Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed January 2019
    Catherine Larkin

    15 day Discover Sri Lanka trip from Sun 30 Dec 18 to Sun 13 Jan 2019

    An absolutely fab holiday. It exceeded all my expectations. Top top top class Sri Lankan tour guide was one of the highlights. Very well paced. Fantastic variety of activities , often x 2 per day, as well as plethora of places to visit .Activities sometimes meant being organized to get up at 6am to climb up a beautiful rock or spent walking three hours to the ‘world’s end’ , to cycling, water river rafting under the bridge built in 1956 for the movie ‘Bridge over the river Kwai, to taking a train journey from a height of nearly 2,000 meters to just under 1,000 M. Whale spotting, beach side hotel to relax in, a long day on Safari seeing everything BUT the elusive Leopard. We had x 3 days in the lovely town of Kandy and saw their splendid Botanic gardens as well as visiting a gem shop to learn about their famous Sapphires from a gemologist - Princess Di’s ring came from here. Interesting diversion to an Aryuvedic herbal clinic where we had an interesting talk from a long qualified herbalist as well as neck, shoulder and face massages,, Got to sample locally made Sri Lanka curries made by a family almost in the middle of the jungle. Also had a meal in one of the houses that Exodus built for people who lost homes in the 2004 Tsunami when 50,000 Sri Lankans perished. I almost forgot - a trip to a tree plantations/factory is also organised and yes, you will definitely wish to bring some home - prices v reasonable! Very comfortable bus to ride on and all 9 hotels, bar 1, were top class. Our tour guide was immensely informative on all aspects of Sri Lankan life, culture, history as well as past and current politics. He was also extremely kind and attentive and looked after each person,s needs, no matter how diverse or demanding!! Yes, a trip I shall have fond memories of for many a year. I highly recommennd it if you relish adventure, activity and good fun.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    There were many, may....every day was special so cannot say....

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our leader, Dilepps Fernanda, deserves a gold medal for his guidance of our trip. His in-depth knowledge of his country and its customs was superbly matched by his ever willingness to deliver it. Added to that his kindness and consideration foreac and every single member of our group made our trip one of top class. I have been on many other Exodus, Explore, Travel Department (Irish co) and also,other travel companies organised holidays in Europe and worldwide and I can say without a shadow of a doubt that I have never before experienced the charm, expert care, guidance and consideration of a guide that marches this person’s. You are very lucky to have him as an employee, in my view. His sense of humour was a delight and further added to our enchantment with this superbly organised and delightful adventure. Congratulations all round but specifically to Dilepps who deserves the Best Exodus Leader of the year and by a very long shot!!! He is a wonderful asset for the Exodus company!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be prepared for a wonderful, activity-fueled and adventurous holiday. Leave all of your worries at home and be present for every day of this spectacular holiday. Bring lots of skin Factor, Mosquito repelllanr, a sun hat and extra cash. The small print mentions rewarding your guide and coach driver and his aide. (Well deserved) Not everyone on our trip was prepared for this eventuality.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I was so glad that the trip lasted 15 days. I usually take 1 week-10 day hill walking trips with Exodus/Explore. After my experience on this one I shall only partake in two+ week breaks from now on. Congratulations Exodus. I take my hat off to you for puttting together this 15 days of excitement, fun and adventure. Thank you very much!
  • Reviewed January 2019
    Ross Bishop

    A myriad of wildlife in the heart of Africa

    This trip packs in a huge variety of wildlife experiences over a great distance in three scenic and friendly East African countries.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    There were many highlights. For this trip, the Masai Mara provided the greatest inspiration. Our group was so fortunate to see multiple close up lion sightings, a leopard up a tree and a successful cheetah hunt amongst many other animals. The Mara is totally worthy of its global fame as a premier game reserve. On this occasion, our good fortune in Kenya just pipped the excellent gorilla and chimp tracking days in Uganda.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our Kenyan team, consisting of the tour leader driver, chef and camp assistant worked so hard evrry day and did so in cheerful spirit that made them a pleasure to be around.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be prepared for long drives on bumpy roads, particularly in Uganda. The gorrila tracking involves difficult underfoot conditions and the length of the hike to see the gorillas can't really be predicted in advance. No one in our group opted for the Kazinga Channel boat trip, this didn't matter as the included boat trip at Murchison Falls was outstanding, particularly for birds. Temperatures are generally moderate in this part of the world due to altitude, but Murchison Falls is lower and was therefore hot.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I've been lucky enough to go on a few African safaris over the years and this one was definately the best. Anyone put off by camping should be assured that the tents are fairly spacious, the camping mats are comfortable and that showers are reasonable at the majority of the campsites.
  • Reviewed January 2019
    Conor Carr

    A great intro to snow-shoeing in a really beautiful place

    A great intro to snow-shoeing in a really beautiful place, with 'warm up days' to learn how to do it.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The beautiful scenery and lots of snow was definitely a highlight of the trip for me, helped by a nice, friendly group of people, great leader and hospitable, generous hosts at the Vila.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Very good! Thomas is a great leader, he looked after everyone well, and knows a lot about the area and history and has good humour too.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Don't forget your yaktrax, gaiters and lots of layers of clothing! You will be cold at the beginning of the treks but warm up quickly so it's good to have the option of taking layers off. Although the breakfast and evening meal are substantial (plenty for everyone), I advise taking extra snacks for lunch and a thermos flask for hot tea.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    A great trip for those wanting an intro to snowshoeing. This is a beautiful area, full of history.. I'd also suggest a day or two in Bucharest to visit the parliament building and museums (history museum was interesting)
  • Reviewed January 2019

    A South-east Asian adventure!

    An adventure off the beaten track, and a great opportunity to experience Laos while it's still relatively undeveloped. A very well organised trip - packs in a lot and runs like clockwork.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Lots! The children in the villages. Luang Prabang - beautiful setting and buildings. The trip down the river. Dropping in for lunch unannounced one day and the local café owner turning on a fantastic meal for 16. Elephants on the Mekong. The two border crossings. The freedom that comes from being on a bike!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Rit is fantastic - very well organised, friendly, funny. Mr Sack, our Laos guide, was terrific too, and both support crews (Thailand and Laos) did a great job looking after us.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    This is an adventure rather than a holiday, but a lot of fun for all that. The distances are on the longer side and there's not a lot of free time. You need to be fairly fit as the terrain is hilly in places. The food was great and the accommodation was very good, including in the smaller guesthouses in Laos. The one at Pak Beng is a treat. Don't miss the elephants coming down to wash in the river in the morning! The roads are pretty bad in places, and sharing them with Chinese lorries in a couple of spots wasn't much fun - but the tour leader was flexible and found ways to avoid some of this. The UXO museum in Luang Prabang is worth a visit.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Thanks for a great trip!
  • Reviewed January 2019
    Keith Dipper

    A really amazing trip

    The route of this tour encompassed all types of terrain which provided stunning views. The accommodation mainly in guesthouses was so much more interesting than staying in posh hotels. The tour guides took us to some really good restaurants and were informative and helpful adding substance to the cyclin.g

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Cape of Good Hope

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our group leader ensured the tour went off smoothly

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    TAKE factor 50 suncream

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    A gazebo would have been nice to,provide some shade when we stopped for refreshments
  • Reviewed January 2019
    Keith Dipper

    A really amazing trip

    The route of this tour encompassed all types of terrain which provided stunning views. The accommodation mainly in guesthouses was so much more interesting than staying in posh hotels. The tour guides took us to some really good restaurants and were informative and helpful adding substance to the cyclin.g

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Cape of Good Hope

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our group leader ensured the tour went off smoothly

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    TAKE factor 50 suncream

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    A gazebo would have been nice to,provide some shade when we stopped for refreshments
  • Reviewed January 2019
    kim simkins

    Great mix of culture and scenery

    A busy itinerary packing a lot in a short time, but giving a real taste of the country. An odd mix of frenetic activity, bustling cities and spiritual calm of the temples! Some beautiful scenery and the climb up Sigiriya was worth every step!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Elephants in the wild and alongside the road, Sigiriya at sunset Lakeside location of the Tanks Cave temple at Dambulla Lunch in the local people's house, eating off banana leaves with fingers

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Group leader was very good, polite, organised, and good at trying to keep everyone happy.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be prepared for some long drives on pretty chaotic roads with a lot of traffic so takes a long time to cover short distances. Hotels quite variable, relatively expensive. Watch your drinks, we were served measures of water with lime instead of gin on new years eve! Reasonable level of fitness helps as there was quite a lot of walking involved around sites with a climb up Sigiriya which might not suit those with vertigo

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Unable to do the optional day to Knuckles Mountain Range trip due to rain and they couldn't give us anything else for less tha 8 people. We ended up doing our own hike up the mountain at the back of Kandy and visited the tea plantations and museum.
  • Reviewed January 2019
    Janet Godwin

    Multi coloured Morocco...

    Could not fault the tour. Wonderful experience, excellent tour guide Yeoseff and driver Mohammed. An absolute assault on the senses. Crossed a variety of terrain: gorges, dessert, oasis, mountains, plains, dams, lakes, villages, towns, Medina's, souks... Never boring. Temps cold in mornings and high in afternoon made an interesting challenge.The pretty constant lack of hot water and completely erratic heating was counteracted with a warm welcome and absolute charm everywhere we went. If you are travelling in January take your thermals! It was very humbling to be cheerfully offered tea and cakes by a Berber mother with a babe on her back who had just hauled water up the mountain on a donkey and entertained by her son spinning his prize possession a spinning top. The house was freezing but her and her son's smile electric. We should all be thankful for what we have. Thank you for such a mind blowing and beautiful holiday.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Walk across dessert to Berber village.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Fantastic, calm, professional, unflappable and constantly charming and vigilant. Thank you.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Check the weather, take thermals if winter. Don't grouse about lack of water n heat, go with the flow. Don't suspect the lovely Moroccoans, it's very safe and the hospitality amazing. Don't expect high quality food but there is no lack of it. Everything is carbohydrate heavy and they may not drink but their drug of choice is sugar!!!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Just go it's a magical place.
  • Reviewed January 2019
    Miranda Wheatley

    Fantastic winter breaker.......

    A very welcome winter break with fantastic, positively challenging walking in the gorgeous Aitana range. Great views from the summit, walking in the sunshine, combined with great food, company and an outstanding leader, I would recommend this trip to any keen, confident walkers who fancy an escape from the winter.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Reaching various summits with breathtaking views across the Aitana range. The journey's to the summits were challenging but do-able and made fun whilst walking with a terrific group of like minded walkers and an outstanding leader.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Jaime is an experienced, knowledgeable, confident, passionate, kind, caring, people focused individual with Michelin star qualities for making superb sandwiches and surprised us daily with extra treats to keep us going. He's got a very kind and gentle way, supporting those who need it and is always keen to pick up sayings in different languages; he's know fluent in Dutch too! :-)

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be sure and confident of your capabilities, abilities and fitness; it requires confidence in walking along steep ridges, across scree, a bit of scrambling and steep ascents and descents but all the hard work is absolutely worth it when you get to the top.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The hotel is conveniently located for walking straight from and back to the hotel, which saves on spending time on transport. Although the nearest village is about 30 minute walk away, it's a very steep descent and ascent coming back so not a 'stroll', which is sometimes too much after a day's walking. However, the hotel provided us with everything we needed. The rooms are basic, quite small and sometimes the shower water was tepid. If we had needed to hang out wet clothing and walking gear, the room would have been uncomfortably small and pretty impossible in my view. No tea/coffee making facilities in the room but the designated area in the communal area downstairs is free and available 24/7 whilst holidaying there to make drinks.
  • Reviewed January 2019
    Jeff Messerschmidt

    Mexico

    Good route and good staff

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    cenote swimming

    What did you think of your group leader?

    very good

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    bring a bag for the bike or light backpack

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    no
Call us on 316 810 698