being so up close, felt like being in a wild life documentary. Rafting was incredible fun and the guide was very funny. The beaches and warm sea were just gorgeous, especially when you thought of home! We really enjoyed sharing the experience and getting to know the other families. Relaxing at the end in Dominical and seeing the stunning pacific sunset. Our guide was very passionate about his country and we learnt so much not just about nature, but about the geography, history and government of Costa Rica. It was fascinating and not something you would necessarily know if you traveled independently.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our trip guide, Jonny, was simply fantastic. He'd won the award the previous year for exodus' best guide and it was easy to see why. As a guide he was incredibly attentive to the groups mood and needs and was always planning ahead so that our trip went as smoothly as possible and that we got the most out of our time. He was also a great ambassador for Costa Rica, using the journeys to tell us about the country's history and the lands we were traveling through. Above all he was a incredibly passionate and knowledgeable naturalist, helping us to spot some amazing wild life and learn a little of this fantastic country's eco-systems.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    I packed walking boots which were heavy, trainers are fine. You do need a waterproof as the weather can literally change in minutes! Be prepared to be up and out around 6/7am on trip days - this sounds early but the sunrise is 5.30am and everyone is up and about (also this is when you see the best nature and the UK time zone helps!). Your routine just adapts, early rise and early bedtime! Wifi was available in all hotels but signal patchy. A travel washing line is useful - we did do a laundry load in La Fortuna which was reasonable but hotels are not cheap. Food is generally not cheap. Budget as exodus advises and you'll be along the right lines.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    This trip has inspired us all to travel more and we would definitely use Exodus again and wouldn't hesitate to recommend them. Travelling over the Christmas/New Year period was a fantastic tonic!
  • Reviewed January 2019
    Jagdish Jethwa

    Intriguing India

    It was a wonderful experience and would have been 5* but for the fact that a/ we spent at least 4 whole days in the bus just travelling from one place to another and on 2 days the road was very poor and people with bad backs would have to take care b/ we should have been warned that the steep steps down to & climb back from the" double-decker bridge should be rated as 4* level of difficulty. It took many of us 3 days to get over the muscle ache. Although it was worth it, a couple of people could only make it down part of the way and others took a lot longer time to get back up. c/ Exodus insists on polluting Indian culture by introducing "compulsory" tipping. As an Indian person I know that no other Indian people tip the people Exodus tips and certainly not at the rate of nearly 4000 rupees a day. Adventure tour companies motto used to be - "Leave only foot prints, take only memories". Alas this is another way of extorting more tax-free money from travellers

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The amazing vastness of India and the multiple cultures languages and races. The Khasi people who are short in height but giants in being friendly

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Very professional.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    The Double decker bridge trip is much more difficult than the trip notes suggest. Change money early on as there are few opportunities for a few days.
  • Reviewed January 2019
    Tracey Lawrence

    It's not a holiday , it's an adventure!

    5421in across 5 countries (South Africa, Namibia, Botswana, Zimbabwe and Zambia). Cites, deserts, seaside destinations, vineyards and grasslands, national parks, rivers, waterfalls, boats, animals, birds, tents up, tents down, canyons, massive insects, being dirty, early rises for stunning sunrises and view points for reflecting the day as sunsets, incredible storms, an amazing group......it was one hell on an adventure!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    I just embraced the whole experience. Seeing lions again close up was just as exciting as the first time 6 years ago. The size and powerful spectacular Victoria Falls was breath taking and I recommend the helicopter flight.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    We had 3 leaders to 7 of us doing cooking and driving. All the leaders were friendly but Andy stood out doing the majority of cooking and driving. He was also great at animal spotting . My only comment would be that the guides did not talk much about the countries history and the people. Sylvia did open up when asked a question and was very knowledgeable, Jonathan came alive at Victoria Falls which was his home...just wish he had been that talkative and passionate throughout the trip. All meals in camp were varied and very tasty. They catered for all appetites and I couldn't fault the food prepared in camp and lunch on the road..... Just don't mention the mayonnaise 😂.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Comfy clothes for long drives. Our truck had plenty of USB charge points for devices. High strength deet. Expect to be dirty 😊 although facilities at all camp sites were sufficient. Whilst you are expected to put your tent up and down, we had a great group and all helped each other, as well as Jonathan and Andy our guides lending a hand. Take US dollars for Zimbabwe before you leave. No safety deposit on truck to use so we had to carry passport and valuable s at all times despite previous trips having had a safe box for use.our Expect early starts. the trip lacked engagement with people and culture.....but plenty of dramatic landscapes and wildlife.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Embrace and enjoy this adventure.....it was awesome!
  • Reviewed January 2019
    Edina Engelsman

    A fantastic, inspiring and diverse holiday!

    A fantastic holiday with lots of variety, things to do and see with some free time to explore parts of a city yourself. Our guide Khoa was excellent and thanks to him I feel I understand a bit more about the history of Vietnam! Delicious food everywhere!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    I loved the variety and had several special moments on this trip. Waking up on Christmas morning on Halong Bay with the sun shining and amazing views was just one of them. Walking around the lake and the backstreets in Hanoi early morning after just getting of the plane. So much to see! I would also recommend the optional visit to the Woman's museum in Hanoi. We enjoyed the overnight train journey to Hue. Really enjoyed the cycle ride in Hue despite the heavy rain and the optional cycle ride in Hoi Ann, which had a lot of surprises, including a ferry ride, going on the river in a basket, eating local snacks. The local guide was very enthusiastic! We left around 2.15 and did not get back to the hotel until 6 pm! Walking around in beautiful Hoi An with all the lights.The acrobatics show on New Year's Eve in Ho Chi Min was amazing. Then afterwards to experience the whole city buzzing for New Year's Eve, which according to our guide, was nothing compared to the crowds at the Vietnamese New Year celebrations! Following our guide through the throngs of people and mopeds to the river for an amazing fireworks display! I found the visit to The Cu Chi tunnels very interesting. It was worth getting their early with a 7 am start after New Year's Eve. The War museum in HCMC was very well put together, although at some point I had to walk out as there was so much suffering displayed. Also loved visiting the Mekong Delta. And of course not to forget the delicious food we had everywhere!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Khoa was an excellent guide. He was very organized, committed, knowledgeable, flexible and had a fun sense of humour. He made sure that everyone was looked after. He did an amazing job at New Year's Eve in Ho Chi Min to guide those ,who wanted to, through the crowds of people and mopeds to get to the river for an amazing fire works display. He also took us to some really nice restaurants and always had some dishes to recommend.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    We travelled as a family with 2 teenage sons who loved the holiday despites some early starts!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Looking back the only suggestion I have to Exodus is that I would have preferred one night less in Hue and Hoi An and spend those in the hills north west of Hanoi.
Call us on 316 810 698