Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed August 2018
    Barbara Woodward

    Great itinerary, great guide, let down by the bikes

    A fascinating route through four countries and taking in four capitals as well as beautiful countryside and gems of mediaeval towns (with excellent beer and ice cream). A good mix of cycling, beside the Danube and Voltava rivers, rolling pine forests, (most of the climbing comes in the first three days) countryside, excellent cycle paths and lots of history. Dana is a fantastic guide- gives great city tours, great sense of humour, excellent restaurant recommendations and a great cyclist.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Cycling along the Czech-Austrian border past the monument to those who had died trying to escape Communism.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Dana is outstanding, as a cycle guide/leader and city guide.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The bikes are like tanks. That was ok (up to a point) as it was the same for everyone. But the fact that chains came off repeatedly- several times a day- (even with experienced cyclists who were used to gear changes) was frustrating for everyone. The hotel in Budapest was a disappointment compared to the previous ones.
  • Reviewed August 2018
    jennifer stephenson

    vietnam adventure

    excellent trip with many highlights and brilliant guide --Son Nguyen

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    meeting the Hill tribe people in North Vietnam and the two home stays which were both lovely

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Son was brilliant and an excellent guide --- was fantastic

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    travel light --dont need to much luggage and move frequently so too heavy a bag is a pain for all concerned ! mosquito repellent is needed as we were bitten quite a bit even though mosquitoes were not immediately obvious - bring a refillable bottle for water go to some spin classes for the cycling --although distance not great it was hard work in that heat =-!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    altogether was a great trip and would recommend i! we would certainly do another exodus trip if we travel to other destinations and felt it was very well organised leader was great and many thanks for looking after us so well!
  • Reviewed August 2018
    Ross Pezzack

    Explore and discover the Baltics

    I enjoyed discovering an area of Europe I knew little about. Visiting many areas of all 3 countries. Guide well organized and itinerary good. Only problems were Tallin hotel (hot weather but no AC and some rooms no windows to open) and lunch dinner stops sometimes very slow service. Hotels in good locations.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    History of all 3 countries.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Organized, able to express local passion for small countries surrounded by larger powers. Very good.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    We flew into Helsinki and took ferry to Tallin so we got a quick Finland visit. Ferry docks within walking distance of hotel.
  • Reviewed August 2018
    Norma Upfold

    A bird's eye view of Romania

    Romania is a wonderful country, fantastic scenery, architecture and mostly warm, friendly people. This tour was a quick "taster" of the main highlights. Unfortunately, the tour was not well organised, distances are vast although this was not reflected in itinerary travel times, nor was the coach very comfortable. We often arrived late evening & only managed rushed explorations of the beautiful Transylvanian towns. Most of the hotels were good, but the hotel in Brasov did not serve any food or drinks on Sundays, which was a big problem as it was well out of town , up a very steep hill. The Railway Hotel was fun for 1 night only NOT 2!! The 2 showers in the female block had faulty drainage, not pleasant showering in a shower tray full of water, particularly if it was someone else's shower water. The wild dogs, there were many of them, had fun running up & down the train carriage corridors all night, not my idea of a restful night's sleep!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Visiting Viscri & having the most fantastic, simply cooked peasant lunch in an old barn in the village. The food & setting were unforgettable.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our group leader was unfortunately not really interested in the job. He lacked social skills and often made little attempt to communicate or interact with us. I have already expressed my reservations in a letter to Exodus management.
  • Reviewed August 2018
    Paula Walker

    Fantastic

    Just got back from an amazing week of cycling in this lovely country. Our leaders, Tudor and Livio were wonderful, so kind and considerate, so knowledgeable about this history and culture of their country, superb English, they made this trip fun and interesting. The cycling was challenging on varied road surfaces but the scenery, views of the mountains and seeing rustic farming methods, scythes, horses & carts etc more than compensated. At the end of a hot day of cycling Livio was there offering cold beer and watermelon. At each comfort stop he was there with coffee, tea, a sweet from the region and fruit. Nothing was too much trouble. The accommodation was great, very clean and comfortable, and the hosts welcoming. As a vegetarian I was well catered for. I can recommend this holiday.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    In Viscri towards the end of the tour, watching the cows, horses and goats Being herded from the fields down the Main Street and finding their way to their own homes. An amazing sight. I was up at 6:15 the next morning to watch them all emerge from their homes and congregate in the street to away their journey back off to the fields. Each house in Viscr appear to own it’s on cow so there were quite a few.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Tudor was amazing, so very kind and thoughtful with a lovely sense of humour. We pulled his leg about his pronunciation of a few words, but his English was very very good. And his knowledge of Romanian history was encyclopaedic.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take a gel saddle cover for extra comfort, and a tube of sudocreme. Romania is a very cheap country to visit, for a week I took out £120 for tips, a couple of meals out, drinks, ice creams and other incidentals...and that was plenty. Investigate Strava for your phone beforehand.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    See Romania before it becomes more developed, already buildings for tourists are being constructed. And enjoy beer at 60p/ pint and ice creams at 40p/ cone.
  • Reviewed August 2018
    Robert Parkes

    Hard walks bring great rewards

    This is a hard but doable walk that rewards you with enough views for a life time. The fitter you are the more you can enjoy. K2 and Concordia are unbelievable. Sara Bull and the guides are professional and as well as ensuring you are safe give lots of encouragement. A trek of a lifetime.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Seeing Gilkey memorial and meeting climbers who reached the summit of K2

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Sara Bull and her team are top guides and all work,from cooks upwards, to make it happen for you.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Get as fit as you can. Buy the biggest hand gel you can. Much of the water you will drink is warm. Most streams are full of mica can clog filters. Think about a filter bottle and watertogo bottle. Bring a bottle of coke from Skardu for the first few days. Tummy bugs are usual...try and avoid.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Enbrace any problems and enjoy
  • Reviewed August 2018
    Karen Morrow

    A beautiful place!

    This was a lovely trip! The 'Picos De Europa' area in northern Spain is vast but little known and there are very few tourists compared with elsewhere in Spain. It is surprisingly 'Alpine' in feel, with beautiful with high, pointed mountains, interspersed with some lovely, flowery meadows. Goats, wild horses and light-brown cows with big bells wander around everywhere. We very much enjoyed walking in this area, with our friendly, competent leader, Nacho. The lovely, family-run hotel is simple but comfortable and very friendly - nothing is too much trouble. The home-cooked food - a choice of three main courses daily - is surprisingly good and the lunch 'rolls' were MASSIVE with lots of filling! Any fairly fit walker would love this trip and I would highly recommend it.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The panoramic views from the very top of the highest mountains (considerably higher than any in the U.K!)

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Nacho was quiet but had a real sense of humour and was a good leader. He had a thorough knowledge of the area. He walks everywhere with a big, black brolly to prevent the sun from getting to him, which seemed a good idea considering the VERY high temperatures we had for the first couple of days!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    We were lucky with almost all dry weather but it can change fast so I would advise anyone to take good waterproofs and plenty of sunscreen, plus a sun-hat too! A walking pole (or two) is very helpful on this kind of terrain. The gin and tonics in the hotel were very large, quite cheap and delicious....!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    This area should be better known. It is quite idyllic
  • Reviewed August 2018
    Deepak Malhotra

    Fabulous sightseeing and walking holiday

    Fun group, stunning scenery, enjoyable walks, lovely hotel, food and wine - what's not to like?!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Walking around Pompeii and understanding what really happened....

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Martina was truly fun, friendly and tried her best to look after us all. She was also very patient!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Do it!
  • Reviewed August 2018

    Paradise in Asturias

    Having never heard of the Picos, but liking the pictures, I was pleasantly surprised at the grandeur of the mountains. A stunning location, you won't go hungry nor will you be disappointed.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The last day of the trip, being rewarded with a fabulous scramble to the last summit of the trip and by far the best views. We stood looking into the distance where the clouds were, and stood above the cloudline marvelling at the spectacle greeting us.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Nacho is an interesting guide whose sense of humour seemed to grow as the week went on. He was kind, gentle and seemed to know how to treat everyone from very early on, understanding of people's needs, especially when you are unwell. He's fantastic at topiary creations (!) and has many uses for an umbrella. Knowledge of fauna was excellent, flora not so, my only E.B.I. of the week.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    If it's going to be warm, bring some rehydration/electrolyte powders/tablets. Nacho, i'm sure, has shares in Aquarius and mineral salts!! Be prepared for mud on one of the days.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Hotel Torreceredo is in a fabulous setting, with a well stocked bar and delicious food. The staff are incredibly friendly. Take their advice when they offer it, they knew best about almost everything with their decades of experience!!
  • Reviewed August 2018
    Neil Thomas

    How many elephants does it take to fill a waterhole?

    I always hope that my annual holiday will deliver a "wow" moment. This trip delivered three. Firstly, the trip from Sessriem to Walvis Bay was astonishing, passing through several radically different environments in one day - from the fringes of the Namib desert, via plains and mountains to the sea; then the incredible views from Vingerklip - reminiscent of California; then best of all the proliferation of wildlife at Etosha - we had 40 elephants young and old playing at the waterhole just yards from where we were sitting at Okaukuejo. Then there were the walking lions, the sleeping lions, zebras, springbok, kudu and a dozen giraffes at another waterhole. Oh, we finally got to spot a family of wild cheetahs after a long game drive near Namatoni. Mustn't forget Dune 45 and Dead Vlei and the fact that often ours was the only vehicle on the road.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Etosha, Etosha, Etosha. I guess we were particularly lucky to visit during the dry season, but even though I knew our chances of seeing the "big" mammals would be good, I could not have predicted the vast numbers we actually saw. We ticked off more than 40 species of animal - birds and mammals - in Etosha overall.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Shane was quite a character who clearly knows Namibia well and is proud of his country. He ensured everyone in the group got what they wanted from the trip. Our driver, Benson, was also a star, coping with the harsh African roads, despite having to repair a double puncture and a shattered window. He also proved to be a decent campsite cook.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    If you love spectacular scenery and spotting wild animals, then this is a must trip for you.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    We took South African Rand to Namibia from the UK and this was readily accepted as if it was their own currency. We also flew out a day earlier than the group. This gave us a chance to look round Windhoek, but also meant we had the opportunity to recover from the overnight flight before starting the tour.
Call us on 316 810 698