Highlights of the Dolomites

8 days
from
1 115 €
Loading...
Traveller ratings
4.7 / 5 from 42 reviews >
Multi-Level
Learn more
Trip code: 
TEI
Way to Travel:
Guided Group
Activity:
Centre-based Trips
Min age:
16
Group size:
6–20

Spectacular walking in the heart of the Western Dolomites

Val di Fassa lies between Marmolada (3,343m), the Dolomites' highest peak, and Catinaccio (2,981m), the famous long ridge that glows red in the rising sun. Based in the lovely village of Campitello, we are ideally situated to access neighbouring valleys and discover their attractive villages. We walk through lush green valleys carpeted with a profusion of alpine flowers, and are constantly rewarded with panoramic views of jagged limestone spires towering above. With excellent chairlift, cablecar and bus links, we are able to access a huge variety of walks, thus allowing us to offer two grades of walking on each departure.

Highlights

  • Exceptional trails
  • Views of the Marmolada
  • Moderate and challenging walks

Key information

  • 7 nights 3-star Hotel Enrosadira, all rooms en suite
  • 5 days centre-based walking; 1 free day
  • Level 3 and 5 walks offered each day
  • Altitude maximum 3024m, average 2300m
  • Group normally 5 to 20 plus 1 UK leader per grade

What's included

  • All breakfasts, 7 dinners
  • All accommodation (see accommodation section)
  • All transport and listed activities
  • Tour leader throughout
  • Flights from London (if booking incl. flights)
  • Arrival & departure transfers

What's not included

  • Travel insurance
  • Single accommodation (available on request)
  • Visas or vaccinations

Responsible Travel

At Exodus we believe in the power of Responsible Travel.

Every time we travel, we are part of a global movement that creates jobs, builds more sustainable societies, encourages cultural understanding and safeguards common natural and cultural heritage. To learn more about what Responsible Travel means to Exodus click here… 

Itinerary

Campitello
to
Campitello
  • Day 1

    Start Campitello

    Start Campitello. In the evening the leaders will hold a welcome meeting to discuss the week ahead and give advice on the local area.

    Meals included: Dinner
  • Days 2-4

    3 daywalks

    Our daywalks mix high-altitude routes that guarantee stunning Dolomite scenery with some lower level trails down to the Val di Fassa. The early season should ensure that we see a wide variety of alpine flowers.

    Meals included: Breakfast Dinner
  • Day 5

    Free day; explore the area or try some optional activities.

    Optional activities for the free day include self-guided cycling from Campitello or a day trip to see the remains of Oetzi, famous 'ice-man', in Bolzano. 

    Meals included: Breakfast Dinner
  • Days 6-7

    2 further guided walks

    Over the course of the week, Level 3 walks aim to include the Passo Costalunga, Vigo di Fassa and Canazei, where we take advantage of the lifts to provide access to higher ground. Another possibility is the Vajolet Hut beneath the famous Vajolet Towers.
    Level 5 venture into the Catinaccio range, walking over high passes along high-level footpaths. From Vigo di Fassa, just north of Moena, a cable car takes us up to the eastern side of the Catinaccio and we enjoy a long gentle descent back to the main valley. A chairlift from Passo Costalunga (1758m) to the west rises to the southern end of the Catinaccio, and allows an exciting circuit of the southern half of the ridge.

    Meals included: Breakfast Dinner
  • Day 8

    End Campitello

    The trip ends in Campitello.

    Meals included: Breakfast

Essential Info

Visas

Italy

No visa required for British passport holders.
Please note in Italy it is compulsory to carry ID with you at all times.

Vaccinations

Italy

There are no specific health risks.

Eating and Drinking

All breakfasts and 7 dinners are included, provided by the hotel.

On some departures, the group flight arrives late in the evening of day 1, in which case a meal will be provided on the free day. The hotel restaurant provides generous breakfasts and traditional evening meals. On certain days you will need to buy food in local shops for packed lunches, or certain walks may offer the opportunity to buy lunch at a mountain hut en route.

Weather

In the Dolomites - as always in the mountains - the weather can be very changeable. On average in summer months you can expect some rain on one day in two, but it is likely to come in heavy and thundery outbursts of relatively short duration rather than prolonged showers. Down in the valleys daytime temperatures range on average from 12º to 22º Celsius although 25º is not unusual. Up in the mountains it will be a few degrees colder. You need therefore to be ready for anything, and to pack shorts as well as warmer clothes, full waterproofs and sun cream.

Is this trip for you?

Activity: Walking level 3 Moderate and 5 Challenging.
With such a large variety of walks in the area, we are able to offer 2 different grades of walking on each departures. The leaders will choose each day's route based on weather conditions and group ability to ensure everyone's safety and enjoyement.


Level 3 - Moderate
Most people who enjoy a weekend in the hills or mountains at home are capable of undertaking a trek at this level: you need to be in good health and reasonably fit, and you will almost certainly be taking regular exercise. A trek could be level 3 either as a fairly easy medium-duration walk, or as a harder, shorter walk. Some walking at higher altitude and the occasional longer or more difficult day may be involved, but generally conditions underfoot will be fair. A walking day usually is between 5 to 7 hours long and no experience is necessary.
Altitude maximum 3024m, average 2300m

Level 5 - Challenging
For walks at this level, fitness is most important and you may have to improve yours before departure. Most level 5 treks are equivalent to extended walking in mountainous terrain at home, but usually at significantly higher altitudes; climate and remoteness can also play a part. Walking days are usually between 6 to 8 hours although there may be some longer days for pass crossing or similar. Previous trekking experience is desirable but not essential if you are confident of your physical condition. Usually, some scrambling is involved.
Altitude maximum 3,152m, average 2,350m.

The times mentioned include lunch break and photo stops.

Accommodation

Sporthotel Enrosadira

You will spend 7 nights in the comfortable family run 3 star Hotel Enrosadira. Ideally located in the village of Campitello, this family-run hotel offers a warm welcome and simple, comfortable rooms, all of which are en suite. There is a sauna, a bar and a lounge with comfortable armchairs to relax in the evenings. Wi-Fi is available in the communal areas. Single rooms are available for a supplement. 

Expert Blog Entries

  • Reviewed August 2017
    Peter Kay

    The adrenaline certainly flowed!

    An excellent trip with a choice of two good walks lead by excellent leaders each day. Marred only by delayed baggage on my flight out from Manchester which Exodus had routed via Frankfurt with totally inadequate transit time. Level 5 walks were challenging for a 70 yr old with arthritic knees, but enjoyable nonetheless! Excellent accommodation at Hotel Enrosadira managed by Stefano who went out of his way to be helpful.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Ascent of Piz Boe (>10,000 ft) was my personal best moment, and perversely surviving the thunderstorm on Day2 when high up in the mountains and with inadequate waterproof clothes (due to delayed baggage) created a great camaraderie within the group.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Albert was excellent as was Emily. Both showed excellent mountain leadership skills and were excellent companions at dinner and in the bar.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Make sure that transit time on indirect flights is adequate and has sufficient slack to allow for flight delays. Pack a few essentials in your hand baggage (toiletries/underwear/spare shirt etc) in case of delayed baggage.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Big thanks to all, especially Albert, Emily, Stefano (Hotel Mgr) and the rest of the group for making it a great holiday.
  • Reviewed July 2017
    Graham Keetch

    Spectacular !

    A stunning location. A good hotel close to the centre with great food and service: the leaders Albert and Ingrid were excellent and had well researched all of the walks. A great week was had by all. Thank you

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Stunning location with spectacular mountain walks.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Both were excellent and very professional

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    A beautiful part of the world
  • Reviewed July 2017
    James Butcher

    Incredible views, great food and superb leaders

    An excellent trip that takes in all of the sites and hikes you would want to do in the Val de Fassa. The trip has two types of walking each day - level 3 and 5, the 5s are a good pace and you need to have a fair level of fitness to participate, they also become more technical which makes them very interesting compared to other holidays. You visit the Sasso Lungo group, summit Piz Boe, undertake a ridge walk, hike around the Roda de Vael and the views and scenery is just beautiful from start to finish. The trip has new base at the Hotel Enrosadira in Campitello - the food is absolutely fantastic, as I gather previous travellers had not found the food so good at the last hotel. The hotel staff are very friendly and welcoming. The location is perfect and Campitello has everything you could need.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    On the free day I undertook an optional, additional via ferrata trip over the Roda de Vael which was an excellent addition to the trip and incredible fun.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Albert and Ingrid were very competent, very friendly and very knowledgeable. On our departure, Albert led the level 5 group walks - which is what we did everyday. His hikes got progressively better, took in all the sites you would want to see and gradually built your confidence, going over increasingly more technical ground. He made the whole experience excellent.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    You must buy public transport ticket, which is 68 Euros, so be prepared for this.
  • Reviewed July 2017
    Cath Mclaren

    Fabulous holiday

    We have just spent a lovely week in the Dolomites, the scenery was amazing, the hotel very comfortable with plenty of delicious food, the guides were great and we walked with a fantastic group of folk.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Not really a moment, just the overall fantastic views.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    We had 2 group leaders, Ingrid and Albert. Both well organised, friendly and knowledgeable

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take waterproofs, we didn't need them but if you do, then you properly do!
  • Reviewed September 2016
    Thomas Ross

    Highlights of the Dolomites

    a superb walking area (exceeded my expectations) Good value for money with the standard of the hotel. The trip was well organised with top quality guides

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    the walk on the final day which had a variety of different terrains to negotiate

    What did you think of your group leader?

    excellent guide, friendly, sociable with a strong knowledge of the area

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Just to make sure you bring enough clothes to allow for a range of weathers
  • Reviewed August 2016
    Moira Kent

    Highlights of the Dolomites

    Stunning walks set in awesome scenery. The hotel was more than adequate, as was the food.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Seeing the cliffs as we got closer. The panoramic views.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Two leaders (Albert and Emily) which gave a choice of walks. Both leaders were friendly and efficient.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    The walks are tough - be warned! Wear walking boots, not shoes. My shoes fell to bits and I had to buy some boots. The weather can make or break this holiday and it as poor for two of the five walking days. Think carefully about the free day. Bolzano is lovely but it is 90 minutes away. Relying on public transport was a pain. Buses were always late and you frequently had to stand up.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    This holiday has huge advantages given that there are two leaders.
  • Reviewed October 2015
    Gregor Paterson

    Highlights of the Dolomites

    We have been on several Exodus trips and always choose the challenging grade but sometimes we have been disappointed, as the walks have not been as demanding as we thought they might be. However, this was not the case on this trip - the level 5 walks were very challenging. This is the first multi-level trip we have been on and it worked well. We had an informative briefing from both leaders in the evening and people could decide which walk they wanted to do the next day - this was very helpful.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The scenery on all the walks was stunning. The village of Moena was very Alpine in style and lovely.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    We did the level 5 walks all week with Albert. He was very knowledgeable and knew the area very well. We had to change routes several times due to weather conditions but he still provided great walks. Eric led the level 3 walks and was also very knowledgeable and helpful.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    This is a great trip if you are unsure of your ability as you can choose level 3 or level 5 each day. Level 5 walks were mainly 16 - 20 km long and 800 - 1000 metres ascent. Lunches are normally bought and eaten in the Rifugios. One day we took our own lunch (bought from local bakery) and ate outside to sit and admire the scenery and this was a not a problem.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    This is a superb holiday in a beautiful area and we would highly recommend it.
  • Reviewed October 2015
    Rebecca Stamford

    Amazing Dolomite Trekking

    Great week of level 5 trekking with amazing views. The option of swapping to level 3 if desired was available to us at each evening's debrief which was perfect. Each trek available each day was described and we could chose each evening which group we went out with. Hotel and food was simply wonderful, fabulous hosts! Would go back again in a heartbeat.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    All of it, the views, the walking and the Refugio's we stopped at for lunches made for a perfect walking holiday.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Both Eric and Albert were great. Both friendly and helpful.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be prepared for hard (but very rewarding) walking at level 5 with simply amazing scenery. I did the last day at level 3 which was very easy and i'm very glad I had stuck with the level 5 walks all week. The hotel has a sauna to relieve any aches - do make use of it - and after a good nights sleep you were ready for another good days walking. Do take rain coats just in case - weather as in all mountains can be unpredictable.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Eric organised an evening of local cheese and wine tasting which was informative, tasty and fun. The whole group (even cheese haters) went along and we all had a great time. The hotel was lovely, the owners very welcoming. The food was fabulous and plentiful. Travelling by local bus was a great and green way to see more of the dolomites too.
  • Reviewed September 2015
    Mary Wood

    Highlights of the Dolomites

    A great week of walking in the Dolomites. This is a place of stunning jagged mountain peaks and beautiful villages below.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Stopping at some of the highest points on our walks and taking in the scenery.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    We had two leaders, Albert Callewaert and Eric Woolley. Both were highly competent leaders. They worked well together and organised some great walks for us. Due to inclement weather conditions during our week (19th Sept), several times they had to change planned parts of walks due to rain causing landslides or high winds. This was not a problem and good, safe walks were enjoyed. They were very helpful in making suggestions and giving information for activities on our free day and also organised a local wine and cheese tasting for the evening and a meal in a local restaurant.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    We stopped for coffee and lunch at mountain rifugios on most days, so there was no need for the larger of the two water containers I had taken. It was also good to use the facilities. Tap water in Italy is good, which saved money (I find the tap water in England does not taste good). The hotel was well equipped, so I did not need to use the hair dryer I had taken (double room).

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    You really do need to be prepared for any sort of weather, if going in September. We had sun, rain and high winds. And you do need to take sunglasses, not just for the sun, but also for the reflection of the sun on the white limestone.
  • Reviewed September 2015
    Vanessa Mansergh

    Highlights of the Dolomites

    Everyone has their own way of relaxing on holiday. Mine is a physical challenge and the hikes in the Dolomites fulfilled that purpose. The choice of levels were ideal so you could switch between them depending on your energy levels. The group dynamics always seem to work well on these hiking holidays as walkers and nature lovers are great people to be with. Our base in Moena was charming. Be prepared for mountain food which is heavy on the carbs, MEAT & cheese. The refugios in the mountains for lunch stops are brilliant. The best pizza and hot chocolates! Expect every type of weather...it's the mountains after all. Every adventure starts with a tentative first step into the unknown, take yours into the stunning scenery of the Dolomites.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The day the chair lift and cable car were not running on our descent on a challenging walk which meant another hour or so on a tough day. No one complained. We all saw the positive side Of walking through the trees, and our leader getting to walk a new walk for a change!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Albert Callewaert & Eric Wooley were brilliant. They each had their own skills...Eric was the natural orator as Albert said and Alberts ability to encourage all of us to keep up with him on the tough walks without words, just through example and giant size steps making us run a little at times!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    If you're afraid of heights, but want to conquer your fear do as a member in our group did and join the level 3 walks. It is confidence boosting. Bring poles as they help with the ascents and descents.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Nope

Dates & Prices

An overview of flight options

Exodus is committed to making joining our tours as easy as possible, wherever you live. We generally only block book seats from London, but this certainly does not mean that you need to fly from there. Depending on the route and airlines available, there will usually be various options available for those who want to fly from their local airport.

This page aims to provide a useful overview of the options available to our clients. However, the best flight arrangements should be tailored to your personal requirements, so please contact our Sales team for expert advice.

 

What kind of options do I have ?

1. We can book for you: Flights from anywhere in the world - not via London  

Depending on the route, this may be direct or via an overseas hub like Amsterdam, the Middle East or elsewhere. On short haul routes there may be direct flights with low cost airlines, charter flights or scheduled airlines. Exodus can book most, but not all, of these for you. The most appropriate airline may be different to that which we use for the group flight from London, but many people now travel on different airlines and meet up with their fellow passengers at the destination.

Pros Cons
  • May be the most direct route
  • Often the extra fare compared to the London flight is minimal.
  • As you will be in the hands a single airline for your entire journey, the airline will be responsible for your bags and your connections.
  • You may not be able to join the group transfers. However, we can usually arrange private transfers, or book your flights to try and coincide with the group transfers. See notes on transfer arrangements below.

 

2. We can book for you: Connecting flights from your local airport to London

Exodus can book connecting flights to London so you can join the group flight there. Connecting times will be followed according to airline advice, or as requested by clients. There are two types of fares we can use for this option: a 'through-fare' or a 'published fare'.
 
a) A 'through-fare' is where you will be in the main airline's care throughout. You change planes, but your bags are checked all the way through to your final destination. 

b) A 'published fare' ticket is completely seperate from your onward ticket from London. It is usually cheaper than a through-fare but will need to be paid for and issued as soon as it is booked. This can be a problem if your tour has not yet reached minimum numbers. On 'published fares' neither airline is aware that you have connecting flights, so Exodus is responsible for timing your connection, not the airlines involved. The tickets are also usually non changeable and non refundable.

Pros Cons
  • Depending on the fare type, Exodus or the airline is responsible for flight connections.
  • Through fare tickets can be expensive.
  • On a published fare, tickets must be issued immediately; tickets on published fares can be very difficult to change if onward flight times change; bags are not checked though to your final destination.
  • Published fares are non-refundable.

 

3. Booking some or all of the flights yourself

You can also book connecting air travel yourself, either to London, or all the way to the start point. There may be certain airlines or routes we don't have access to, so this is always an option. However, if you make your own travel arrangements you become liable for any delays, cancellations or missed connections, and Exodus is not required to offer refunds if you have trouble reaching the start of your trip.

Pros Cons
  • You might find cheaper fares, or routes not available to Exodus.
  • You are responsible for any delays or missed connections, and the cost of the tour is not protected should you miss your flight be cancelled.

 

 Notes on transfer arrangements

Sometimes it is possible to travel on a different airline to the group flight from London. Where this is the case, we need to think about ensuring you meet up with the group with minimum extra cost and hassle.

  • On certain trips, it is easy to arrive on a different flight and still meet the group at the hotel with time in hand. We can usually arrange private transfers (at extra cost) or offer advice on taking a taxi to the start hotel.
  • On other trips (especially in Europe), the transfer meets the group flight and then travels some distance to the first night's accommodation. Where this is the case, our Sales team will try to arrange flights that arrive before (and depart after) the group. However, we do have to make it clear in your final documentation that if your flights are delayed, the transfer cannot wait for you. While Exodus or our local operators will do what we can to help you reach the start point of the tour, any additional costs must be paid by the client. 

 

Next steps? 

Call our Sales team on: 0203 733 0698

Email your query: [email protected]

Call us on 316 810 698