Turtle, Ecuador

Review Centre

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

167 Reviews

  • Reviewed November 2019
    Paul Kelly

    Cape Town to vic falls

    A great full on trip seeing loads of animals, meeting many different local people.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Visiting townships and meeting locals, especially the children who were genuinely pleased to see us.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Very knowledgeable and caring, we were invited to a leaders home in a township for dinner, very good evening with singing and dancing.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Prepare for early starts, don’t pack non essentials, take $US and use atms.
  • Reviewed November 2019
    Lance Berryman

    Wild Namibia

    Dear Exodus: I have had the most wonderful expedition. I’d like to say a few words about the people that made it happen. Firstly I want to thank the support crew. Simson, Umbarra, Fritz, Matthias and Asa. These gentlemen turned camping into an art form. I’ve stayed at the best hotels and resorts around the world; this crew is second to none. Their attention to detail and service oriented guest first attitude is superb. They brought such an infectious positivity to the camp that it was impossible not to enjoy yourself. Did I mention the food? Asa catered to our every want and surpassed expectations every single night. This man is a genius on a camp fire. Absolutely remarkable. Hands down the best crew an expedition could want. I could go on and on about these guys. I don’t know how much you pay them but they are worth their weight in gold. Thank you to the crew, their efforts ensured this trip was a raucous success. Next I’d like to thank Tracks and Trails. I wouldn’t dare go into the wildly remote areas we ventured into without a solid plan B. Tracks and Trails seemed to have not only a plan B but a plan C and D for every possible scenario. The vehicles were the best and when the inevitable setbacks that will happen in this rugged environment occurred, they had our back every time. I was very impressed with how quickly they reacted and problem solved. I felt confident knowing I had a team working in the background that could solve any issue at the snap of a finger regardless of the distance, environment and terrain. I felt like nothing could stop us. Very well done Tracks and Trails. PJ. What can I say? The man is as legendary as Tarzan. His positive attitude combined with his no nonsense polite but stern business approach had all of us paying attention to the details that kept us safe. He was the pack leader. I have a great deal of respect for this man. PJ’s tracking skills were a marvel to behold; When he was tracking the desert lions I felt as if I was in a movie. He found us every animal we dreamed of seeing, then got us a better angle. Pj’s knowledge base is ridiculously extensive, I’d gamble he knows more about Africa than the Encyclopedia Británica; history, botany, geology, astronomy, flora and fauna, tribal ancestry.. the only thing he didn’t talk about was religion and politics. The only question he couldn’t answer was, “PJ, is their anything you don’t know?”. PJ catered to the group and the individual, birds for the birders, terra formations and geological history for the rock hounds, biology for the plant lovers, history for the scholars and everything you could want to know about mammals, reptiles, birds and insects. He even ran around overturning rocks to find us a scorpion when an interest was expressed. PJ is a gem, his leadership and people skills are enviable. When I come back to Africa I will find out what tour he is guiding and do that. I cannot say enough about his skills. Lastly, I’d like to thank Exodus. You’ve done an amazing job of pairing us with the very best local guides, support staff and logistics professionals. I’ve never travelled with Exodus before, I’ll never tour with anyone but Exodus from now on. Very well done. Superb. Thank you once again to everyone involved, I’m looking forward to my next adventure. Sincerely, Lance Berryman.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Black Rhinos.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    The best... see my other comments

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Dear Exodus: I have had the most wonderful expedition. I’d like to say a few words about the people that made it happen. Firstly I want to thank the support crew. Simson, Umbarra, Fritz, Matthias and Asa. These gentlemen turned camping into an art form. I’ve stayed at the best hotels and resorts around the world; this crew is second to none. Their attention to detail and service oriented guest first attitude is superb. They brought such an infectious positivity to the camp that it was impossible not to enjoy yourself. Did I mention the food? Asa catered to our every want and surpassed expectations every single night. This man is a genius on a camp fire. Absolutely remarkable. Hands down the best crew an expedition could want. I could go on and on about these guys. I don’t know how much you pay them but they are worth their weight in gold. Thank you to the crew, their efforts ensured this trip was a raucous success. Next I’d like to thank Tracks and Trails. I wouldn’t dare go into the wildly remote areas we ventured into without a solid plan B. Tracks and Trails seemed to have not only a plan B but a plan C and D for every possible scenario. The vehicles were the best and when the inevitable setbacks that will happen in this rugged environment occurred, they had our back every time. I was very impressed with how quickly they reacted and problem solved. I felt confident knowing I had a team working in the background that could solve any issue at the snap of a finger regardless of the distance, environment and terrain. I felt like nothing could stop us. Very well done Tracks and Trails. PJ. What can I say? The man is as legendary as Tarzan. His positive attitude combined with his no nonsense polite but stern business approach had all of us paying attention to the details that kept us safe. He was the pack leader. I have a great deal of respect for this man. PJ’s tracking skills were a marvel to behold; When he was tracking the desert lions I felt as if I was in a movie. He found us every animal we dreamed of seeing, then got us a better angle. Pj’s knowledge base is ridiculously extensive, I’d gamble he knows more about Africa than the Encyclopedia Británica; history, botany, geology, astronomy, flora and fauna, tribal ancestry.. the only thing he didn’t talk about was religion and politics. The only question he couldn’t answer was, “PJ, is their anything you don’t know?”. PJ catered to the group and the individual, birds for the birders, terra formations and geological history for the rock hounds, biology for the plant lovers, history for the scholars and everything you could want to know about mammals, reptiles, birds and insects. He even ran around overturning rocks to find us a scorpion when an interest was expressed. PJ is a gem, his leadership and people skills are enviable. When I come back to Africa I will find out what tour he is guiding and do that. I cannot say enough about his skills. Lastly, I’d like to thank Exodus. You’ve done an amazing job of pairing us with the very best local guides, support staff and logistics professionals. I’ve never travelled with Exodus before, I’ll never tour with anyone but Exodus from now on. Very well done. Superb. Thank you once again to everyone involved, I’m looking forward to my next adventure. Sincerely, Lance Berryman.
  • Reviewed November 2019
    Emma du Haney

    Namibia trip

    Stunning country Trip was very sedentary. More hiking options would have been welcome

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Sand dunes and wildlife at the watering holes in Etosha

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Shane was fairly good, but I think Exodus should make more use of local specialists, rather than have the tour leader act as guide the whole time. He needs to give more details to the group about timings, any kit needed for the day, etc

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take audio books for the long bus journeys

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The back up guide who did the cooking was very good. His food was much better than that in some places we stopped at in the day. We were served Oryx as main course 3 nights in a row. Better planning needed with the various lodges
  • Reviewed October 2019
    David Scott

    Rhinos and Deserts

    A trip into the deserts of NW Namibia to experience the desert landscapes and wildlife. The emphasis was on desert adapted animals, before moving to the rich wildlife of Etosha later in the holiday. There is a lot of mileage covered, and some long days, but Namibia is a big country. The ability to go off road in a 4WD onto the gravel tracks and dunes when wild camping provided an atmosphere of adventure which you don’t get when staying on tarmac roads.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    I found the whole trip inspirational, by its very nature what you see on any particular day isn’t guaranteed, but watching 3 desert lions having an argument over the springbok they have just killed, and watching a cheetah gorging itself on its kill was riveting. I had hoped to see a black rhino and we saw one on the first evening, got out of the vehicle and sat and watched it, after that we saw black rhino every day we were in rhino areas. Watching desert elephants meet up in a canyon and just sitting around the campfire of an evening reflecting on the day, with the stars above and the desert around were also highlights.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    PJ was an excellent group leader. He worked extremely hard to try and ensure we got as much out of the trip as possible. He had a good knowledge of plants, insects, birds and geology as well as the larger animals and tied in our wild life watching to the environment in which they lived. He worked hard, with the camp staff, (who were also excellent), to put a good meal on the table in camp every day, and let us know what was happening, what to look out for and review what we had seen and learnt about.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    The Swakopmund extension, which we did was on the whole worthwhile, but we hadn’t worked out before hand that it is around a five hour drive there and back, so in fact it is only one day in the town itself.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    This is a trip with a real sense of adventure as going off road into the Palmwag concession gives a sense of isolation. The Namibian people are very friendly and I look forward to going back someday.
  • Reviewed October 2019
    Joanne McMullan

    Cape Town to Victoria Falls Lodging

    Have just completed this epic journey and can honestly say it’s been one of the most memorable trips I’ve ever taken. It’s really more of an expedition than a holiday, but for that very reason delivers so much. We covered around 5600km in 3 weeks so that involves a lot of early starts and long days spent bumping about on dusty, rocky roads. The diversity of experience however makes it totally worthwhile - from the hustle and bustle of Cape Town to the red sands of Namibia and the quiet majesty of the Okavango Delta.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    For me, the most inspirational moment was when our guide Timon organised for us to have dinner with a local family in one of the townships in Swakopmund. I have never been made to feel so welcome by complete strangers in my entire life. The memory of the hospitality, good humour, excellent food and crazy dancing will stay with me to the end of my days.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Timon was absolutely superb, demonstrating great patience, empathy and outstanding leadership throughout. Some of my best memories are as a result of the nights we spent listening to his stories from years of experience in the tourism industry - all told with such energy and genuine enthusiasm. He was also an exceptional cook - anyone who can rustle up Chicken A La King from the back of a truck in the dust and heat in the middle of nowhere gets my seal of approval! A real asset to Exodus.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Please, please come with an open mind and prepare to step out of your comfort zone. You will stay in a variety of places - some very comfortable, some less so .... they’ll all be clean and safe. That’s all you need. Also, take the advice of your guide/s. They are all well trained and know the conditions/circumstances on the ground. You’ll get so much more out of the trip if you just go with the flow and let them lead the way.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Africa is a huge and diverse continent. There are sights and sounds you’ll never encounter at home, and some traditions and conditions that might make you uncomfortable. The landscape is incredible and the food is top quality, but for me it was the people who made my trip - from fellow travellers to our crew and the local people along the way. If you take the time to listen to their stories, your experience will be even richer. Oh, and finally, take more $$$ than the trip notes suggest - I think the amount recommended somewhat underestimates how expensive the countries visited actually are.
  • Reviewed October 2019

    Oct 19

    The cycling was hard on gravel and sand roads in 35 degree heat with a head wind. If you are not experienced in off road this trip will feel more like a grade 4 . Saying that some of the riding was amazing. Riding on the fat boy cycles over the dunes for nearly 4 hours was amazing and should be on peoples bucket list. The wild life matched expectation , Elephants, lions, white and black Rhino,cheaters. Camp sites were clean but basic, they were lovely sitting in the dessert watching the stars.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Cycling in the game reserve on the last day was brilliant . 3 1/2 hours of off road cycling next to white Rhino , an experience not to be missed.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Hanz was very good . He changed the cycling when the weather was too bad ( sand storm) . As their was only one cycling guide for a group of 12 he managed to accommodate us all.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    If you you go when we did I would take a sheet to put on the mattress as well as a sleeping bag as some nights it was too hot with the sleeping bad Their were very few chances to wash clothes. Head touch was a must . Stock up on snacks when you can as shopping is very limited
  • Reviewed October 2019
    Bridget Bennett

    Exceeded all expectations

    This trip was fantastic from beginning to end. The scenery, particularly in Namibia, is stunning and amazingly varied, and the wildlife viewing (again particularly in Namibia) outstanding. We saw lions mating, black rhinos fighting, several visits by herds of elephants to the waterhole in the Etosha campsite, a cheetah with cubs, and a huge number and variety of other animals. All four boat trips were great, and very different from each other. The desert scenery, en route as well as at the main places we visited, was beautiful. Camping was more comfortable than I'd expected, with camp beds, as was the truck, and we had great food throughout. Also the hotels in Swakopmund and Cape Town were excellent. And of course our guides (Ende, Timon and Tariro) were all excellent - good company and so knowledgeable about not just the wildlife but the culture and history of the countries we passed through. Timon was an excellent and inventive cook, and Ende kept us all safe (and got us to the front for the climb up Dune 45!), while Tariro kept us entertained.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    There were too many inspirational moments to settle on one, but if I had to choose, seeing herds of elephants on several occasions visiting the waterhole in Etosha was probably the very best.
  • Reviewed October 2019
    Maureen Spinks

    “When I’m 64 .....”

    What a way to celebrate a birthday! Lunch at Palmwag Lodge then an evening round the campfire and a delicious meal at our remote campsite in the Palmwag Concession. We had looked at this trip in the Exodus brochure for some time and at last got round to booking it - it was brilliant! We have travelled extensively in Africa, but we now feel that we have been thoroughly spoilt by having the opportunity to travel and camp in this remote part of Namibia. Our enthusiastic leader, PJ, and the brilliant camp crew comprising Simson, Fritz and Asser, made this a memorable safari. Namibia, for its combination of desert scenery and wildlife, is unparalleled. It is a barren, beautiful country where, compared with other parts of Africa, wildlife can appear thin on the ground, but PJ, did an excellent job in imparting his knowledge on the flora and geology and increasing our knowledge of what makes this fragile environment so special and what makes it work. This is not a standard “big five” game-watching safari, but if you want a real safari in awesome scenery with quality sightings, this could be the trip for you.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Tracking a desert lion for a couple of hours. A male lion has at last returned to the Hoanib River system. PJ spotted his tracks, but the lion kept disappearing into the scrub, and it was a case of trying to pick up the spoor again. At last we found him and had an excellent view of this majestic creature. A record number of black rhino sightings - the most exciting one being the one we tracked on foot. Lots of desert elephants with their huge feet. You can see large herds of elephants in other parts of Africa, but seeing these magnificent animals in the desert environment is a sight to behold. My husband, who went on an additional early afternoon ride with PJ and a few others, enjoyed a memorable hour or so tracking three giraffe across the plain. Seeing honey badgers in daylight in Etosha. The chance to experience wild camping in the Palmwag Concession - but with little luxuries like a bedside lantern, wash-basin outside the tent, a hot shower - oh, and wine goblets!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    PJ was an excellent leader - his sheer exuberance and delight when he was on the scent of a creature was very infectious. He was keen for us to have the opportunity to track animals on foot. No, I definitely wasn’t going to track a rhino when PJ suggested it, but somehow I found myself joining the eight others in our group to get closer to a black rhino on the crest of the hill. I would have missed out if I hadn’t gone. And, thanks to PJ who helped me on the rougher sections, I was able to make it to the top of the Waterberg Plateau.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    A tip whilst on safari - If there are two of you sharing a tent, try not to take too much luggage. If you have booked to go on the Swakopmund extension, this is the format. You will be dropped off at the Hilton Hotel in Windhoek and collected by the Weliwitschia Shuttle, a minibus used by many of the locals, arriving at the guesthouse 6-6.30. The Walvis Bay boat trip, which was originally advertised in the Trip Notes, was replaced a couple of weeks before we left for Namibia by a Living Desert Safari. Whilst it would have been nice to have had more notice of this change, the Living Desert Safari was brilliant, going out into the sand dunes behind Swakopmund and concentrating on “the little five”. We then carried on with a further self-organised trip to Sossusvlei.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Book this safari - you won’t be disappointed. If you have the time, we thoroughly recommend adding extra days.
  • Reviewed September 2019
    Debbie Moors

    An incredible fortnight

    Quite simply this wasn’t just the best safari I have been on, it was the best holiday I have ever had - I just wish I had done it sooner! I knew Namibia was special when I realised that even on the long drives I was just gazing out the window enjoying the incredible scenery which is unlike anything else I have experienced during my travels in Africa. The wild camping in the Palmwag Concession and Haonib River Systems was fantastic with us barely seeing another vehicle during the whole time. In Palmwag we were fortunate enough to see numerous black rhino one of which we were able to approach on foot under the careful supervision of our guide, PJ. In Haonib we spent time with the desert elephants and again made an approach on foot. The highlight though was our guides skill and determination in tracking a desert lion for two hours which paid off with a memorable sighting. Etosha was fabulous with plenty of wildlife ranging from the big (elephants and rhino) to the small (honey badgers and a leopard tortoise). Every day we were expertly looked after back at camp by Simpson, Fritz and Asser and kept well fed with fabulous meals. Whether you’re thinking of doing your first safari or are an old hand, I cannot recommend this trip enough. I’m already planning a return visit to this spectacular country.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    There were two special moments. The first was the rhino approach on foot in Palmwag. Initially we simply got out of the vehicle and watched the rhino from a distance. PJ then assessed the situation and took us on foot to a closer vantage point. It was fantastic to watch such a majestic creature without disturbing it. The second was tracking the desert lion in Haonib. For the best part of two hours PJ followed the lions tracks before eventually we found the young male. Watching him walk along the river system was a sight to behold.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    PJ was the best group leader I have had to date. His enthusiasm and passion for Namibia and his job were evident from day one. His knowledge spanned not just the animals and birds of the area but also the geology and history. On those days where we had downtime in the afternoon between lunch and the scheduled afternoon game drive he would go the extra mile and take out members of the group who wanted to go on an additional drive. For the photographers in the group PJ did all he could to make sure the vehicle was positioned so that everyone got the best shot possible. He was also able to read where the animals were moving to so that we could be in the right place at the right time. In the evenings PJ was on hand to make sure we were all having a good time and made sure we knew the plans for the following day.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Don’t let the camping put you off. This is a full service trip so everything is done for you. The tents are comfortable (beds, duvet, pillows, blankets, lamp all provided) and the camp assistants are amazing making sure everything is ready when you get back from the game drives. Some of the drives between camps are long (and bumpy) but the views make up for it. Coffee lovers - pack a thermos mug with you for the morning game drives as it will keep you going on those early mornings. Ladies - pack a sports bra or two for the bumpy roads! If you do the Swakopmund extension (which is worth it) be prepared for a long drive from Windhoek (about 5 hours). I would also suggest adding on an extra night to give you more time to explore.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Just go ahead and book!
  • Reviewed August 2019
    Michelle Claxton

    So many 'wow' moments

    I returned from this trip having experienced many moments which will last a lifetime, from seeing numerous animals in the wild or at watering holes to seeing the vastness of the Namib desert and the changing colour of the sand dunes. It really is a trip that is a photographers dream as you want to capture each and every moment. We were a group of 12 with ages ranging from early 20s to 70s and we all got on very well. Yes there were lots of long drives but these were broken up well. Accommodation was good and food often excellent. It certainly is a trip of a lifetime.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Seeing a large number of elephants at the watering hole at our lodge in Etosha. Having just finished dinner and thinking 'we'll just see if there are any animals at the watering hole' only to find around 25 elephants of various sizes and ages all drinking water alongside some zebra, springbok and oryx was truly magical. Also, seeing a pride of 12 lions on a game drive. Although not too close to our truck, it was still fascinating to watch them interact with each other.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Ronney was an absolute superstar! Nothing, literally nothing, was too much trouble. He had a fantastic sense of humour and laugh, and went out of his was to ensure each and every person on the trip enjoyed themselves. I never saw Ronney without anything but a smile on his face; he really is a man who loves his job. With a group of 12 with a range of dietary requirements, Ronney made sure that everyone was catered for and happy. Ruben, his assistant was also fantastic, creating amazing and huge lunch selections at the side of the road or BBQs of an evening. They are a great team and anyone getting the Ronney and Ruben combo on a trip will have struck it lucky!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    During the end of July and beginning of August the evenings and mornings get quite chilly - I underestimated how cold it could get - so bring lots of layers to cope with this. Swimming pools are not heated so unless very brave do not count on swimming. Money- Bring SA Rand as this is pegged 1:1 with Namibian Dollars and is easier to change back to Pounds Sterling if needed. Be aware of the cost of the flight over the dunes - many companies quote for this trip but often they outsource your business to another company and then the price goes up. Ensure you decide on optional excursions early so that you get to go on the ones you want. On this note - the quadbiking was excellent! The drives are long and sometimes on unmade roads. The truck does get very bouncy! Similarly on the game drive in the Waterberg Plateau. Female travellers may wish to pack a sports bra for comfort! It also gets quite dusty - a Buff or similar is useful to help keep the dust out of your lungs. When purchasing things from markets etc, listen to the starting price and then begin your offer very low, they trader will eventually meet you at a price that they judge fair, often 25% or the starting price. Don't be afraid to haggle hard.